Hampden Estate Great House Destillery 2019 Edition rum

Hampden Estate Great House Destillery 2019 Edition

Jamaica | Gold | 59.0% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

8.6/10
12 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
4
3

Rate Hampden Estate Great House Destillery 2019 Edition

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Hampden Estate Great House Destillery 2019 Edition ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 207 ratings

Ve vůni klasická Jamajka, v chuti dzem, vysokoesterove tóny, citrusy. Je to hebky a komplexni rum. Stojí za to.

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings

I got my hands on the old great house edition. Soon we will see the new one with the green label.

The nose starts pleasant, there is almost no high ester bite in the nose.
I get some apples, pineapple and bananas. Some glue, honey and grasy notes.
Not very complex but tasty and mild in comparison to other high ester Hampdens.

The taste starts a little bit weak with grasy notes, some pineapple and apples. The taste is not very sour but a little bit dry. As the rum gets warm in the mouth the spice is rising. Then I get honey, with apples and oak. Not a very complex body.
The finish is again a little bit spicy with oak, apples and some tannins.
The taste is not very complex overall.

Tasty Hampden, not very complex. I lack some malt in the taste like 16y Kill Devil has.
I would rate it with 88 points.

Nose: apple***, pineapple**, binana*, some glue, honey and grasy note.
Taste initial: grasy notes, apple***, some pineapple*
Middle: spice, honey, apples, oak
Finish: spice, oak, apple, some tannins
Aftertaste: apple, pineapple, malt

Sweetness: 2.5/5
Fruits: 4/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (120€): 3.5/5
Experience level: professional

Posted over 2 years ago by erizon 🇬🇧 | 1 rating

Rich, intensive, long-lasting, this is one of the best rums I ever tried

Posted 2 months ago by Skipper Joe 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings

Tried the 2018 bottle at a rum bar in Chicago and was super impressed by how flavorful and smooth it was. I recently found a bottle of the 2019 at a local store and happily picked it up. This version brings a lot of the distinctive qualities of Jamaican rum to full bear - that characteristic “funk”, ripe bananas, and a firm but not overwhelming sweetness. I found the taste of alcohol to be much more biting than I recall the 2018 being at first opening, but have had it a few times since and found that it mellowed a bit, especially after letting it sit in a glass for a few minutes before consuming.
Overall very pleased to have this in my collection, and my only complaint is that I found it to be very similar to the Worthy Park Single Estate, but at a noticbly higher price point. That said it is an impressive rum and one of the best I have

Posted 11 months ago by Macrom 🇮🇹 | 20 ratings

Hi, I will not describe all particularities(see below), straight to the point
Would you buy it again/NO
Value for money?/ not really
In other words not all VELIERS are excellent bottlings

Posted almost 2 years ago by koomander 🇸🇬 | 17 ratings

Funky. True rum to me. I like the ester on the nose. Lingers very Long .

Posted 2 years ago by laurent 🇫🇷 | 60 ratings

Not a heavy ultra-high ester one, though there is some high ester mark in the blend (20% of DOK I have read ?)
We can find all the characteristics of a regular Hampden (like the official Hampden overproof) with more complexity, more woody side. The blend is very well done and balanced.
That being said this one in particular is maybe not my favourite Hampden but nonetheless it is a very excellent blend.

Posted over 2 years ago by indigo 🇨🇿 | 7 ratings

This rum is number one for me . Its a great Jamaica rum !

Posted over 2 years ago by tondak80 🇨🇿 | 37 ratings

hezky voní, štípe na jazyku, volty, ovoce, dřevo, drhne, sušší, velmi dobrý

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 546 ratings

Aroma wild almost "medicinal".
Taste is fruity with strong alcohol kick, but not burning too much. Aftertaste is short and strange chemical...




Brand Details

Name: Great House Destillery 2019 Edition
Company: Hampden Estate
Type: Gold
Distillation: Pot Still
ABV: 59.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2908
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514