loading

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2171 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
19
28
68
214
597
805
343
84

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

2171 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Jack 🇨🇦 | 27 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I did not find anything special about this rum. I liked it but not enough to buy another bottle, still have half left and it has been over 2 years. There is better Rum for less money.

Ryan W 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

It's a good rum; probably one of the better ones to start sipping with.

rexet 🇫🇷 | 24 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Avec le Diplomatico ce Ron Zacapa 23 doit faire parti des meilleurs ventes de rhum Solera et les critiques sont souvent élogieuses. J'ai hésité à commander directement le XO mais je me suis dit qu'il serait intéressant de partir avec ce qui semble être la référence chez cette maison.
Je n'en suis qu'à ma seconde dégustation mais pour le moment je suis relativement déçu. Alors ça se boit bien, c'est même assez bon mais compte tenu du prix il y a tellement de choses plus intéressante. Mon El Dorado 15 ans coûte moins cher et offre beaucoup plus ! Je vais caricaturer un peu mais je ne sens que le sucre, le caramel et la vanille... bref la base de tous les rhums quoi. Je n'y trouve pas grande complexité et si en bouche il est plutôt doux je le trouve par contre un poil agressif à la descente.
J'attends les prochains verres pour voir si mon avis évolue mais pour le moment je reste sur ma faim compte tenu de sa réputation.

mabceb 🇨🇦 | 1 rating
Posted over 2 years ago

Far too sweet!! The price is a poor representation of the quality of this "rum". It definitely isn't aged 23 years. Avoid.

Youri 🇳🇱 | 62 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Had this after a whisky. It had a lot of taste. Sweet and easy to drink straight up. I liked it

Rick 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Local shop proclaimed this was his best rum. Tried it along with Kirk & Sweeney and Plantation 5 year. Zacapa turned out to be my least fave. Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad rum by any stretch, just not my favorite. Very smooth, but the combination of flavors left me a little flat. Have since tried the Zacapa XO and have to say that one is fantastic!

Tony 🇬🇧 | 20 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Was really looking forward to this as it has all the attributes to be a great rum. Then you open the bottle and it smells lovely and fruity. then take a sip and its very very sweet. Not sure on the sugar content but im guessing very high. I know its a solera so its not a full aged rum but for the price in the uk you can get aged rums for that price. To be honest i found el dorado 8 beat it hands down and the 12 is in a different league. Nice for just one or two but to much sugar for any more. Couldnt bare to think of the hangover after a night on this haha.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 272 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Sampled this rum but the sweetness Seems to hide any resemblance of a true Rum. Obviously enjoyed by many but this is not for me.

William Burgdorff 🇩🇰 | 1 rating
Posted almost 6 years ago

I'm no rum expert but for me it was too sweet in a weird way, With no real taste and the smell was horrific

borous 🇨🇿 | 1 rating
Posted 7 years ago

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

Stefan PN 🇸🇪 | 12 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Nose; Smooth and sweet aromas of dried apricots, vanilla, coconut, oak, chocolate, citrus fruits and sherry. A rich and warm palette.
Palette; A pleasant oiliness carrying flavors of subtle spicy oak, a nutty element, brown sugar and molasses. The nose continues in the flavors.
Finish; A medium finish where dried fruits, oak, brown sugar and molasses are the most prominent flavors. A small hint of tobacco are also evident.
Overall; Smooth and well made but a bit boring compared to rums like Ron Esclavo XO and Rum Company - Old Barbados. A nice rum though.