Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2052 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
17
23
59
206
557
766
332
79

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

2052 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by Mathias 🇳🇴 | 15 ratings

The rum to start with, but also the rum you'll never stop drinking. I see a few claims here that this a not a rum. Don't listen to them, I think that's a ridiculous thing to say! It's important to note that a lot of the reviews here are quite old, and Zacapa have reduced the sugar content from well over 40 grams per liter to about 20. Still quite sugary, but the rum sure has gained a lot of complexity since the change, while still being exceptionally smooth.

Posted over 6 years ago by Dan 🇨🇦 | 20 ratings

Smooth, a bit sweet. Vanilla and caramel. It was my first intro to good rum, and a favorite in my cabinet.

Posted 7 years ago by Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings

Sugar: 22 gpl. This is a great sipping rum with tastes of vanilla, chocolate, tobacco, and molasses. Very smooth rum that lights up your tastes. Nice long after glow. It's not as complex as the Zacapa XO. It is an expensive rum in Ontario, but worth it if you can't get to the USA where it is half the price.
EDIT: I finished my 3 year old bottle of Zacapa 23 and the new one is different for sure. I am thinking that Diageo may be rushing this product to market. I am re-rating this to an 8 from my original 9.

Posted over 7 years ago by HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings

Zacapa Centenario 23 Años je rum vyrobený z panenské šťávy cukrové třtiny, je vyrobený metodou Solera v Guatemale, zraje v nadmořské výšce 2300 m.n.m. v dubových sudech, ve kterých zrál dříve bourbon a velmi sladké sherry Pedro Ximenez. Verze XO navíc zraje 2 roky v sudech z francouzského dubu, ve kterých byl dříve uložen koňak. Stáří 6-23 let.

Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: První dojem je tak kávový, že mi hned připomněl Kahlúu. Tedy naprosto stejný první dojem jako u Malteco 15y, také z Guatemaly, až si říkám, zda tyto dvě značky nejsou provázané nějak víc... Vůně je nádherně hutná, silná a bohatá, plná, výrazná, plná kůže a čokolády, rozinky, med, lehký závan hřebíčku, propolis, vůně včelínu, rámečky z pláství. Ve sklence po odpaření syntetická barva na kůži, hutná, zemitá. (95 b)
Chuť: Nasládlý, ale ne tak moc, jako jsem čekal. Úplné pohlazení na jazyku, poté trochu vystrčí růžky alkohol. Velmi uhlazený, není nic, co bych mohl vytknout. Med, rozinky, ledové víno, káva. Dochuť kávově-kožená, úplná delikatesa. (93 b)
Shrnutí: Tohle je dříve nebo později povinnost pro každého, kdo to s rumy myslí vážně. Pro úplné rumové začátečníky bych ho snad ani nedoporučoval, aby dokázal degustátor docenit jeho přednosti.
Body: 94

Posted over 8 years ago by Raulgmt 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings

Very dark, with a full flavor. Is sweet but it taste great and please never ruin it by mixing it with cola. This is a premium straight up rum.

Posted 9 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 118 ratings

There's no doubt, Zacapa 23 is great for the premium rum industry. I'd guess its the most prevalent aged rum out there, and brought many newcomers to rum.

I like Zacapa 23 but not as much as Diplomatico, El Dorado, an others. It has a great rush of initial spice that dissipates quickly and leaves the mouth with a slightly oily sweet molasses finish.

For a ‘10+ year’ aged rum, I wanted more subtle notes. I get a blast of butterscotch and caramel with a little nutmeg and maybe even an olive note - but generally a little bland without much depth

Posted 1 month ago by Holst_n 🇩🇰 | 11 ratings

Nice deep taste and bang for your buck. Very good.

Posted 6 months ago by theseas 🇬🇷 | 3 ratings

Decent and simple rum.It is the entrace i think to zacapa family.

Posted 7 months ago by mdkempfert 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings

Ordered this rum neat at a casino in Las Vegas. In the interest of full disclosure, I knew going in this rum has added sugar (among other additives).

I will admit my understanding of the additives present could be biasing my review somewhat, but…

This rum just doesn’t taste good to me. There’s some off flavors in there. It has a little sweetness, but isn’t nearly as smooth as I would’ve expected for a rum this old, and one with some extra sugar to help.

In short I was expecting a delicious rum where understanding of added sugar caused me to dock a point, but instead got a run that I didn’t really enjoy, period.

Posted 7 months ago by Bas 🇳🇱 | 12 ratings

Don't want to comment about this one too much. Just try it. Im not really into the whole Zacapa family of rums but this one is the bad boy of the family. Great flavours on the nose. No bad after taste. Just a great rum.

Posted 8 months ago by Midgarn 🇺🇸 | 25 ratings

I may not be giving myself a lot of room for the more-expensive, longer-aged rums to show they are better. Aromatic, subtly sweet, smooth, little to no burn even a week or more after first opening.




Brand Details

Name: 23 Solera
Company: Ron Zacapa
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514