Bacardi 8 rum

Bacardi 8

Puerto Rico | Aged

Bacardi 8-Year is a blended rum, filtered using the Bacardi-pioneered charcoal filtering system and aged for eight years.

This rum was not released to the public until 1995, when the first limited edition Bacardi 8 was sold with a sherry oak finish in a Baccarat crystal decanter. Despite a price tag of $400 per bottle, the rum was hugely popular and led to the larger release of the blend without the collectors' features and price.

6.6/10
443 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
7
9
47
102
167
79
19
10

Rate Bacardi 8

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

443 Bacardi 8 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Shaun 🇬🇧 | 14 ratings

Thought I'd never get a decent sipping bacardi...this one changed everything. Very smooth with strong vanilla notes. Always in my cabinet as a staple.

Posted over 9 years ago by Shawn Lein 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings

Very smooth with a smokey, almost Scotch-like finish. An excellent sipping rum with good (if not very strong) flavor, and lacking the heavy kick of many aged rums. I'd recommend this as a first step for anyone looking to explore sipping rums. It's an excellent value for the price (I paid $19.99 for 750 mL), one that doesn't make me hate myself if I decide to use it as a mixer.

Posted over 9 years ago by Trini Yank 🇹🇹 | 41 ratings

Really nice tasting rum. Smooth, with a little bit of smoke and a lot of dark berry fruits. Definitely a sipper. If you like Appleton, this is a rum for you. Also one of the cheapest out there, no matter where you are. Sorry Bacardi haters, but sometimes you gotta give the devils their due.

Posted almost 8 years ago by Tim 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings

Smooth, smooth, smooth! Very drinkable. Subtle Smoky, woody, spice notes. Not overly sweet with great character and depth. Very enjoyable!

Posted over 7 years ago by Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings

And I see why. Quite enjoyable.

Nose: Quite enjoyable light floral.
Feel: A little light and watery but warms up increasing the flavours along the way. Not overly harsh but a little warm at the end.
Taste: Light caramel, not much wood or other complexity.
Colour: You can see in the picture as the bottle is not tinted.
Presentation: Nice bottle.

While not quite as good as the limited reserve, at a mere fraction of the cost, I would pick this one every day.

Posted over 6 years ago by Hornet 🇩🇪 | 18 ratings

Yeah, not bad at all, but not really a sipper for me. Makes for a great grog or cocktail, though!

Posted over 6 years ago by James 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings

It tastes exactly what people think rum tastes like.nothing is too special about it.

Posted over 9 years ago by El Toro 🇬🇧 | 31 ratings

One of my favourite rums, Bacardi 8 tastes great straight, with coke and makes banging Old Fashioneds.
Great entry level rum to convince newbies.

Posted over 9 years ago by fenwaysteve 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings

For the price, it's delicious. Great way to open your eyes and see what sipping rums can be and test them out. Strong molasses flavor, has a auburn color, and a bit sharper than some others that are pricier. But, clearly, that's what you're paying for.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ryan 🇬🇧 | 10 ratings

Great flavour for such little money. Would have scored higher if it had a better nose.

Posted 6 years ago by Luffsman 🇸🇪 | 26 ratings

This have its advantages. Suitable in mixed drinks any day of the week!




Brand Details

Name: 8
Company: Bacardi
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
558
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513