Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Botran Solera 1893 18-Year rum

Botran Solera 1893 18-Year

Guatemala | Aged | 40% ABV

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

7.0/10
224 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
1
0
1
11
49
100
47
13
2

Rate Botran Solera 1893 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

224 Botran Solera 1893 18-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Egghead66 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 26 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Not entirely my thing but very smooth. I did enjoy it.

LarsF ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 39 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I was full of expectation when I bought Botran Solera 1893 Gran Reserva.

The smell is sweet with caramel and fruit. Some sticky alcohol too but that goes away after a few minutes in the glass.

The taste is sweet but it is too much spice and barrel for my taste. I expected it to be sweeter.

The aftertaste is long with spices and barrel. In my taste this is a blender that goes well in drinks and with cola. I donยดt think itยดs good as a sipper.

Nielf ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 211 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Denne rom er smagt til whiskymesse 2022 i Kolding.

LeoTheFinn ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 3 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Paired yet again with the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. This is a very pleasant rum as well. Not quite there with the Bristol's Jamaican 8yo though, but close. The smokiness of burned Salazar, the saltiness of Davy Jones & the sweetness of Elizabeth. Then the aged rum breath of Jack & Gibbs, fruitiness of Cannibal Island & the exotic touch of monkey Jack. Ending with the smoothness of Will without the bitter kick of Barbossa. Aye to that I say! Cheers!

Nicholas Miller ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 75 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

It's nothing atypical of a rum. It's a very standard oaked vanilla rum with a lot of cinnamon/allspice in the back. Horrible straight. It acts like a nice guy in front of your girlfriend and then secretly tries to steal her when you're not expecting it. Basically it enters the mouth pretty smoothly and then a second or 2 later rains down like hell fire on your tongue, roof of mouth and back of throat. You must ice this one at a minimum or add cola. It makes a good rum and coke but for the price no thank you. I got this from a friend on a trip to mexico because it isn't sold in the states here. I would recommend cruzan gold over this. Very very similar, the only thing you might notice is the 40$ or you just saved.

Nicoakr ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 115 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

It's a very good rum, not too sweet like many rums of the region. Nose I got lot of caramel and dry fruits. Mouth is more mineral which I like but I think lacks of something to get a better rating, in that price range.

Jonny Olsson ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 162 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

I would use it for drinks but some of my friends like it straight up, normally the ones that likes Whiskey.

mamajuana ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 148 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

This is a very nice rum. It uses wine casks as part of the solera. Intensely smooth no burn at all. No funky taste or harshness or overpowering notes. This is a great blend and I highly recommend this to anyone. The price point is amazing for this quality. Could easily drink an entire bottle of this in one sitting.

Per71 ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 79 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A basic but good rum.
Like Zacapa 23 but less sweet...

Richard ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 80 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Well balanced rum with a nice spicyness. A bit too harsh, but leaves a very pleasant chest burn

Neman3 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 297 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Tonight, this is the game of two grandfathers (in the same price range stadium).
First goal scored by Botran: it is classic Solera. Good balance between dry and sweet. Charming spicyness.
Then there was massive attack of AN. 3:1 in 5 minutes.
Absolutely delicious, authentic. Naturally sweet, still fine smoky.
Both did not play fair on nose: two yellow cards for Botran, one for AN.
Both are worth the money and got into a playoff of the best drinks.

P.s. this is my first stuff (and staff) from Guatemala. Next team - Angostura.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Botran
Country: Guatemala
ABV: 40%
Name: Solera 1893 18-Year
Years Aged: 18
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Luxurious Drinks
3. Luxurious Drinks
4. Total Wine
Loading...