Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 20-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 20-Year

Cuba | Aged

8.6/10
36 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
8
21
3

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 20-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

36 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Calmar 🇷🇺 | 25 ratings

Цвет - Чёрный чай.

Аромат - Сдержанный. сладкий, пряный, баблгам, вяленая дыня, сухофрукты, молочный шоколад, ваниль,

Вкус - Мягкий, обволакивающий, дуб, сливочные ноты, кондитерская сладость, немного имбиря, карамель, цветочные оттенки.

Послевкусие - Лёгкое, согревающее, кисло-сладкое, лёгкие древесные нотки.

Вывод - Аромат весьма интересен, необычен, вкус/финиш, к сожалению, напрямую не развили эту тему и, к тому же, оказались слабее в сравнении с ним, но в целом мне очень понравилось.

Оценка - 9/10

Posted over 5 years ago by Claudio 🇮🇹 | 30 ratings

It's important to know that this was the first rum produced to be a sipper.
The first rum to use solera aging system, previously used only in sherry and spanish brandy making.
This is an icon, a symbol of what rum is.
Can we find something better at the 30€ price? Yes we can.
But this is still a very good rum, balanced, nothing extraordinary but a flawless spirit.

Posted over 7 years ago by Carl Saxmark 🇸🇪 | 114 ratings

This one was a disapointment for me.. A bit overrated from my friends. The taste is to much ethanol for me.. And to thin. It almost feels like somebody thinned it out with pure alcohol. It tasted good in cola but for the hefty price i would prefer to drink it as a zipping rum.

Posted over 7 years ago by KJ 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings

One of my favorite things about Matusalem is how they enjoy reminding us of their great history, which begin in Cuba. They have awesome ads and really do a good job of getting you excited. Now, we all know, when these rum companies spend millions of dollars on advertising, that they are trying to over compensate for their lack of complexity / taste or they want us to know that their brand is for making frozen cocktails.

Matusalem is a stupendous, refined rum that is slightly above average sipper and mixer. It's beautiful in everyday - beautiful bottle, color, smell - but to be honest, I've used it more to spice up ice cream, milkshakes and cake, than make a cocktail out of it. At about $35 a pop, I'd personally still buy it because it's one of a kind: smooth, light, fragrant. I would recommend trying it as a digestif, instead of the typical port wine. But hey, if I could, I would replace every beverage with rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Aaron 🇨🇦 | 69 ratings

If you're a fan of lighter bodied, yet deep, oaky tastes, this is imo the best dark rum/cost there is. Either poured on rocks or with a splash to 1:1 ratio with Coke, this rum defines the dark rum genre for me. Very tasty caramel/sugarcane front with a hefty rum burn to follow up. Delectable aftertaste leaves the palate asking for more. A must have in a collection.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom 🇺🇸 | 228 ratings

A little on the sweeter side but smooth and enjoyable to sip neat. I look forward to trying Matusalem's older siblings! If they are anywhere as good as the 15 year, I will be very pleased and impressed. Great representation of how tasty and popular rums hailing from the Dominican Republic really are!
Rum this complex should not be mixed and watered down, especially when their is a plethora of rums on the market geared towards mixing and at half the price or better.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ryan K 🇨🇦 | 7 ratings

I enjoy the smooth, sweet flavour of Matusalem. It seems to be quite underrated by most, it is not the most aromatic or filled with varying flavours as other rum of the same quality but it packs a nice taste with little bite.

Posted over 6 years ago by Jacob Saaby Nielsen 🇩🇰 | 20 ratings

If this rum was a sound, imagine going into a small room with dirty beige walls.

You scream from the top of your lungs, and you expect the sound to reverberate and echo.

But nothing. No echo. The sound stops when you stop. And that's it.

That's this rum. It doesn't make a dent anywhere.

Posted 7 years ago by Martin Wicke 🇩🇪 | 17 ratings

Too long ago to quite remember it, but I think it had too much of an ethanolic taste to me.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Terence 🇲🇾 | 56 ratings

You definitely get hold of the toffee and creamy aroma which reminds of dark chocolate bar. Hint of smokiness and oaky.
Sweet spices once you sip in, creamy milk chocolate, light citrus mouth feel. Sort of reminds me of the sweetness of cognac.
Silky and medium finishing. Lightly smoked with dried apricot aftertaste.

Posted 7 years ago by massoni 🇫🇷 | 1 rating

very disappointed with this one, not cheap but not as good as the name, not complexe, short taste and thin, without any character, It tasted good but just sweet and annoying .. i won't buy it again




Brand Details

Name: Extra Anejo 20-Year
Company: Santiago de Cuba
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 20
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514