Posting your rating...
Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year rum

Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Panama | Aged

Ron Abuelo 7 Años allows us to discover and innovate in our search for the perfect delight in rum. We are inspired by its qualities and infinite possibilities when it comes down to mixes and food pairing. It is the result of our passion for producing the best aged rum. Ron Abuelo 7 Años is a luxurious blend of superb rums aged for 7 years in carefully selected small oak barrels.

6.9/10
201 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
14
41
81
52
8

Rate Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

201 Abuelo Reserva Superior 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201218 210910

Posted over 4 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 63 ratings

Beautiful golden, almost coppery color. Nose and taste, very classic "rum". Very smooth, and at the risk of sounding pretentious, a soft nose with a taste of light complexity. I wouldn't call this an introductory rum, but if you have a taste for rum, this is quite nice. I wish I could say it improves as you let the glass breathe, but it never lasts that long.

Small img 20210110 133330 01

Posted 1 year ago by Martin from Slovakia with 22 ratings

Priemerný rum, pre mňa mal dosť alkoholovú chuť, za túto cenu existujú oveľa lepšie ruky. Kúpený za 18 eur.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 15 GPL. A lighter version of the 12 year old Abuelo. Not quite as sweet as the 12 and nowhere as complex and tasty as the Centuria, which is to be expected with the price. I would say that this version has a thinner version of the 12 and has more of a whiskey taste. Caramel, oak, and spice are prevalent with that whiskey taste at the end. I suggest you let it breath for about 10 minutes if you are going to sip it straight up. Overall it's a decent sipping rum and an okay mixing rum, but you can use a less expensive rum for mixing and get the same result. Overall I find this rum to be good value, but a little thin on the wow factor.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 201 ratings

One of my go to day-to-day rums, and one that I bring to friends instead of wine. Mixes well and also nice over ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Craig from United States with 5 ratings

This is my wife's favorite. Even though I am constantly trying new rums, she always comes back to this. Aging gives this Panamanian rum a host of flavors. Smooth mouth with nice blend of spices. Creamy with a little hint of vanilla at the end.
.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Very nice in a well made old fashioned. Smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jan B. Nielsen from Denmark with 2 ratings

Has a heavy Sweetness and good power. Not too much at all. With a hint of orange. Very good compared to the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from Canada with 9 ratings

So there I am, standing in the Rum isle of the liquor store looking for a good rum as I was all out at home. There wasn't what I'd call a great rum amongst the lot of them. I then I see this rum and it has a little write up with it and rating that it's been given. It's a little pricey, $58.00 ish, but if it's as good as they say I don't mind paying for it. On my first sip I was extremely disappointed. Not much nose and it's BITTER to the taste. At the time I wasn't even sure I would finish the entire bottle. However eventually I did and in the end I didn't mind it as much as when I first tried it but not enough to spend that kind of money on it.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by rummasterpty from Panama with 7 ratings

I believe this is the best product they have. Great for mixing. It tastes like no other. The more aged abuelo rums are better than this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

I may be in the market for a $100+ bottle of rum as a celebratory rum due to something that may be coming up for me. In the discussion area I asked for recommendations and Ron Abuelo Centuria was recommended. Unfortunately no one locally has that in stock and the best I could find was the 7 Anos Reserva Superior. So I picked up a bottle to try. I will say up front that I find this one of the best values for rum. Definitely a fine rum that could be sold for double the price. Right off the bat I noticed the rich aroma in the bottle. Sipping some revealed a very noticeable sweetness...perhaps too sweet for some...however it is balanced with a multitude of flavors that sadly my uneducated palate cannot identify. However after the slow, rather mild burn (yes, it is a smooth rum) faded, I could detect some caramel to it. And that tempts another sip. This rum is a bargain and should be a required addition to any rum cabinet. A "must have". Extremely versatile as well.

Ffffff

Posted 20 hours ago by Shokas from Lithuania with 11 ratings

Harsh one! Does bite mouth more than I would like. It's sweet, but kinda unbalanced. Vanilla, flowers, maybe chocolate. Overall it's OK