Bacardi 8 rum

Bacardi 8

Puerto Rico | Aged

Bacardi 8-Year is a blended rum, filtered using the Bacardi-pioneered charcoal filtering system and aged for eight years.

This rum was not released to the public until 1995, when the first limited edition Bacardi 8 was sold with a sherry oak finish in a Baccarat crystal decanter. Despite a price tag of $400 per bottle, the rum was hugely popular and led to the larger release of the blend without the collectors' features and price.

6.6/10
459 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
7
10
49
107
172
82
19
10

Rate Bacardi 8

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

459 Bacardi 8 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

michael 🇺🇸 | 44 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Great aroma and flavor. I havent sipped it yet but am really enjoying it with simple and lime.

Shawn Lein 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Very smooth with a smokey, almost Scotch-like finish. An excellent sipping rum with good (if not very strong) flavor, and lacking the heavy kick of many aged rums. I'd recommend this as a first step for anyone looking to explore sipping rums. It's an excellent value for the price (I paid $19.99 for 750 mL), one that doesn't make me hate myself if I decide to use it as a mixer.

Trini Yank 🇹🇹 | 41 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Really nice tasting rum. Smooth, with a little bit of smoke and a lot of dark berry fruits. Definitely a sipper. If you like Appleton, this is a rum for you. Also one of the cheapest out there, no matter where you are. Sorry Bacardi haters, but sometimes you gotta give the devils their due.

Tim 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Smooth, smooth, smooth! Very drinkable. Subtle Smoky, woody, spice notes. Not overly sweet with great character and depth. Very enjoyable!

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

And I see why. Quite enjoyable.

Nose: Quite enjoyable light floral.
Feel: A little light and watery but warms up increasing the flavours along the way. Not overly harsh but a little warm at the end.
Taste: Light caramel, not much wood or other complexity.
Colour: You can see in the picture as the bottle is not tinted.
Presentation: Nice bottle.

While not quite as good as the limited reserve, at a mere fraction of the cost, I would pick this one every day.

Luffsman 🇸🇪 | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This have its advantages. Suitable in mixed drinks any day of the week!

Hornet 🇩🇪 | 18 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Yeah, not bad at all, but not really a sipper for me. Makes for a great grog or cocktail, though!

James 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

It tastes exactly what people think rum tastes like.nothing is too special about it.

El Toro 🇬🇧 | 31 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

One of my favourite rums, Bacardi 8 tastes great straight, with coke and makes banging Old Fashioneds.
Great entry level rum to convince newbies.

fenwaysteve 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

For the price, it's delicious. Great way to open your eyes and see what sipping rums can be and test them out. Strong molasses flavor, has a auburn color, and a bit sharper than some others that are pricier. But, clearly, that's what you're paying for.

Ryan 🇬🇧 | 10 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Great flavour for such little money. Would have scored higher if it had a better nose.




Brand Details

Name: 8
Company: Bacardi
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading