loading

Bayou Special Release Single Barrel rum

Bayou Special Release Single Barrel

United States | Aged

Bayou Single Barrel rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum thatโ€™s aged for two years and four months in used rye whiskey barrels and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
7.8/10
24 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
10
8
4
1

Rate Bayou Special Release Single Barrel

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

24 Bayou Special Release Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cc1781 ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 15 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Dark color. Less sweet than bayou spiced. On my bottle it is written that it is aged in red wine barrels.

Tim ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 82 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I had been skeptical that a rum from the mainland US of A could be a sipper -wrong! This is nice stuff with a faint aroma of pineapple and other tropical notes and a decent dry bite with a dry finish.

Pandur ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น | 88 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Und das ist alles was man(n) wissen muss. Sehr gelungener Mix aus Whiskey und Rum - sehr gut geeignet fรผr Kenner die auf beiden Wegen wandeln ๐Ÿ˜‰

Charles M ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 148 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I bought this and the Bayou Select - both were similarly priced (or here in UK there was a ยฃ3 difference). But the difference is huge.

The nose of the two is quite similar. A rather restrained, dry cane fruit. But it is the body where there is a big difference. There is a rich, sweet depth of fruit that the Select doesn't quite have. Gentle 40% alcohol leads to a medium length, dry finish with an appealing gentle oakiness.

I can't help but think that this would be better bottled at 45% like many an American whiskey is.

But the test of a rum.....would I buy it again? With this one, while I wouldn't class it as one of my favourites, I probably would. Variety being the spice of life.

EDIT - I've come back to this 6 weeks after opening the bottle. Upped from a 7 to an 8. It might not be for purists, but I like it. The nose has the traits that you would expect from cane, and this is carried on to the front pallet. But then the oak takes over, and TBH it masks some of the delicacy of the cane. As my preferred style is a nice oaky molasses based rum, I think the strong oak enhances the rum. I have to say that I'm very much enjoying, and looking at the price, I think I will definitely be getting more. Still wish it would be stronger!!

b_rnb ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 8 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

I chose this one thanks to the Rum Ratings community (and discount at my local shop). A truly fine rum for mixing, but I also don't mind doing shots in between :).

While it definitely isn't an 8/10 choice, Bayou single barrel shows its beauty really quick. First - a sugarcane aroma. I don't care if it's of artificial source, it just smells so damn good!

After finishing one bottle, I quickly started to search for another one. A must-have for parties, but I wouldn't pay for it more than 35 dollars/35 euro.

Ducote (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

This is a huge value for the price. Add this to your collection.

MichaelNM ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 46 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Signature shape bottle with a strong colour rum. Love it, a good lively rum. I could sip this all night.

Juanlaginia ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 91 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Great rounded color, a bit harsh flavor with a spicy finish (without tasting like a spiced rum).

Marshank ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ | 34 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Bayou Single barrel is the top specimen in Bayou range!!! Tasty and sophisticated!!!

Przemek ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 10 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Good sipping rum, but not sweet at all. Well balanced, not much alcohol harshness, also not misleading that it is not an alcohol at all. For its price, highly recommended.

Stig Wolff ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 173 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Dette var rom nr. 2 til en dejlig aften sammen med Mads Heitmann fra romhatten.dk
En dejlig rom hvor der er tydelige noter af sukkerrรธr og vanilje.




Brand Details

Name: Special Release Single Barrel
Company: Bayou
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading