Santa Teresa 1796 rum

Santa Teresa 1796

Venezuela | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Santa Teresa 1796 rum is produced in Venezuela and aged using the solera system that blends rums aged between 4 and 35 years. Before bottling, the rum is aged for a further year in large French oak casks to marry the blends.

This rum was first created in 1996 to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the distillery, the Santa Teresa Hacienda.

7.6/10
632 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
21
69
169
222
119
22

Rate Santa Teresa 1796

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

632 Santa Teresa 1796 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Quintin ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 76 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

The dry nutty, woody, caramel honey and molasses taste is quick on the tongue and lingers only slightly. It's the wood and dry nutty taste that remains, but It's slightly spoilt by a noticeable overtone of ethanol. For the money I expected better, but yet a good contender non the less. It will be a very devisive Rum. One you'll have to taste for yourself.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 520 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is probably one of the most underrated rums I've tried besides the Ron Centenario 20-Year.

Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, molasses, honey, vanilla, and a light oak. This is exactly the type of rum I love. It's especially good for the low price of only $38.49 (Total Wine & More, 2020 price).

Brad Cannon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Bit disappointed with this one. Starts off well but to much of a rougher ethanol burn overpowers what flavor initially comes through. If Zacapa xo is a nine, El Dorado 15 and Plantation 20 year are an 8 I can't give this more than a 6. The sealed cork was covered in mould as well. First time I've ever seen that

Rayden ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น | 43 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

It was a long time since I wanted to try it and I finally tasted today. I must say, it is really an excellent rum and above all value for incredibly reasonable price. You will be satisfied immediately, first sip! I'm sure in the future I will take another bottle. I love it! Highly recommended

toblo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

este ron desde su apertura, puedes notar su aroma y lo delicado de su proceso lo cusl lo pone entre los mejores rones que he probado

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 122 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Santa Teresa 1796 is my first rum love. It has a perfect balance of spice that lingers. Slight hints of molasses and nutmeg with a little oak.

If it was slightly more sweet, it would be a 9 for me. I'll admit that

Pmrp ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

If you think Diplomatico is now too sweet and flat, give Santa Teresa 1796 a try. I find it quite similar in style to the popular Venezuelan rum, but with much less sugar and some added complexity from the solera aging process. You get the same honey, butterscotch, and chocolate notes, but with more nuts, dried fruits, and a touch of smoky oak. Strikes a great balance between all facets to remain approachable, yet interesting with every sip. My favorite Latin style rum to date.

Marc Cardinal ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 399 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Nice dark leather color with pastry notes with caramel, honey, toffee, butterscotch. Same notes in mouth added with chocolate. Smooth, very short, no aftertaste. A little disappointed but for the price, it's ok.
I just tried with a drop of water and other fragrances are emerging, perhaps on ice.

LHS ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This rum is outstanding as both a sipper or mixed. It's pleasant, accommodating, flexible and delicious. Perhaps more of a generalist in it's applicability, if I had to settle on having only one rum, this would be it.

Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Pleasant aroma. Sipping some proved to be interesting. Definitely a complex series of flavors and I don't claim to be anywhere near an expert but there is a distinct sweetness and some fruitiness to it. Gives a good burn but it not harsh nor overpowering. This would be excellent as a mixer as long as the ingredients used are not overpowering. This rum needs complimentary flavors that are subtle.

mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is one smooth rum without any cloying sweetness or added flavorings. It's a perfect straight-up sipping rum, one of the best in the $50 US category. Excellent.




Brand Details

Name: 1796
Company: Santa Teresa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading