Centenario 20-Year rum

Centenario 20-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

Ron Centenario 20-Year rum is produced from Costa Rican sugar cane which is turned into molasses before aging in American white oak barrels up to 20 years using the solera aging system.

The company producing Ron Centenario 20-Year rum used to be named Seagram de Costa Rica, but in 2002 changed its name to Centenario Internacional. The rum wasn't sold outside of Costa Rica until 2007.

8.2/10
340 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
2
14
48
116
133
23

Rate Centenario 20-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

340 Centenario 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Remi 🇫🇷 | 39 ratings

Que dire de plus. Plein de saveurs de notes épicées mais très doux en même temps

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings

Sugar: 0 GPL. This is pure classic rum. No sugar or additives. Similar to the Mt Gay 1703 XO, but this rum has a natural sweetness with a trace of citrus from aging in cognac barrels. The wood, tobacco, honey,fruit, and vanilla are all present and balanced quite well in this mix. This rum has a strong flavour but is quite smooth with some bite. For those that don't like sweetened rum, this is a good one to purchase.

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings

Very tasty, very smooth sipping rum with fragrant oak, toffee and spice. Similar flavor profile to top-tier Bajans. It has a natural sweetness despite zero added sugar, color or filtering. My bottle is from Batch #1, distilled at 88 proof. Eager to try Batch #2, which is supposed to be even better, though I can't imagine how...

Update Nov. 2016...Just tried Batch #4. Excellent. 9/10.

Posted over 6 years ago by IKEDA JUNICHI 🇯🇵 | 19 ratings

If you like agricole rhum and cognac, I reccommend this.

Nose: floral, gorgeous, orange, light oak

Taste: honey, brown cane suger, but not too sweet,

Finish: apricot,

Posted almost 7 years ago by foufvious 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings

even my whiskey friends enjoy sharing this rum with me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings

According to the label this is Single Estate Mauritian rum. Since geography was never my strong suit I have to look up where Mauritius is. It turns out to be an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 1200 miles off the African coast. From some of the photos I've seen, it looks like a wonderful place to take a vacation. Now if I could only win a big lottery.

But I digress...

I have to say from the outset that I find this rum delightful. It has a beautiful light amber hue and has an equally wonderful aroma. Swirling it in my snifter reveals excellent legs. My bottle is from Batch #1. I've seen Batch #4 reviewed online. I haven't a clue as to how they all differ. I'd love to find out. Maybe they'd send me some to compare? Oh well...one can dream.

Once again I digress...

There is an oiliness to it that keeps in on the tongue long enough to enjoy the flavors. There is a distinct vanilla/caramel combination along with an oak buzz from the barrels in which the rum is aged. There's a slight pepperiness as well. Although it is 88.2 proof (44.1% ABV) there really isn't much of a burn. Rather there is an appreciative warmth in the back of the throat which lingers a bit before fading. It is quite smooth with just an appreciable tad of sweetness. I personally do not detect any sweetening with this rum. This is an excellent sipping rum and I recommend it.

Posted 5 years ago by piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings

Ordered a shot of this at a local rum bar. (Twice.) Holy cow—this is some good stuff. Only slightly sweet, no added sugar, and very, very smooth. Slightly smokey from the barrel-aging. If only it wasn't so darned hard to find in my area...

8+ (original rating 9-)

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Stood 🇺🇦 | 9 ratings

Очень сбалансированный ром. Сладковатый, долгий финиш

Posted over 3 years ago by Harry Molema 🇿🇦 | 26 ratings

Smooth with with a lasting aftertaste. Easy drinking. Pleasant fresh aroma. Worth a trip to Mauritius to buy a bottle.

Posted 5 years ago by Tom Rhoads 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings

Batch #001
Beautiful light yellow color.

Trying this neat and I am having a hard time placing the aromas. I will try with a few drops of water soon.

Mouth feels is what I would expect from a 44% ABV. Maybe the little water will change that.

Batch #002

Posted 5 years ago by Kim 🇦🇺 | 53 ratings

I taste vanilla and oak with bourbon at the back. Reminds me strongly of Mount Gay. Will have to get a bottle of the XO Mount Gay to compare side to side. Nose is quite strong. Sweet with a dry finish. After some dark chocolate a mouthful tasted a bit like acetone so that was a pairing that did not work!!




Brand Details

Name: 20-Year
Company: Centenario
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 20
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514