The Rum Cask 1997 Trinidad Caroni 18-Year rum

The Rum Cask 1997 Trinidad Caroni 18-Year

Germany | Aged

9.0/10
2 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2

Rate The Rum Cask 1997 Trinidad Caroni 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

2 The Rum Cask 1997 Trinidad Caroni 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by laurent 🇫🇷 | 60 ratings

Big bold heavy pungent Caroni. Fruity, petrol-y, tarry, black olives, liquorice, no ending finish... It reminds me some bottles from Bristol Classic in the same style. Not for everyone, but I love this particular one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2912 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Mount Gay Silver Rum bottle and label design looks pretty decent, but nothing special. Pure alcohol coming through to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end, so better to mix it up, or skip altogether.

Posted 2 years ago by chuck 🇺🇸 | 25 ratings

I wouldn’t recommend in an rum forward drink. But can be good when you need a lot of drum for punches and batch cocktails.

Posted over 2 years ago by Fio_Letta 🇺🇦 | 16 ratings

Not really bad, but I didn’t like it. Absolutely flat taste and aroma.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jaybird 🇺🇸 | 48 ratings

Fairly soft and neutral aroma. A little sweetness and alcohol. Soft molasses. Hints of spice. Flavor is simple and straight forward. Not complex but clean and softly sweet before drying in the finish. Warm on the palate but not hot. Very non descript for a Bajan but it makes a nice mixer in lighter cocktails with fewer ingredients. Nothing wrong here just very light in all respects. Kind of a cross between the traditional Barbados rum and a more neutral Cuban style. with soft flavors and aromas.
I think the rating on this one is a bit unfair with some expecting it to be a great sipper but I don't think that that is the purpose of this rum. It's made for mixing and at $18 in Ohio for a 750ml it's a pretty good bargain. No sugar added here. Heads and tails above Bacardi Superior and more flavor than say Don Q Cristal. I give it a solid 6 for a good all purpose lightly aged Bajan mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Johann 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings

Sorry to be a downer here, but I could discern no rum taste, only rubbing alcohol smell. I decided not to put it in the coquito and used my buddy's Captain Morgan instead, which worked fine and has actually smells like rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Barllow 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings

If you are looking for a quality rum to compliment mixed drinks this is the one. Leaps above Captain Morgan and Bacardi.

Posted 6 years ago by Russ 🇺🇸 | 85 ratings

It's better than Bacardi silver...but its just a mixer.

Posted over 6 years ago by mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings

This review is for the newer bottling now called simply "silver" not "Eclipse silver" any longer. There is a lack of boldness which I guess should be expected... at least if it were a Puerto Rico White rum. It is not very interesting on the palate either rather neutral very faint spice, alcohol, bland. A surprising disappointment from mount gay! Its been a while since I had their older "Eclipse silver" I will have to do a comparison to see if the rum has changed and not just the name/bottle, I believe I have a bottle in my collection. Clearly this rum is targeting the mixing crowd even though a bit overbearing on the alcohol. Not what I expected, not terrible either.




Brand Details

Name: 1997 Trinidad Caroni 18-Year
Company: The Rum Cask
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 18
Distilled: 1997
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514