Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2051 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
17
23
59
206
557
766
331
79

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

2051 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Jaybird 🇺🇸 | 48 ratings

First thing I get in the nose is oak then sweet sugar. Vanilla and perhaps hints of caramel. Alcohol as well.
The flavor is sweet but I don't find it cloying. Vanilla and oak come through in the flavor and some other intangibles I can't put my finger on. Warming but not at all hot.
I find this easy to sip. Not a purists rum by any means but it wouldn't be hard to drink for the majority of the populace. I judge it for what it is, a fine wide appeal rum that is easy to sip and enjoy if we don't try to compare it with a fine unadulterated Jamaican or Bayan rum.
I guess what I don't like is that it's not transparent in it's additives. We need to understand the difference between what unadulterated rum and what sugar added rum is.
I find this a bit overpriced for what it is when we can buy many other fine Jamaican and Bayan rums for almost half the cost, but it is flavorful and I enjoyed it. A couple of ounces over a cube of ice makes a fine end to an evening.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kenneth 🇬🇧 | 69 ratings

I love this stuff. It does have a bit of an alcohol taste and kick, but once you get past that there are some wonderful flavours; apples, hints of citrus, very "clean" and zesty . I will buy this again.

Posted almost 5 years ago by KaemonAwa 🇨🇿 | 46 ratings

Had the pleasure of drinking some agricole rhums directly at Martinique, this one is a huge surprise! I don't care girls think it's too harsh, this if what agricole should taste like, even though finish could be more interesting. Won't screw up your mixed drink, even though I wouldn't pick this one purely for mixing, but you people know how thinks work once it's late in the night.

Posted almost 3 years ago by qjetinac 🇬🇧 | 1 rating

4 yrs old - very nice smell and color, totally authentic taste of sugar cane - so typical for agricole rhums. I love it. It is a bit stronger while including only 42% alc.,
but idealky sweet at the same time. I like drinking it after tough days at work, though. Definitelly, it can be recommended!!

Posted over 5 years ago by Terencio 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings

grassy - all good... pretty solid value as well. a go to agricole

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mikedub 🇫🇷 | 26 ratings

Un rhum intéressant pour cette gamme de prix. Pas mauvais.

Posted 1 year ago by Reeb Barbill 🇮🇲 | 51 ratings

I can’t even really taste that it’s agricole because the wood is so overpowering.

Posted 1 year ago by Montana 🇩🇪 | 74 ratings

The first smell is very sweet, glue and fruit, quite nice. The taste is at first not so sweet, rather dry. Later on it gets sweeter in the mouth. The finish is mild and quite long.

Posted over 1 year ago by Noname 🇫🇷 | 98 ratings

Rhum sans exception bien que assez appréciable après un bon temps d aération. Les saveurs se font bien plus ressentir mais il faut donc être patient.

Posted over 1 year ago by hammer640 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings

Wasn't really in my wheel house. Liquor forward and not a bunch of depth. Not horrible either, Save it for the cocktails

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 559 ratings

I love agricole for the delicious grassy notes and fresh feel you get from it . This is kind of combining a young oak barrel aged rum and agricole and simply is not what agricole is about ... I may revist this in a ti punch to see if it's any better




Brand Details

Name: 23 Solera
Company: Ron Zacapa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2908
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514