Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1970 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
15
22
56
197
532
736
321
79

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1970 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

The rum to start with, but also the rum you'll never stop drinking. I see a few claims here that this a not a rum. Don't listen to them, I think that's a ridiculous thing to say! It's important to note that a lot of the reviews here are quite old, and Zacapa have reduced the sugar content from well over 40 grams per liter to about 20. Still quite sugary, but the rum sure has gained a lot of complexity since the change, while still being exceptionally smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

I've tried Zacapa 23 on many occasions. It's loaded with extra sugar or something and it's not at all a 23yr aged rum. I'm not easy to please and this falls short. Way short. I do give a great deal of credit to Zacapa for opening the eyes of buyers vs products like Bacardi and Capt Morgan. Notice that most people put coke in those. I just want to sip neat.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Nose: Medium sweet, nice aroma, too alcoholic
Taste: Sweet, sugar
Tail: Balanced, with alcohol spike at the end
Added sugar 20g per liter
Easy to drink

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Had this after a whisky. It had a lot of taste. Sweet and easy to drink straight up. I liked it

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

Local shop proclaimed this was his best rum. Tried it along with Kirk & Sweeney and Plantation 5 year. Zacapa turned out to be my least fave. Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad rum by any stretch, just not my favorite. Very smooth, but the combination of flavors left me a little flat. Have since tried the Zacapa XO and have to say that one is fantastic!

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Sweetened spirit with spurious marketing claims and very questionable age statement.

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 195 ratings

Sampled this rum but the sweetness Seems to hide any resemblance of a true Rum. Obviously enjoyed by many but this is not for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by William Burgdorff from Denmark with 1 rating

I'm no rum expert but for me it was too sweet in a weird way, With no real taste and the smell was horrific

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by borous from Czech Republic with 1 rating

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Stefan PN from Sweden with 12 ratings

Nose; Smooth and sweet aromas of dried apricots, vanilla, coconut, oak, chocolate, citrus fruits and sherry. A rich and warm palette.
Palette; A pleasant oiliness carrying flavors of subtle spicy oak, a nutty element, brown sugar and molasses. The nose continues in the flavors.
Finish; A medium finish where dried fruits, oak, brown sugar and molasses are the most prominent flavors. A small hint of tobacco are also evident.
Overall; Smooth and well made but a bit boring compared to rums like Ron Esclavo XO and Rum Company - Old Barbados. A nice rum though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Dan from Canada with 20 ratings

Smooth, a bit sweet. Vanilla and caramel. It was my first intro to good rum, and a favorite in my cabinet.