Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10
627 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
20
69
167
219
120
22

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

627 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Simson ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 79 ratings

This is rum from Venezuela up to 15 years old, which is aged in oak barrels using the solera system. This rum reputedly saved the distillery from collapse.

The rum is delivered in a tall bottle that has a wax-sealed cap. It looks quite impressive, but I prefer more chubby types of bottles, which in my opinion are more suitable for rum. I would rather leave tall bottles for wine. :-)

Color: Medium amber
Aroma: The first breath is less sweet and stronger oak woody. Overall, the scent is slightly vanilla and there is a feeling of synthetic varnish. Over time, the aroma softens and the rum smells quite pleasant.
Taste: The taste is especially caramel and dried tropical fruits, as well as a little vanilla and cinnamon. It is rather drier, a bit similar to bourbon. Overall, it's quite gentle, only at the end I noticed a slightly pungent tail. Other reviews say it's a sweeter rum, but I don't think so.

Overall, I definitely recommend tasting this rum, but I'm not thinking about buying a bottle yet.

My rating: 8 points from 10

Posted 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 514 ratings

This is probably one of the most underrated rums I've tried besides the Ron Centenario 20-Year.

Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, molasses, honey, vanilla, and a light oak. This is exactly the type of rum I love. It's especially good for the low price of only $38.49 (Total Wine & More, 2020 price).

Posted over 6 years ago by Brad Cannon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings

Bit disappointed with this one. Starts off well but to much of a rougher ethanol burn overpowers what flavor initially comes through. If Zacapa xo is a nine, El Dorado 15 and Plantation 20 year are an 8 I can't give this more than a 6. The sealed cork was covered in mould as well. First time I've ever seen that

Posted over 6 years ago by Rayden ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น | 43 ratings

It was a long time since I wanted to try it and I finally tasted today. I must say, it is really an excellent rum and above all value for incredibly reasonable price. You will be satisfied immediately, first sip! I'm sure in the future I will take another bottle. I love it! Highly recommended

Posted 7 years ago by toblo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings

este ron desde su apertura, puedes notar su aroma y lo delicado de su proceso lo cusl lo pone entre los mejores rones que he probado

Posted 9 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 118 ratings

Santa Teresa 1796 is my first rum love. It has a perfect balance of spice that lingers. Slight hints of molasses and nutmeg with a little oak.

If it was slightly more sweet, it would be a 9 for me. I'll admit that

Posted over 1 year ago by Pmrp ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings

If you think Diplomatico is now too sweet and flat, give Santa Teresa 1796 a try. I find it quite similar in style to the popular Venezuelan rum, but with much less sugar and some added complexity from the solera aging process. You get the same honey, butterscotch, and chocolate notes, but with more nuts, dried fruits, and a touch of smoky oak. Strikes a great balance between all facets to remain approachable, yet interesting with every sip. My favorite Latin style rum to date.

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 399 ratings

Nice dark leather color with pastry notes with caramel, honey, toffee, butterscotch. Same notes in mouth added with chocolate. Smooth, very short, no aftertaste. A little disappointed but for the price, it's ok.
I just tried with a drop of water and other fragrances are emerging, perhaps on ice.

Posted over 6 years ago by LHS ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 11 ratings

This rum is outstanding as both a sipper or mixed. It's pleasant, accommodating, flexible and delicious. Perhaps more of a generalist in it's applicability, if I had to settle on having only one rum, this would be it.

Posted over 6 years ago by Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings

Pleasant aroma. Sipping some proved to be interesting. Definitely a complex series of flavors and I don't claim to be anywhere near an expert but there is a distinct sweetness and some fruitiness to it. Gives a good burn but it not harsh nor overpowering. This would be excellent as a mixer as long as the ingredients used are not overpowering. This rum needs complimentary flavors that are subtle.

Posted over 6 years ago by mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings

This is one smooth rum without any cloying sweetness or added flavorings. It's a perfect straight-up sipping rum, one of the best in the $50 US category. Excellent.




Brand Details

Name: 1796
Company: Santa Teresa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2912
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514