Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled in a copper-lined column still from fresh cane juice before solera aging.

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
2081 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
6
19
24
62
207
565
775
336
80

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

2081 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andrew Lantz 🇨🇦 | 19 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This was a very rich and smooth rum.

Balanced, with a sharp nose of vanilla and spices.

The initial sip was smooth and as it warmed, it began to shine.

Although mixable, I would recommend against distorting this rum.

DonRon 🇩🇪 | 14 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Actually the Zacapa Solera 23 was the first premium rum I ever tried and there we went... ;-)

A few years and rums later I can still recommend this one to everybody with a preference for an easy going sugary rum. It is just a high quality product and very enjoyable especially for beginners. Therefore, a great spirit to introduce your friends to rum and help grow the community of rum enthusiasts a little more.

JJ Geewax 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Love it neat. But that isn't an option to choose below...

zellrom 🇫🇷 | 24 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Un rhum qui trahit la tutelle du cognac dès le premier nez et pas n'importe lequel, car le Zacapa est élevé en fût qui a vu grandir du cognac français. C'est dans cet opulent héritage que grandissent les rhums de la maison Zacapa mais en solera, toujours. Et c'est bien grâce à ce process typiquement espagnol, répandu en amérique centrale, que la bouteille peut arborer fièrement un âge de 23 ans. Mais le résultat n'en reste pas moins délectable avec un nez vanillé passant en bouche par le caramel.
Le rhum Zacapa Solera 23 est une valeur sûre, bien calibrée qui ravira tous les palais. Néanmoins pour un rhum affichant 23 années de maturation au compteur, l'amateur averti sera vite déçu par le manque de complexité de cette liqueur.

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

There's a tremendous density of expression in this rum, and thus it's huge reputation. One can not escape the sense this rum was handled with great care from start to finish. It excels in every area, and stands as proof Solera blending is ideal for rum. I find this rum ideal neat, not gaining when consumed over ice.

Lance Pottruff 🇨🇦 | 5 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

I always buy it coming back to Canada at duty free. Great deal at $40 /L. I don't mix this one for sure. Nice to sip like a good scotch.

Shawn Lein 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Excellent rum. Interesting aging and blending process produces a very rich flavor.

Remy Chevalier 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

It's exactly what you expect a good rum to taste like, it's strange... I took a chance reading all the reviews, bought a bottle, it's as good as they say. Quite a feat for a commercially available rum. It doesn't dethrone my favorites, because nothing beats personality, but it tastes like something Disney would create to fit the perfect description of what rum should be, a little scary, almost Star Trek replicator like.

PaulB 🇬🇧 | 14 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

It's very drinkable, has a slight initial spiciness, which I like, followed by a slightly sweet & oily aftertaste, which I'm not so keen on. Probably one of the better rums more commonly found in bars.

donmichelangelo 🇩🇪 | 25 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This is definitely an "always drinkable" rum, nothing what you can do wrong with it, a nice and sweet sipper.

Magic 🇳🇱 | 15 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

its a realy nice sipping rum