Background Image
Preload image
Bayou Special Release Single Barrel rum

Bayou Special Release Single Barrel

United States | Aged

Bayou Single Barrel rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum that’s aged for two years and four months in used rye whiskey barrels and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
7.8/10
25 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
10
9
4
1

Rate Bayou Special Release Single Barrel

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

25 Bayou Special Release Single Barrel Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cc1781 πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 16 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Dark color. Less sweet than bayou spiced. On my bottle it is written that it is aged in red wine barrels.

Tim πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 82 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I had been skeptical that a rum from the mainland US of A could be a sipper -wrong! This is nice stuff with a faint aroma of pineapple and other tropical notes and a decent dry bite with a dry finish.

Pandur πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή | 90 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Und das ist alles was man(n) wissen muss. Sehr gelungener Mix aus Whiskey und Rum - sehr gut geeignet fΓΌr Kenner die auf beiden Wegen wandeln πŸ˜‰

Charles M πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 149 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I bought this and the Bayou Select - both were similarly priced (or here in UK there was a Β£3 difference). But the difference is huge.

The nose of the two is quite similar. A rather restrained, dry cane fruit. But it is the body where there is a big difference. There is a rich, sweet depth of fruit that the Select doesn't quite have. Gentle 40% alcohol leads to a medium length, dry finish with an appealing gentle oakiness.

I can't help but think that this would be better bottled at 45% like many an American whiskey is.

But the test of a rum.....would I buy it again? With this one, while I wouldn't class it as one of my favourites, I probably would. Variety being the spice of life.

EDIT - I've come back to this 6 weeks after opening the bottle. Upped from a 7 to an 8. It might not be for purists, but I like it. The nose has the traits that you would expect from cane, and this is carried on to the front pallet. But then the oak takes over, and TBH it masks some of the delicacy of the cane. As my preferred style is a nice oaky molasses based rum, I think the strong oak enhances the rum. I have to say that I'm very much enjoying, and looking at the price, I think I will definitely be getting more. Still wish it would be stronger!!

Suvis0 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡±πŸ‡Ή | 72 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

I think it is quite similar to Pampero Anniversario (considering more popular rums) - but just slightly better considering smell, slightly better tastewise (a bit more oaky). Overall, a bargain for the price range of 30-35 eur.

b_rnb πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 18 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

I chose this one thanks to the Rum Ratings community (and discount at my local shop). A truly fine rum for mixing, but I also don't mind doing shots in between :).

While it definitely isn't an 8/10 choice, Bayou single barrel shows its beauty really quick. First - a sugarcane aroma. I don't care if it's of artificial source, it just smells so damn good!

After finishing one bottle, I quickly started to search for another one. A must-have for parties, but I wouldn't pay for it more than 35 dollars/35 euro.

Ducote (TASTING CLUB) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 40 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This is a huge value for the price. Add this to your collection.

MichaelNM πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 53 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Signature shape bottle with a strong colour rum. Love it, a good lively rum. I could sip this all night.

Juanlaginia πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 100 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Great rounded color, a bit harsh flavor with a spicy finish (without tasting like a spiced rum).

Marshank πŸ‡·πŸ‡Ί | 36 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Bayou Single barrel is the top specimen in Bayou range!!! Tasty and sophisticated!!!

Przemek πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 13 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Good sipping rum, but not sweet at all. Well balanced, not much alcohol harshness, also not misleading that it is not an alcohol at all. For its price, highly recommended.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Bayou
Country: United States
Name: Special Release Single Barrel
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No