Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1997 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
16
23
58
203
537
747
322
79

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1997 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

The rum to start with, but also the rum you'll never stop drinking. I see a few claims here that this a not a rum. Don't listen to them, I think that's a ridiculous thing to say! It's important to note that a lot of the reviews here are quite old, and Zacapa have reduced the sugar content from well over 40 grams per liter to about 20. Still quite sugary, but the rum sure has gained a lot of complexity since the change, while still being exceptionally smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Rumbum from Australia with 4 ratings

this dark sweet rum is my favourite sipper

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Håvard Nørjordet from Norway with 2 ratings

Some of the casks used in this blend are apparently Pedro Ximenez sherry casks, and it shows. Very sweet, sherried flavours that were way over the top for me. Things settled a bit with a few drops of water, but still a quite disappointing rum given its hype and reputation.

As for tasting notes, I got dried fruits, dark chocolate, a bit of coffee and vanilla on the nose; the taste was very sweet and PX-ish, with burnt sugar, toffee, a touch of figs, and then a weird tannin-like flavour in the development, before the finish. The finish was short and sweet, with chocolate, spices and ripe grapes. Some more things come out with water, vanilla and spices predominantly. In sum a fairly overrated "rum liqueur" in my book.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by ib from Denmark with 4 ratings

Nice rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Simone from Sweden with 3 ratings

Rum di qualità. Frizzante e dolce al gusto. Corposo e ricco.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Andrew Bushe from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Very smooth honey and marzipan flavours which are very drinkable.

A great sipping rum, but as many have noted it is definitely too sweet to drink a lot of this in one go.

Contemplated giving this rum an 8, but the Zacapa XO edges and would therefore need to be given a 9, which i'm not quite prepared to do until I have sampled many more premium rums. So a solid 7 and either this or the XO is a must for any collection

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Thos from United States with 13 ratings

While I am relatively new to enjoying quality rums, I find this one is one of the best I have tasted. This rum may be a bit too expensive because I have had a couple of other rums that were close at nearly half the price. That said, I still think that this is a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Banana from Italy with 10 ratings

I think Zacapa is a kind of RVM for teenyboppers. Actually, It is a Must and I'm afraid that people drink Zacapa, especially for fashion that for delight.

Surely it is a Great RVM with an unmistakable leather and tosted wood smell and, caramel and almond taste. Many people consider it like the "Cognac of the RVM". In effect, for an agricole, Zacapa is silk, maybe it is excessively velvety and there is the risk to touch lightly the "dull".
However it's unavoidable to try it!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Ron Zacapa is a letdown for me since I at expected a rum to at least make me doubt my favorite. Not quite as honeyed vanilla sweet as I like and more burn in the mouth. It's also about 20% higher than Says. Solid 7

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by nimrodrose from Israel with 7 ratings

good but too sweet

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Giuseppe from Italy with 33 ratings

smooth but strong, with a chocholate over 65% is a great moment of personal well-being