Banks 7 Golden Age rum

Banks 7 Golden Age

United Kingdom | Gold

Banks 7 Golden Age rum is created from a combination of 23 rums from around the world, including Panama, Barbados, Trinidad, and others. The rums are aged between 1-7 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

The Banks name is derived from explorer Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with the famous Captain James Cook in the 1700s.

6.9/10
33 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
8
7
13

Rate Banks 7 Golden Age

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

33 Banks 7 Golden Age ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Scott T ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 122 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I have been a fan of the 5 islands (white) rum for a while, this was pretty much what I expected with some aged components blended in. Again the Batavia arrack component lands a degree of funkiness that makes this one unique. Dry and spicey, with a good deal of clove flavor I have found in some other blended rums such as Scarlet ibis.

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I had a higher expectation for this one. Too strong of an afterburn. No particular flavor either straight or mixed.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 516 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Smells and tastes of molasses, oak, spice (pepper), and walnuts. A bit dry, but still has a touch of sweetness.

A very good rum, especially for a gold rum.

MichaelNM ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 33 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

In a bar at Parsons Green and it was good to see a selection on the shelf. Never had this rum before, plenty of vanilla not a lot of fire

Andrew Lantz ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 19 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

It was a great little mixed. Nothing crazy, but not terrible.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 347 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

George would have liked this. This is good rum. This has some bite. Nice strong rum with a heavy finish. Vanilla with almond and molasses notes. A minty note that I canโ€™t quite place. Good body. At the very end it finishes a little harsh. But overall damn good for a 7 year old. As Mr Banks would say โ€œ a real snapperโ€. Really a 7.3-7.5.

Jay ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted 2 years ago

Overall it's good on the rocks. Not too much of a burn as other reviewers stated. Slightly sweet, would be my go to as a mixer if the price wasn't as high

LegallySmelf ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 32 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This was one of the first rums I sipped and realize that rum could be worth sipping. Interesting blend - if it was slightly less expensive it'd be my go-to for gold rum.

aforbesbiz ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Strong alcohol on the nose that slightly overpowers the aroma. I can definitely taste the Jamaican rum in the blend. Flavor is a bit dull overall. Price point was a bit high.

eddieo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 106 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is another interesting blend of rums from those 5 islands and 20+ distilleries that make this a versatile aged rum which is OK for sipping but better in cocktails for its slightly more adventurous depth of profiles and flavor complexity. It does not stand out as an aged rum, aside from the fact that it is an expertly crafted blend which could have been even more adventurous if only a few sources had been pushed a little further, or omitted altogether. This winds up being no different than many other aged Caribbean rums, in the end, and for the price point you could do much better. I'd like to know whether there are any additives after the master blend...