Boukman Botanical rum

Boukman Botanical

Haiti | Flavored | 45.0% ABV

Boukman Botanical Rhum is derived from two of Haiti’s rhum terroirs, the cane fields of Croix des Bouquets in the south and the northern cane fields around Cap Haïtien. The rhum is distilled from the fresh juice of sugar cane, then infused with botanicals and barks, many of which are native to Haïti and foraged in the wild.

5.7/10
13 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
2
3
1
2
1

Rate Boukman Botanical

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

13 Boukman Botanical ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

When I read botanicals my mind goes right to gin, but I have also enjoyed a Havana Club white with botanicals. First scent wasn’t the juniper I was expecting, more like cloves or mace. Tastes like some cheap rum with beef stew seasoning. I had an open mind I am sorry this is not my thing.I can’t go over a three that was generous.

RHUM FACTORY 🇫🇷 | 32 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Le flacon a de quoi dérouter. Parti pris évident, assumé on en viendrait presque à penser que le breuvage contenu ne puisse être du rhum... Et pourtant! Nous ne pouvons que saluer l'originalité de ce dernier, qui, a première vue nous donne à penser que ce rhum est "différent" et éveille notre curiosité.
Certain(e)s pourront penser que la recette marketing du "flaconnage très travaillé associé au nom d'une figure historique locale" a été reproduite et pourront donc se méfier, dans ce cas ne précipitez pas votre jugement, il existe des exceptions et le rhum Boukman est de celles-ci!

Petit rappel, Boukman, Dutty est une figure, sinon LA figure historique d'Haïti, qui a guidé le soulèvement de l'île l'affranchissant de l'esclavage, permettant aux Haïtiens de prendre en main leur destin en toute indépendance. Rien que ça.

Le breuvage contenu dans ce merveilleux flacon (oui, oui, on est fan - même l'étiquette est très réussie avec ces traces de doigts et l'impression en volume sur un papier de qualité), est en fait un produit typique, également appelé "clairin trempé", c'est l'une des boissons traditionnelles d'Haïti.
Il s'agit d'un rhum agricole artisanal, infusé d'épices et de plantes sauvages indigènes.
Le résultat, très plaisant, est plutôt sec avec des notes équilibrées de cardamome, de vanille de cannelle, d'herbes aromatiques, et une finale qui rappelle la pâte d'amande... A noter qu'il n'y a pas de sucre ajouté, on apprécie l'authenticité!

Nez : puissant, cannelle, herbes aromatiques
Bouche : ample, épicée, vanille, écorce d'orange sans être amère, vivifiante et équilibrée
Finale : douce, évolutive vers la pâte d'amande belle longueur soutenue

Notre avis: un produit qui tient ses promesses de bout en bout, ajoutez à cela le programme caritatif associé et vous tenez une belle réussite, une superbe découverte gustative!

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted 5 days ago

I won’t repeat what’s written by the administrators above.
It’s made in the spirit of the revolutionary Dutty Boukman in mind.
Boukman was transported to Haiti as a slave, but became a leader of the “Maroons” (independent societies of escaped and free black people) and a voodoo priest. In 1791, Boukman ignited the Haitian Revolution, swearing an oath to liberty that was toasted with rum. Boukman was soon killed by French colonist but, the movement he started eventually freed Haiti, and defeated Napoleon’s armies.

Boukman produce their rum (or spirit drink) in the traditional Haitian way, similar to a local spiced moonshine known as “kleren tronpe”. Indeed, the founder Boukman Rum, Josette Buffaret Thomas, said “If kleren tronpe had a more sophisticated and elegant cousin, Boukman Rhum would be it.”

It’s dry and fresh with notes of wood, cardamom, vanilla, almond but also vegetal with notes of sugar cane, orange, cloves and lime.
It’s bottled at 45% ABV which makes it quite intense.
About Dutty Boukman’s memory it’s more than a gimmick, cause they give some of their profits to Haitian charity.

Overall I think it’s a great spiced rum well worth a test.

Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 50 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Lots of different spices to this one, most are different than what I would usually expect for a rum. Strong flavors of cinnamon and all spice, but it is really difficult to taste everything in it.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 123 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Wasn’t really sure what to expect, but this really let me down. The initial aromas aren’t bad and have an agricole sense to them. The taste is where everything went downhill. Tastes just like rubbing alcohol with some extra flavor. The finish burns just like rubbing alcohol. A lot of work needs to be done with this one.

Anthonymahalo 🇫🇷 | 22 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Alors la ca déboite, moi qui ne boit que des rhum épicé la pffff ça réveille.
Floral d’où le nom botanica mais ça reste qd même cool.

Anthony C 🇺🇸 | 186 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Immediate aroma of fruits, specifically cherry and a bouquet of generic fruitiness. Taste is somewhat bland. I can't really pick out anything specific. Bit of a bite.

Dhelliwell (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 44 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

I am a dark rum guy and these flavors are not my preference. It was drinkable but, again, not what I look for in a rum.

Mastamt 🇳🇱 | 30 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Hele kruidige rum met floral tinten. Naar mijn mening te kruidige en scherp en niet mijn smaak.

filovo 🇨🇿 | 325 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

barva : zlatá
vune esterový příjeměně technická
chut: lehké pálení, estery
zaver : sušené ovoce, sladkost, suchost,plné tělo
hodnoceni 8,4
koupit ano z 50%
Alcohol 45 %




Brand Details

Name: Botanical
Company: Boukman
Type: Flavored
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 45.0%

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading