Diplomatico 2005 rum

Diplomatico 2005

Venezuela | Aged

8.6/10
67 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
16
31
13

Rate Diplomatico 2005

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

67 Diplomatico 2005 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

jepoycat 🇵🇭 | 31 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

The sherry influence is very much apparent. Caramel, dried fruits, vanilla, figs, and a bit of wood spice complement the brown sugar notes. Docking it a point because it could have been better if it was at a higher proof. The low proof makes it a tad bit unbalanced.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

I thought this rum was slightly different than my first bottle of SVTG, I didn’t realize until today this was a different vintage 2005 not 2004. Still an exquisite rum with similar characteristics. I hope to sample some of the previous vintages someday.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Tasted it together with my last glass from a 2004 and I think it’s slightly better than that one cause it’s not as sweet as the 2004 but on the other hand it’s also feels thinner.
The fragrance is quite complex with clear barrel character, hints of muscovado sugar, raisins, arrack, marzipan, dark chocolate, orange and vanilla.
In mouth and palate it’s also complex with some sweetness and clear barrel character, hints of raisins, muscovado sugar, orange, chocolate, arrack, nuts, cinnamon, Sherry and vanilla fudge.
The finish is medium long and tastes more or less the same.
Pictures: My Diplomatico shelf & My opened bottle on a foggy day out in the Stockholm archipelago.

miRcea SAVA 🇷🇴 | 31 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Smooth as silk. Surprisingly, not very flavoured, it is just it's needed. Not very sweet. Dark chocolate is predominant taste. Smells quite herbal, in my opinion. Aftertaste is long and a little bit spicy.
An excellent drink to sip!

Allano 🇨🇦 | 23 ratings
Posted 4 days ago

Very smooth and sweet, a little expensive. Does not match the quality of the 2000 vintage but still a fine offering.

Stephan 🇨🇦 | 17 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

This is soooo good. Among the best I ever tasted. Very very smooth and easy to drink… too easy ! I need to start looking for another bottle as this one will be going down quickly.

ShakingSince95 🇳🇱 | 28 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Goes down super smooth. Lot of vanilla, Tabaco notes with some spice. Not much evolution after 3 seconds of mouthfeel but what you get is terrific!

Chrisvc 🇧🇪 | 11 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Vanilla at first and ends with tobacco and spices. I’m very happy about the purchase though for its current price there are better options. You won’t be disappointed either though.

Gastovski (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 183 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Aroma: Sladké - bonbóny, ovocná žvýkačka, kakao, skořice, rozinky
Chuť: Lehce káva, kakao, velmi jemná
Dozvuk: Mléčná čokoláda, výrazná trpkost sherry, sušené meruňky
Sladkost: 1/3
Ochutnán vzorek
Velmi jemný rum, pocitově sladší s výraznou sherry stopou. Pohodové pití, ale na zadek mne neposadilo.

TemmyTheRumGuy 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Fantastic rum! The flavor profile is balanced but complex. Initially the nose is sweet vanilla and the taste is of raisins and dried fruit with caramel. The finish is smooth with notes of pipe tobacco, spice and almond . There is a gentle sweetness to the rum which marries the flavors together perfectly. To date this is my favorite rum. Highly recommended!

BinoBRUCHHH 🇸🇪 | 31 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Smoooooooth!
Komplex, svår att plocka ut smaker. Något fruktfunky och tydligt inslag av sherryfat.
Väldigt mild på alkoholen. Riktigt bra