Banks 7 Golden Age rum

Banks 7 Golden Age

United Kingdom | Gold

Banks 7 Golden Age rum is created from a combination of 23 rums from around the world, including Panama, Barbados, Trinidad, and others. The rums are aged between 1-7 years in ex-Bourbon casks.

The Banks name is derived from explorer Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with the famous Captain James Cook in the 1700s.

6.9/10
34 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
8
8
13

Rate Banks 7 Golden Age

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

34 Banks 7 Golden Age ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andrew Lantz ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 19 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

It was a great little mixed. Nothing crazy, but not terrible.

Terence ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ | 56 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Great complexity on the nose as it changes from time to time and reminds me of quite a number of rums.
Butterscotch, Salted caramel, toffee and with lots of sweets spices. Mild sour berries and unripe mango. The let down will be the slight burn on nose with strong ethanol.

Sweets spices on the first sip: vanilla, anise and woody. Dried apricot, unripe peach and light touch of funk towards the end.

Finish of chocolate bar with dried raisins and macadamia nuts. Alcohol tends to be on the strong side which numb the tongue altough it's bottled at 43% abv.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 452 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

It looks like the Jamaican portion of this rum from multiple islands dominates. It tasted so much like Hamilton's Jamaican Pot Still Gold that I already have back at home, so why pick up an entire bottle of this when I am in Texas in a few weeks?

I tasted one glass neat this evening at my favorite Tiki Bar called Latitude 29 by Beachbum Berry. I already knew that this is one of his staple mixers, and it would do a fine job at that. Sipping it neat was not offensive, but it felt like a rerun from Hamilton.

piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

43% ABV. Pleasant, slightly harsh nose. Hint of Jamaican funk. This follows into the palate. There's also a good amount of brine. The addition of Panama, Java, and Guatemala (compared to the 5-Island) makes it richer, rounder, and a little sweeter on the noseโ€”caramel, vanilla. Shortish finish.

This would be a fantastic "gold" mixing rum. It's got a little of everything. Maybe just a tad too sweet.

It may be an 8-, but I'm docking it for price (it's very good, but not a very good value) and misleading label. What the heck does that big 7 mean, anyway? (Presumably it's the number of countries represented, but the average consumer may be forgiven for assuming it was an age statement. Buyer beware.) Here's hoping future iterations will be a little stronger, cheaper, or offer more transparency.

7+

Don ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 161 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

The first smell was unimpressive with little aging and a bourbon note. The taste is better without much burn ,but a short spicey finish left this rum was disappointing.

Scott ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Lol oak, molasses, pepper....all in all a good rum kinda falls into the ick of all trades master of none

Wekke ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 64 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Dry and spicy, not too sweet.
Not my favorite, but i don't mind sipping it.

nomad ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 137 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Pepper, oak, some hogo, dry; overall a good balance.

Sugar test-

Loldelagohelle ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 188 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Ce super rhum qui assemble avec brio 7 cask differents.ce qui ressort c la puissance en gout de la barbade et jamaisue avec un truc en plus.tres bien pour les collectionneurs.et en plus 40 euros c pas cher pour cette qualite.note 8.1.

Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 577 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This was drunk on the rocks and I think it is a mixer rum... So disappointed on the rocks
..

mamajuana ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 148 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

this blend compared to the 5 is not so heavy on the batavia arrack. It's not a bad sipper at all. The 5 is probably better for mixing as it is a tad funkier.