Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2052 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
17
23
59
206
557
766
332
79

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

2052 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by Mathias 🇳🇴 | 15 ratings

The rum to start with, but also the rum you'll never stop drinking. I see a few claims here that this a not a rum. Don't listen to them, I think that's a ridiculous thing to say! It's important to note that a lot of the reviews here are quite old, and Zacapa have reduced the sugar content from well over 40 grams per liter to about 20. Still quite sugary, but the rum sure has gained a lot of complexity since the change, while still being exceptionally smooth.

Posted 10 months ago by Hipgnosis 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings

Yes, it’s back sweetened. Yes it is very sweet. No the age statement is not misleading (unless you’re uneducated). This rum is however delicious to drink either straight in a glencairn or over a large ice cube. There is a lot of nuance to the flavor beyond the sweetness. Don’t be ashamed if you like it. It is very good. Ignore the gate keepers.

Posted 11 months ago by tot2day 🇬🇷 | 35 ratings

Nice dark colour. Spiced up with carameled fruits, cocoa, honey, nuts and vanilla. Yes it is sweet. Not too sweet to make it taste fake. Sure on the expensive side, but whenever you want to give yourself a treat, go for it.

Posted 12 months ago by Jpb.98 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

Starting off with the nose, it doesn’t come off with a strong alcohol smell, even at 80 proof. At first you should get a scent of sweetness, such as toffee, and a bit of vanilla. Then it mellows out into a slight caramel smell.

Tasting it, and leaving it on the palate for 10 seconds, I tasted rich, honeyed, vanilla, and then going down, a smooth cherry/molasses flavor, and even a bit of tobacco believe it or not. All in all, a great rum for intermediate fans. Luckily rum is one of the cheaper Liqours, but still packs robust flavors such as Ron Zacapa 23

Posted 1 year ago by Bplottel 🇨🇦 | 20 ratings

Don't get me wrong this is a solid rum with decent flavor and is on the sweeter side. however, for the price, I feel you could get better options in a similar flavor category to this. This rum is fairly smooth and has that vanilla molasses taste. However, I recommend getting the Diplomatico Exclusiva instead if you're looking for a sweet vanilla, molasses type rum such as this.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tamaracepero 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

For me this is the best rum in the whole world, Love it

Posted over 1 year ago by Pmrp 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings

I can see why many people love this—it’s sweet, it’s strongly flavored with reliable notes of coffee, nuts, and chocolate, and it’s priced among other mid to high end sippers from Jamaica, Barbados, and Venezuela. But this blend from Guatemala desperately needs ice in my opinion—otherwise, it gives me a harsh burn that travels into my chest. When chilled and softened, its a decent sipper, but I still prefer its competitors from the aforementioned countries.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pirate 🇬🇷 | 30 ratings

Worst stuff i've ever tasted. Will never forget it. Like ethanol/rubbing alcohol, with a ton of sugar/glycerine thrown in. I bet there are many other additives inside there, as well. The "freshly pressed sugar cane juice" doesn't make it "agricole" and the solera ageing is deceptive. Has all the characteristics of a total scam, a real "sugary scam", as others noted. The ugly handmade ornament around it compliments the joke, which is like an April First prank, or a halloween trick but with total absence of a treat, anywhere inside the picture. Won't touch anything from Zacapa brand ever again, even if i receive it for free!

Posted over 1 year ago by Swoop225 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings

This is the one that got me to start a rum collection

Posted almost 2 years ago by Scott 🇺🇸 | 1 rating

10 years ago was asked why I am ruining the rum by adding a mixer. Then I was introduced to Zacapa. Keep trying others, but this is still my favorite.

Posted over 3 years ago by catalyst_245 🇦🇺 | 6 ratings

It's a typical sweet rum. Should probably be considered a rum liqueor. I know some people enjoy very sweet rums - if you're one of them, maybe give it a try. I have to rate this low, though, it's just not for me.




Brand Details

Name: 23 Solera
Company: Ron Zacapa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2915
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514