Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2082 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
19
24
62
208
565
775
336
80

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

2082 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mathias πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 15 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

The rum to start with, but also the rum you'll never stop drinking. I see a few claims here that this a not a rum. Don't listen to them, I think that's a ridiculous thing to say! It's important to note that a lot of the reviews here are quite old, and Zacapa have reduced the sugar content from well over 40 grams per liter to about 20. Still quite sugary, but the rum sure has gained a lot of complexity since the change, while still being exceptionally smooth.

Mr. Rum Guy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 23 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I've tried Zacapa 23 on many occasions. It's loaded with extra sugar or something and it's not at all a 23yr aged rum. I'm not easy to please and this falls short. Way short. I do give a great deal of credit to Zacapa for opening the eyes of buyers vs products like Bacardi and Capt Morgan. Notice that most people put coke in those. I just want to sip neat.

IvoK πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 53 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nose: Medium sweet, nice aroma, too alcoholic
Taste: Sweet, sugar
Tail: Balanced, with alcohol spike at the end
Added sugar 20g per liter
Easy to drink

Youri πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 62 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Had this after a whisky. It had a lot of taste. Sweet and easy to drink straight up. I liked it

Rick πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 30 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Local shop proclaimed this was his best rum. Tried it along with Kirk & Sweeney and Plantation 5 year. Zacapa turned out to be my least fave. Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad rum by any stretch, just not my favorite. Very smooth, but the combination of flavors left me a little flat. Have since tried the Zacapa XO and have to say that one is fantastic!

Steven James πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 33 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Sweetened spirit with spurious marketing claims and very questionable age statement.

Tony πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 20 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Was really looking forward to this as it has all the attributes to be a great rum. Then you open the bottle and it smells lovely and fruity. then take a sip and its very very sweet. Not sure on the sugar content but im guessing very high. I know its a solera so its not a full aged rum but for the price in the uk you can get aged rums for that price. To be honest i found el dorado 8 beat it hands down and the 12 is in a different league. Nice for just one or two but to much sugar for any more. Couldnt bare to think of the hangover after a night on this haha.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 247 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Sampled this rum but the sweetness Seems to hide any resemblance of a true Rum. Obviously enjoyed by many but this is not for me.

William Burgdorff πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

I'm no rum expert but for me it was too sweet in a weird way, With no real taste and the smell was horrific

borous πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

Stefan PN πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 12 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nose; Smooth and sweet aromas of dried apricots, vanilla, coconut, oak, chocolate, citrus fruits and sherry. A rich and warm palette.
Palette; A pleasant oiliness carrying flavors of subtle spicy oak, a nutty element, brown sugar and molasses. The nose continues in the flavors.
Finish; A medium finish where dried fruits, oak, brown sugar and molasses are the most prominent flavors. A small hint of tobacco are also evident.
Overall; Smooth and well made but a bit boring compared to rums like Ron Esclavo XO and Rum Company - Old Barbados. A nice rum though.