Ron Zacapa XO rum

Ron Zacapa XO

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa XO Rum is produced in the highlands of Guatemala where it is distillled from fresh cane juice. The rum is then aged from 6 to 23 years at 7544 feet above sea level at 62 °F (17 °C) using the solera process. The solera aging process incorporates barrels that previously held American whiskeys, sherries, wines and Cognac

The unique Ron Zacapa XO glass decantur features an impression of a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle

8.6/10
750 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
4
3
22
55
192
325
144

Rate Ron Zacapa XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

750 Ron Zacapa XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by daveyjones 🇦🇺 | 22 ratings

I tasted this at a bar and loved it so when I saw a bottle on sale I splashed the cas and have been on a rum thing ever since.
Everything that you expect from a top shelf spirit is here.
Nose, balance, mouthfeel, finish.
We all experience these pleasures in different ways but it is hard to knock this drop. Easy to drink.

Posted over 6 years ago by mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings

This has only a little bit of the good flavors and body which make ED 12 and 15 so enjoyable to so many fans. You'll taste the smoky sweetness which is common to El Dorado rums thanks to their practice of sugaring their products, but the flavors compete with an alcohol aftertaste that isn't very pleasant. This is not terrible rum, but there are so many better ones out there. Glad I tried it, but I won't ever be buying a second bottle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stuart 🇦🇺 | 8 ratings

I have spent a lot of time in North Queensland and this rum took me straight back there! I can understand how some people would see it as harsh or unrefined, but it is these very qualities that have endeared to me. A sip of this rum takes me straight back to when I was a child and my parents would give us " me and my sisters" a piece of sugar cane to chew on while we were traveling the long distances of Queensland. The taste of this rum is so reminiscent of the smells that were eminating from the many sugar mills and refineries that we would drive past that it is a real emotional experience drinking it.
At the end of the day , it may be pure emotion, but I really enjoy this rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings

Sugar: 12 gpl. It's better than Bacardi Gold for mixing but it's not a sipping rum like the older brothers in the El Dorado line. At the Duty Free shop I was tasting it when a chap from Guyana told me it was Peasant Rum. Ouch, that is harsh! Similar taste profile as with the 12 but not as sweet or complex. Tastes of Oak, Vanilla, and Caramel and starts off with some heat but it passes quickly. I have enough mixing rums so I passed on it this time. Good value mixer.

Posted over 7 years ago by Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings

When buying rum from Guyana you expect that sweet dark molasses Demerara taste, which this just does not have.

Nose: Not much except alcohol.
Body: Non existent. A little harsh but nothing you wouldn't expect at this price point.
Taste: Little sweet at the start but very boring. Has almost the least amount of aftertaste of any rum I have reviewed.

If you want a rich Demerara at this price point then I would recommend Lemon Hart (also not affiliated) over this any day for any purpose.

Posted 12 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 362 ratings

ABC liquor store started carrying the Eldorado brand years ago. Occasionally they are sold out of 12 and I tried 5, first considering the young aging and intro pricing this rum holds it own. Not my go to but not bad either. Solid 5+-6.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 514 ratings

I tried this alongside some of the more aged El Dorado's (12, 15, and 21), and (no surprise) this was my least favorite. It's a fair step down from the 12 as it lacks in sweetness and complexity. The smell is weaker, and the taste is harsher.

Posted almost 8 years ago by martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings

Im a big fan of the ED 12, and though the ED 5 does not come close to that level of quality, its very obvious that these rums are related. The Aromas are very much alike in character. The palate is also with the same robust demerara fingerprint. The ED 5 Has a medium melasse sweetness, that rolls off into a spicy and slightly edged oaky, tobaco finish. Only tried it neat so far, but i imagine that its robust and nice character would compliment a cocktail extremly well. Nice value

Posted 6 months ago by Tad Generic 🇨🇦 | 28 ratings

If I was given this blindfolded I might mistake it for some sort of brandy. It's smooth enough, but a bit on the sweeter side - I'm not a sugar eater, so I'm more apt to notice added sugar in things. I'm sure that many would not find it sweet.

I really prefer Jamaican rums. I tried this because it was on sale. Certainly nothing to regret, unlike a few bottles that I've wasted money on, but not something that I will buy again

Posted 1 year ago by Catskillrummy 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

Great price for a nice toffee tasting sipper my first post forgive my neivete. Just getting into this rummy life. Bourbon getting too expensive. And I love history of Caribbean.

Posted over 1 year ago by Romeo 🇳🇱 | 11 ratings

Use the rum for in the mix and cocktails. No complaints about the flavor.




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Ron Zacapa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514