Centenario Reserva de la Familia 18-Year rum

Centenario Reserva de la Familia 18-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

7.1/10
21 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
10
6

Rate Centenario Reserva de la Familia 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Centenario Reserva de la Familia 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 447 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Near the start of my lengthy rum running journey a week ago, I first stopped off at my favorite liquor store in Pensacola. One never knows what they can find there. To my surprise was this very hard to find rum from Centenario. I am not a fan of their rums because most are heavily sugared, except for their 9 Year, which is on my repeat purchases list. I already knew that this one had a lot less added sugar than it's "older" brothers, so I paid only $40 US for this 6 to 18 year solera rum from Costa Rica. I emphasize Family Reserve in English!

I figured that it would earn my rating of no less than a 7. Instead, it flew up in my overall rankings until finding it's way to the upper third in my 8 ratings. At 80 Proof, this one is as smooth as can be with no burn and having little or no added sugar. I will leave the tasting notes to the other reviewers because I am terrible at that. However, I am damn good at deciding where each new rum belongs in my overall ratings, and then adjusting the rankings later on if necessary. If you can find this one, grab it!!!!

Mr. Rumantic 🇩🇪 | 201 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The Centenario Solera 18 Reserva de la Familia is a molasses blend of 6 - 18 year old rums that are stored in oak barrels on Costa Rica. The rum is bottled with 40% alcohol and the bottle is appealing and somehow cool. Unlike the older Centenarios, it does not appear as sugary. Maybe 10-20g/l.

In the nose, the Solera 18 is surprisingly spicy. Slightly sharp and sweet notes are included. Caramel and vanilla. Not as smooth as the older brothers and hardly any fruit. On the palate it is confirmed that the rum is rather dry and spicy. But it is also still sweet with vanilla notes. But also wood, pepper and smoke. This all seems more angular and more lively than with the older ones. The finish is associated with a slight burning and also clear bitter notes which is a bit of a pity. But in total I like the dry Centenario much more than the sugar bombs.

The Solera 18 surprised me positively and it is nice that Centenario also offers a rather dry not so sweet rum. I prefer to drink this instead of the 20 or 25. Completely recommended and solid.

Der Centenario Solera 18 Reserva de la Familia ist ein Melasse Blend aus 6 - 18 Jahre alten Rums welche in Eichenfässern auf Costa Rica gelagert werden. Der Rum wird mit 40% Alkohol abgefüllt und die Flasche ist ansprechend und irgendwie cool. Im Gegensatz zu den älteren Centenarios ist er nicht so stark nach gezuckert. Vielleicht 10-20g/l.

In der Nase zeigt sich der Solera 18 überraschend würzig. Etwas schärfe und süße Noten sind dabei. Karamel und Vanille. Nicht so leicht wie bei den älteren Brüdern und kaum Frucht. Auch am Gaumen bestätigt sich, dass der Rum eher trocken und würzig ist. Dabei ist er immer noch süß mit Vanille Noten. Aber auch Holz, Pfeffer und Rauch. Das wirkt alles eckiger und lebendiger als bei den Älteren. Der Abgang ist mit einem leichten Brennen und auch deutlichen Bitternoten verbunden, was etwas schade ist. Aber dennoch lässt der Rum sich gut trinken.

Der Solera 18 hat mich positiv überrascht und es ist schön das Centenario auch einen eher trockenen nicht so süßen Rum anbietet. Trinke ich lieber als den 20 oder 25. Durchaus empfehlenswert und solide. Freut mich.

Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 548 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This Centenario is not so sweet like other rums from line. But very nice surprise, well ballanced.

Border Rum Guy 🇺🇸 | 69 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I've had the 30-Year Centenario and its one of the best, the 18 is nice all the caramel, smoke flavors and smooth but you might as well go for the oldies but goodies.

DucksFan16 🇺🇸 | 52 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Enjoyed this much more than Centenario 20 yr. Very close to 25 yr.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Bought a bottle of Ron Centenario 18y at the San Jose airport in Costa Rica when heading home. I have never seen an 18 year old Ron Centenario being offered anywhere, so it has to be a brand offering. $29 a bottle versus $32 for the 20y Centenario at the tax free. Bottle and label design is much nicer than the 20y. Dark and deep color. The initial flavor is very nice and complex, but the taste turns into a woody sweetness very quickly. Mild burn at the end. By the end of the day, this is super close to the Ron Centenario 20y rum, which is not a bad thing.

lulabrooks 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

My first Centenario. Picked up a bottle. Plenty sweet but complex. I get the Caramel and tobacco.

lorenploren 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

I tried the Centenario 18 yr after sipping a couple glasses of the Centenario 12 yr. The contrast was surprising. The 18 yr had the lovely signature flavor of Costa Rican rum, but lacked the depth I expected. I found myself reaching back for more of the Centenario 12.

AC 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Nice drink. Sipped with ice good aftertaste, clean and not to sweet.

PekAti 🇭🇺 | 74 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Ebben még senki nem csalódott, pedig sok embernek ajánlottam már