Botran Solera 1893 18-Year rum

Botran Solera 1893 18-Year

Guatemala | Aged

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

6.9/10
200 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
10
47
87
42
10
2

Rate Botran Solera 1893 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

200 Botran Solera 1893 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Great sweet yet subtle nose. Really pleasant balance of sweet, spice and a nice lingering oily finish. Little sour for my taste but really a top notch rum

LarsF 🇸🇪 | 39 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I was full of expectation when I bought Botran Solera 1893 Gran Reserva.

The smell is sweet with caramel and fruit. Some sticky alcohol too but that goes away after a few minutes in the glass.

The taste is sweet but it is too much spice and barrel for my taste. I expected it to be sweeter.

The aftertaste is long with spices and barrel. In my taste this is a blender that goes well in drinks and with cola. I don´t think it´s good as a sipper.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Vacationing in Acapulco and tasting Botran Solera 1893 18y and Matusalem Gran Reserva 18y back-to-back. Botran has a pretty decent bottle design and high end sturdy box which reminds me of good quality single malt whisky boxes. Color is semi dark with oak intruding both nose and palate. Some burn at the end, but rather mild. This is the best rum Botran has to offer. Matusalem 5 - Botran 7.

Nielf 🇩🇰 | 188 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Denne rom er smagt til whiskymesse 2022 i Kolding.

LeoTheFinn 🇫🇮 | 2 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Paired yet again with the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. This is a very pleasant rum as well. Not quite there with the Bristol's Jamaican 8yo though, but close. The smokiness of burned Salazar, the saltiness of Davy Jones & the sweetness of Elizabeth. Then the aged rum breath of Jack & Gibbs, fruitiness of Cannibal Island & the exotic touch of monkey Jack. Ending with the smoothness of Will without the bitter kick of Barbossa. Aye to that I say! Cheers!

Nicholas Miller 🇺🇸 | 75 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

It's nothing atypical of a rum. It's a very standard oaked vanilla rum with a lot of cinnamon/allspice in the back. Horrible straight. It acts like a nice guy in front of your girlfriend and then secretly tries to steal her when you're not expecting it. Basically it enters the mouth pretty smoothly and then a second or 2 later rains down like hell fire on your tongue, roof of mouth and back of throat. You must ice this one at a minimum or add cola. It makes a good rum and coke but for the price no thank you. I got this from a friend on a trip to mexico because it isn't sold in the states here. I would recommend cruzan gold over this. Very very similar, the only thing you might notice is the 40$ or you just saved.

Nicoakr 🇫🇷 | 108 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

It's a very good rum, not too sweet like many rums of the region. Nose I got lot of caramel and dry fruits. Mouth is more mineral which I like but I think lacks of something to get a better rating, in that price range.

Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I would use it for drinks but some of my friends like it straight up, normally the ones that likes Whiskey.

mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is a very nice rum. It uses wine casks as part of the solera. Intensely smooth no burn at all. No funky taste or harshness or overpowering notes. This is a great blend and I highly recommend this to anyone. The price point is amazing for this quality. Could easily drink an entire bottle of this in one sitting.

Per71 🇸🇪 | 79 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

A basic but good rum.
Like Zacapa 23 but less sweet...

Richard 🇸🇪 | 80 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Well balanced rum with a nice spicyness. A bit too harsh, but leaves a very pleasant chest burn




Brand Details

Name: Solera 1893 18-Year
Company: Botran
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 18

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading