Posting your rating...
Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10
596 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
18
66
160
209
112
21

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

596 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Luis from United States with 14 ratings

Santa Teresa is amazing. In many ways it would top my list. An issue that I often find in rums is that they are underproofed. This is not the case of Santa Teresa, a not too-sweet taste that goes perfectly with mineral water. You do not get as much of the fruity and nutty flavor of sweeter rums, but in exchange you get a smooth fine single honey flavor that'll make you happy in the rum sense and you'll appreciate it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 491 ratings

This is probably one of the most underrated rums I've tried besides the Ron Centenario 20-Year.

Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, molasses, honey, vanilla, and a light oak. This is exactly the type of rum I love. It's especially good for the low price of only $38.49 (Total Wine & More, 2020 price).

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Brad Cannon from United States with 27 ratings

Bit disappointed with this one. Starts off well but to much of a rougher ethanol burn overpowers what flavor initially comes through. If Zacapa xo is a nine, El Dorado 15 and Plantation 20 year are an 8 I can't give this more than a 6. The sealed cork was covered in mould as well. First time I've ever seen that

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Rayden from Italy with 44 ratings

It was a long time since I wanted to try it and I finally tasted today. I must say, it is really an excellent rum and above all value for incredibly reasonable price. You will be satisfied immediately, first sip! I'm sure in the future I will take another bottle. I love it! Highly recommended

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron desde su apertura, puedes notar su aroma y lo delicado de su proceso lo cusl lo pone entre los mejores rones que he probado

Small profile 1

Posted over 8 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 116 ratings

Santa Teresa 1796 is my first rum love. It has a perfect balance of spice that lingers. Slight hints of molasses and nutmeg with a little oak.

If it was slightly more sweet, it would be a 9 for me. I'll admit that

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 400 ratings

Nice dark leather color with pastry notes with caramel, honey, toffee, butterscotch. Same notes in mouth added with chocolate. Smooth, very short, no aftertaste. A little disappointed but for the price, it's ok.
I just tried with a drop of water and other fragrances are emerging, perhaps on ice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by LHS from Canada with 11 ratings

This rum is outstanding as both a sipper or mixed. It's pleasant, accommodating, flexible and delicious. Perhaps more of a generalist in it's applicability, if I had to settle on having only one rum, this would be it.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

Pleasant aroma. Sipping some proved to be interesting. Definitely a complex series of flavors and I don't claim to be anywhere near an expert but there is a distinct sweetness and some fruitiness to it. Gives a good burn but it not harsh nor overpowering. This would be excellent as a mixer as long as the ingredients used are not overpowering. This rum needs complimentary flavors that are subtle.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is one smooth rum without any cloying sweetness or added flavorings. It's a perfect straight-up sipping rum, one of the best in the $50 US category. Excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pmrp from United States with 10 ratings

If you think Diplomatico is now too sweet and flat, give Santa Teresa 1796 a try. I find it quite similar in style to the popular Venezuelan rum, but with much less sugar and some added complexity from the solera aging process. You get the same honey, butterscotch, and chocolate notes, but with more nuts, dried fruits, and a touch of smoky oak. Strikes a great balance between all facets to remain approachable, yet interesting with every sip. My favorite Latin style rum to date.