Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2081 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
19
24
62
207
565
775
336
80

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

2081 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

cmpopp1 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

This rum has added sugar and it shows, but it opens up nicely with an ice cube or two to become a pleasant sipper. If youโ€™re inexperienced and intimidated by rum, but looking for a โ€œgateway rumโ€ to cut your teeth on, this one may fit the bill. I donโ€™t like the deceptive 23 on the bottle because Solera is actually a blend of multiple rums where 23 is the oldest but the average is 8. Not a deal breaker by a long shot, but stuff to know in the spirit of full disclosure. You could do worse.

Mr. Rum Guy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I've tried Zacapa 23 on many occasions. It's loaded with extra sugar or something and it's not at all a 23yr aged rum. I'm not easy to please and this falls short. Way short. I do give a great deal of credit to Zacapa for opening the eyes of buyers vs products like Bacardi and Capt Morgan. Notice that most people put coke in those. I just want to sip neat.

IvoK ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 53 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nose: Medium sweet, nice aroma, too alcoholic
Taste: Sweet, sugar
Tail: Balanced, with alcohol spike at the end
Added sugar 20g per liter
Easy to drink

Youri ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 62 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Had this after a whisky. It had a lot of taste. Sweet and easy to drink straight up. I liked it

Rick ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 30 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Local shop proclaimed this was his best rum. Tried it along with Kirk & Sweeney and Plantation 5 year. Zacapa turned out to be my least fave. Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad rum by any stretch, just not my favorite. Very smooth, but the combination of flavors left me a little flat. Have since tried the Zacapa XO and have to say that one is fantastic!

Steven James ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 33 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Sweetened spirit with spurious marketing claims and very questionable age statement.

Tony ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 20 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Was really looking forward to this as it has all the attributes to be a great rum. Then you open the bottle and it smells lovely and fruity. then take a sip and its very very sweet. Not sure on the sugar content but im guessing very high. I know its a solera so its not a full aged rum but for the price in the uk you can get aged rums for that price. To be honest i found el dorado 8 beat it hands down and the 12 is in a different league. Nice for just one or two but to much sugar for any more. Couldnt bare to think of the hangover after a night on this haha.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 245 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Sampled this rum but the sweetness Seems to hide any resemblance of a true Rum. Obviously enjoyed by many but this is not for me.

William Burgdorff ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

I'm no rum expert but for me it was too sweet in a weird way, With no real taste and the smell was horrific

borous ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

Stefan PN ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 12 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nose; Smooth and sweet aromas of dried apricots, vanilla, coconut, oak, chocolate, citrus fruits and sherry. A rich and warm palette.
Palette; A pleasant oiliness carrying flavors of subtle spicy oak, a nutty element, brown sugar and molasses. The nose continues in the flavors.
Finish; A medium finish where dried fruits, oak, brown sugar and molasses are the most prominent flavors. A small hint of tobacco are also evident.
Overall; Smooth and well made but a bit boring compared to rums like Ron Esclavo XO and Rum Company - Old Barbados. A nice rum though.