Background Image
Preload image
Probitas White rum

Probitas White

Jamaica | Light

7.2/10
58 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
17
26
5

Rate Probitas White

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

58 Probitas White Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Althaur 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I didn't enjoy this as a sipper, but it works great as a mixer. Full disclosure, I put a birch stick in it for several weeks before using it as a mixer. I made an El Presidente with it that was excellent. The Jamaican funk came through just enough to really amplify the cocktail. I offered a sip to my wife and never got it back.

Next step is to see how it does as the base for my homemade spiced rum.

abrarey 🇺🇸 | 68 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is supposed to be a stellar mixing rum, but damn is pretty good for sipping. Very creamy feeling and you can taste some funkiness. This is the same as Veritas, but this is the brand name used for the US market.
Nose: ripe banana.
Taste: Ripe tropical fruits, very creamy, and sweet in a good way.
The aftertaste is even better, the fruit flavor dominates your palate for a long time.
I will need to try it on cocktails but damn I already love it like that.

havy09 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Waaaayyyyy better than Plantation 3 stars (closest competitor). Banana, Coconut, Pineapple, Citrus, Vanilla, Depth, Creamy.. Great for Sipping and Mixing in Tiki cocktails.

Zach516 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

First white rum I’ve really enjoyed on its own and not in a cocktail

Captain_Tyson 🇺🇸 | 100 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

A mix of Foursquare and Hampden this is probably the best lightly aged white rum you can snag and only $30. Don’t sleep on it. This is the go-to. Daiquiri, done. Ti’Punch too.

Gran Matteo 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Seriously tasty, great for a mixer and decent to drink it neat. Rich, warm, inviting, with a bit of bite and flair. A bit pricey but definitely a step up from Plantation 3 star, which until Probitas was always hanging out in my cabinet. Better value than 3-star? Probably not, but I would buy this each time for a more interesting and higher quality blended light rum.

ShakingSince95 🇳🇱 | 44 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Probably my favorite light rum for Daiquiri's at the moment! Smooth with some funky fruityn notes

ManhttanProject 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

(my first review, take this with a grain of salt)

Nose: Very sweet, with a light fruit scent reminiscent of other young Jamaicans (albeit MUCH less pronounced and more sweet than savory), banana, with hints of molasses.
Palate: Hints of pineapple, orange, burnt sugar, candy corn. Very smooth, not much alcohol flavor.
Tail: Mostly burnt sugar, with a little pepperiness.

Overall, a very solid light rum, and one of my favorites of its kind in my collection. I'm partial to very aggressive overproofs and Jamaicans though, so I would usually look for something with a bit more character to it when reaching for a sipping rum. However, I'd definitely go for this one if I needed a light, less out-there rum for a cocktail or to give my palate a break.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 502 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

My second Foursquare rum. My second reason to question “why all the hype”? Again, clearly a quality rum. But Plantation 3 star blows this away and costs 30% less! I will continue to try Foursquare rums. I am certain I will find one that will substantiate the hype. I know a bar by me that has The Sagacity. That will be my next Foursquare test. But as of right now Foursquare is all marketing. Brilliant marketing as I see it. They are the Wall Drug of liquor. Long on words and reputation, short on substance.

JarkkoKoo 🇫🇮 | 33 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Once again, love the shape of the bottle. It's very retro as it should be for this "old style Daiquiri rum". From a distance the aroma is fruity and sweet. When you stick your nose in the bottle, the ethanol kicks in, so don't. There is some alcohol burn but no mentionable ethanol flavors. Absolutely one of the best sipping rums, but I've not found this to better than Plantation 3 in cocktails. Flavor: 8 Aroma: 9 Bottle appearance: 10 Liquid appearance: 7,5

Movsob 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Takes the classic Daiquiri to new heights. 2-1-1/2. Heaven.




Brand Details

Type: Light
Company: Probitas
Country: Jamaica
Name: White
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No