Caroni 2000 Navy Extra Strong 18-Year rum

Caroni 2000 Navy Extra Strong 18-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Overproof

8.3/10
17 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
6
5
2

Rate Caroni 2000 Navy Extra Strong 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

17 Caroni 2000 Navy Extra Strong 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

AndReginald 🇮🇹 | 52 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

I'm giving this a 7 because I truly know my taste and this was very far from mine. Too rough, but not for the abv, too much wood, I left It in the glass for a very long time, and It was still too stingy, almost like a scotch, so really not my type. I was really bummed because I was looking forward to drink this for a very long time and when I had the chance I got burned in multiple ways. I know the history about this distillery and the hype around this rum that we will never have the chance to drink again, but about this one I am not feeling sorry. Not always rare means good.

tesibaer 🇩🇪 | 29 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

On the nose: sweet tropical fruits, brown sugar, molasses, spices, some gum, a hint of wood glue, pineapple & banana, alcohol.

On the palate: spices, gum, hint of tropical fruits, subtle sweetness, oil & tar, some molasses, dirty.

In the finish: spices, gum, oil, subtle tar, becoming drier, hint of molasses, tingling, very long, dirty covering.

In der Nase: süße tropische Früchte, brauner Zucker, Melasse, Gewürze, etwas Gummi, Anklang Holzleim, Ananas & Banane, Alkohol.
Am Gaumen: Gewürze, Gummi, Anklang tropische Früchte, dezente Süße, Öl & Teer, etwas Melasse, dreckig.
Im Abgang: Gewürze, Gummi, Öl, dezent Teer, trockener werdend, Anklang Melasse, prickelnd, sehr lang, dreckig belegend.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

You want what you can’t get! There’s nothing special here old rum that was not that good to start with. Hate me if you want I bought the cool aide purchased at auction. Glad I tried it have it on the shelf, but never do I think “ wow a pop of that would be great” oil, ground car tire and cigarette butt. Sounds more like a 4 but it’s rare and I paid a lot for it. Maybe it’s an acquired taste will revisit someday, not too soon.

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I must correct my rating. After one month in the bottle (I poor 5cl) the rum has changed.
It's not as bitter as before. The watery impression is almost gone.
It's the same like with the 1994 Caroni 23y. It needs some evoparation.

Typical 1998 dirty nose on the wild leather side. First I get leather, then gum and some tar in the nose, it's dirty and salty. Some medicine is there, with wet barrel and earth, in the background are some dry fruits. A typical and good 1998 nose.

The dilution to 51.4% works not that bad as on my first tasting.
I think 55-57% would be better, but I enjoyed this rum also.

The taste starts sweet with honey, leather and tar. The tannins are rising on my palet. Then there are gum and dry fruits at the end of the initial taste.
In the middle taste I get the leather and again the tannins, wood (my mouth gets dry), then dry fruits and some black currant. It feels like I was licking some old wood.
The finish is middle long, a little bit spicy with leather, black currant, wood, tannins and liquorice.
The aftertaste starts with peppermint, black currant, then cold black tea... and after some time smoked bacon. That's a very tasty combination for me.
The mint spreaded everywhere in my mouth, I have all the time mint and black currant on my palet. This lasts very long, I love it.

It's a typical 1998 Caroni, not complex but dirty without fancy stuff. I would rate this rum with 88 points now.

Nose: leather, liquorice, gum, tar, a sweet fruity note, earth/barrel, medicine, wood
Taste: honey, leather, tar, tannins, wood, gum, dry fruits (mouth gets dry)
Middle: wild leather, tannins, wood, dry fruits, some black currant, wood/leather
Finish: some spice, leather, black currant, wood, tannins, liqourice
Aftertaste: peppermint, leather, black currant, gum

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Value (230€): 2.5/5

Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 207 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Super chutný navy rum. Je tam všechno co v navy chceš.

Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 548 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A very cool bottling of rum from the closed Caroni distillery in Trinidad, celebrating the 100th anniversary of its opening back in 1918. The aged rum has been bottled at 90° proof (51,4%) as a team effort by Velier and La Maison du Whisky, and features a retro design harking back to Caroni bottles from the days of yore. Aroma is gentle with sweet tones. First taste is warm and sweet but very fast turning in to burning leather, old wet wood and musty taste. Long aftertaste with oil and petrol (similar to Dior Fahrenheit parfum). Interesting sample which expanded my rum experience, but nothing to order whole bottle...

Rado.V 🇨🇿 | 46 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Wow, I finally get a sample of this rum. It is a real icon in the world of rum, so if you want to learn more about this heroes drinks - it is must drink.

Well, nose is actually very nice, like nothing I tried before. Trinidad is very specific. TDL is close to this smell, but not quite. At the beginning you can smell fruits and molasses, after some time the smell starts to show his technical face and some type of glue appear. It is very fresh and earthy.

Taste is a big disappointment for me. The start is very rough and dense with a hint of fruits, oil and toothpaste.

Aftertaste is very dry and woody. Actually not bad.

Ok, what now? I completed this task from my check list and I can sincerely say, that I am happy I don´t have a whole bottle. Cheers.

filovo 🇨🇿 | 325 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

barva : jantar
vune jemná, technická, lehce vanilková
chut: olej, ředidlo, lepidlo, leštěnka
zaver : dlouho trvající, sladko technický, s plným tělem
hodnoceni 10
koupit ano z 100%
Alcohol 51,4 %

Romsoffan 🇸🇪 | 8 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Då har jag gått och sneglat på denna flaska några dar då den dök upp i början av veckan och jag ställde in den i romhyllan.
Caroni pratar ju många av er som kan det här med rom om! Själv har jag aldrig provat förut.

Hällde upp ett glas och tänkte att en sån här Rom på 90 proof (51,4%) behöver nog luftas en stund…..men det är ju rätt svårt att vänta ibland😜 Började iallafall med att dofta litegrann.
Doftar mycket rundare och sötare än jag förväntat mig av en sådan här rom. När man får ner näsan djupare i glaset känner jag skumbanan och gummidäck! Har tidigare tyckt att detta med gummi känns konstigt och jag har ofta tänkt mer åt aceton hållet men efter lite diskussioner under provningar så är det nog mer av gummidäck jag känner på denna typen av doft. Man lär sig efter hand!

Nu har den fått stå till sig en halvtimme och nu blir det till att smaka.
Detta är en spännande smak! Ganska torr i smaken ingen större sötma. En explosion av olika smaker som kommer efter hand. Kraftig spritighet som ligger kvar länge! Känns som en komplex smakbild som jag kan förstå om man behöver en del erfarenhet för att uppskatta nyanserna av. Gummidäck tonerna kommer tillbaka i eftersmaken också.
Tror inte detta är en nybörjar Rom utan här behöver man nog ha ”tränat” lite innan man ger sig på!
Gillar jag den då! Jodå! En spännande smakbild som jag kan uppskatta vid vissa tillfällen. Nåt jag kommer dricka varje fredag? Nej inte alls. Dock kommer jag sticka emellan ibland med den, speciellt när man sitter några goda vänner och provar lite olika sorter.
Är den värd pengarna?
Tja, vissa sorter är av en sådan karaktär att man behöver ha en i skåpet/hyllan. Dels som referens eller som exempel på en viss stil. Dit hör tveklöst denna!

thebrowndram 🇵🇭 | 42 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Nose: The typical rubber tires note of Caroni but mixed with balsamic vinegar. Refreshing top notes of peppermint that lead to soft green mango, moss, and turmeric. Leather books, too. After some time, freshness comes out in the form of red grapes, tamarind, and food for the gods. That change over time would have to be my favorite aspect of the nose.

Palate: Chocolate-covered raisins come at the arrival before an imposing burst of leather. Oat cookies smeared with treacle. Raisin-heavy muesli, crab roe, and stewed cuts of pig liver. It has a subtle spice note that reminds me of Indonesian food. Earthy and umami-forward character. Medium-bodied.

Finish: Long and spicy, with lingering rubber, basil, and mint.