Posting your rating...

8.5/10
55 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
14
24
10

Rate Diplomatico 2005

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

55 Diplomatico 2005 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 1 year ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

Nice balanced and smooth rum. Good flavor profile, but not overwhelming or mind blowing with flavor. Very subtle flavors. Not harsh, and goes nicely with a mild to strong cigar.

Posted 8 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 290 ratings

Tasted it together with my last glass from a 2004 and I think it’s slightly better than that one cause it’s not as sweet as the 2004 but on the other hand it’s also feels thinner.
The fragrance is quite complex with clear barrel character, hints of muscovado sugar, raisins, arrack, marzipan, dark chocolate, orange and vanilla.
In mouth and palate it’s also complex with some sweetness and clear barrel character, hints of raisins, muscovado sugar, orange, chocolate, arrack, nuts, cinnamon, Sherry and vanilla fudge.
The finish is medium long and tastes more or less the same.
Pictures: My Diplomatico shelf & My opened bottle on a foggy day out in the Stockholm archipelago.

Posted 5 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 346 ratings

I thought this rum was slightly different than my first bottle of SVTG, I didn’t realize until today this was a different vintage 2005 not 2004. Still an exquisite rum with similar characteristics. I hope to sample some of the previous vintages someday.

Posted over 1 year ago by miRcea SAVA from Romania with 31 ratings

Smooth as silk. Surprisingly, not very flavoured, it is just it's needed. Not very sweet. Dark chocolate is predominant taste. Smells quite herbal, in my opinion. Aftertaste is long and a little bit spicy.
An excellent drink to sip!

Posted 7 days ago by Chrisvc from Belgium with 11 ratings

Vanilla at first and ends with tobacco and spices. I’m very happy about the purchase though for its current price there are better options. You won’t be disappointed either though.

Posted 3 months ago by Gastovski (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 92 ratings

Aroma: Sladké - bonbóny, ovocná žvýkačka, kakao, skořice, rozinky
Chuť: Lehce káva, kakao, velmi jemná
Dozvuk: Mléčná čokoláda, výrazná trpkost sherry, sušené meruňky
Sladkost: 1/3
Ochutnán vzorek
Velmi jemný rum, pocitově sladší s výraznou sherry stopou. Pohodové pití, ale na zadek mne neposadilo.

Posted 5 months ago by TemmyTheRumGuy from United States with 5 ratings

Fantastic rum! The flavor profile is balanced but complex. Initially the nose is sweet vanilla and the taste is of raisins and dried fruit with caramel. The finish is smooth with notes of pipe tobacco, spice and almond . There is a gentle sweetness to the rum which marries the flavors together perfectly. To date this is my favorite rum. Highly recommended!

Posted 6 months ago by BinoBRUCHHH from Sweden with 31 ratings

Smoooooooth!
Komplex, svår att plocka ut smaker. Något fruktfunky och tydligt inslag av sherryfat.
Väldigt mild på alkoholen. Riktigt bra

Posted 9 months ago by jepoycat from Philippines with 28 ratings

The sherry influence is very much apparent. Caramel, dried fruits, vanilla, figs, and a bit of wood spice complement the brown sugar notes. Docking it a point because it could have been better if it was at a higher proof. The low proof makes it a tad bit unbalanced.

Posted 9 months ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 19 ratings

Really smoth, caramel flavour, beautiful bottle, an expensive bottle but its worth it

Posted 10 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 233 ratings

Quel beau rhum de dégustation. Réussi a mettre la main sur une des rares bouteilles arrivées à la SAQ. Si vous avez la chance d'y goûter, allez-y!