loading

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year is a rum produced by Varela Hermanos in Panama. It is aged for seven years using the solera method, which blends younger and older rums in a series of barrels. The company has been producing fine rums since 1908 and is based in the town of Pesรฉ, Panama. The ABV of Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year is 40%.

6.9/10
232 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
14
48
96
59
8
1

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

232 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 70 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Expected no less than great from Abuelo. Good balance of wood notes and sweetness. First time I sat down with the bottle, I ended up finishing half.

Nicoakr ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 111 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Not a great nose but I love the mouth. Nose Israel syrupy with aromas of woods. Mouth is smooth with a very good blend of spicies. Very aromatic, with a good dry/sweet balance. Coffee is the stingiest note but has also some vanilla and something else, some herb which I like but can't tell what it is.

protozor ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 26 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Quite a good rum, taste of hazelnuts and toasted bread. Very smooth mouth. My girlfriend who usualy doesn't like rum but really apreaciates whisky loved it. So if you want to bring a whisky fan to the wonderful world of rums... This one is a great starting point!

sulohanuri ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 34 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I think that Abuelo 7 years is really smooth and sweet, spicy tasting rum. Hint of choclate. And prize is pretty low.

martin jeppesen ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 255 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I will admit that i only tried a sampler of this rum. My memories recall a decent experience, with some melasse sweetness, and a slightly dry tobaco finish on a medium body.

thejesse ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 4 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

This is one of the truly wonderful rums you can get without breaking the bank. The funny secret is it is cheaper but somehow slightly better than the Abuelo 12 anos. I've met others that agree, it has a smoothness that its older brother lacks. Perfect with a dash of seltzer and a squirt of fresh pineapple juice.

A.Greenleaf ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 51 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

good balance and a good rum. This is the second rum from Abuelo that has proven excellent.

HammerHead ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 29 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A well balanced nose with vanilla, caramel and some sweet (dried) fruits. The taste even gives way to some faint cocoa notes. Also quite a pleasant toasted finish. Considering the price level in the Netherlands of just over 20 euro's it's one of the better deals on a rum available.

hyenik ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 159 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

Good choice, smooth rum, in Abuelo chart in the middle.

Yohobro ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 59 ratings
Posted 23 days ago

($50CAD) Not too much coming to the nose, but theirs a faint smokiness that is enticing. Charred oak and candied cherries.
The taste is much of the same with an explosion of flavour. I donโ€™t remember the 12 being this intense, though I did love it. This is my new favourite in the cabinet. Tons of flavour and fun on the tongue. Give me more!

edis ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น | 21 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Got this after exhausted row of locally available Abuelo Anejo 1L to find nice bending towards confectionery of the established mainstream rums. Has that vanilla and lingering sweetness about it, slightly suspicious towards similar effect of the artificial sweeteners. Very moderate, which makes this spirit stay open for abuse. Great weekend or festivity-anticipation evening break. So far, I find Abuelo logic justified.




Brand Details

Name: Reserva Superior 7-Year
Company: Abuelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 7

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading