Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.4/10
380 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
14
41
111
151
47
9

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

380 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 5 years ago by Chris πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ | 35 ratings

Not outstanding, but good for mixong drinks. On the dry side

Posted over 6 years ago by RedBlaze6 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 26 ratings

This bad boy is a little hard on the nose. Strong alcohol smell followed by caramel and apple aroma. First taste you get the barrel flavor followed by sweetness. Has a very similar flavor profile to Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva with the addition of oak and not as syrupy. No alcohol taste but decent lingering burn. Very good rum when looking for a sweet and oaky flavor.

Posted 7 years ago by Surfyguitar πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 56 ratings

Benchmark for sipping rum. Smooth, sweet, complex, and well balanced. Outstanding value.

Posted 6 years ago by TommyVinegar πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 46 ratings

The aroma is the best part of this rum. It's quite tropical. I get ripe mango, banana, some vanilla and coconut and the inside of a cigar box. Initial sip is smooth and pleasant, but after that it quickly becomes cloying, saturating my taste buds with sugar. This is overly sweet and has been sugared beyond a doubt. Not many redeeming features beyond the sweetness. Lots of banana, honey and vanilla, some orange peel and baking spices/cinnamon, but ultimately very one dimensional, because the sugar overpowers everything else. Having said that: there's also nothing in the Abuelo 12 that's unpleasant and it's a good bottle to have on the shelf in case of visitors who like their rum sweet and soft. Finish is short with a subtle oaky bite that's somewhat pleasant. Final point of critisism: the bottle is very brown and very boring. Maybe they went for rustic, but it looks cheap

Posted over 6 years ago by nomad πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 134 ratings

Fruit in abundance, cognac like aroma and after taste. Somewhat medicinal aroma though. Probably added sugar, color and vanilla.
sugar test results-29g

Posted over 6 years ago by Benjamin πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 57 ratings

Pretty sweet rum compared to the entry level and 7years Abuelo.
Super caramely and vanila aromas / flavors with himts of orange notes.

Posted over 7 years ago by Orion πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 20 ratings

This is one of the two top sipping rums I have tasted in my life. Mildly sweet with a long finish. Beautiful color. Please try it straight; you won't be disappointed.

Posted 3 years ago by O'Neill πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 21 ratings

This rum was my best choice since my first serious rum, which was Ron Barcelo Imperial. Abuelo 12 is very delicate, sweet and with touch of honey. I can recommend him for rum beginners and as well as a gift. Really perfect choice and decent bottle moreover.

Posted 6 years ago by Emmanuel πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 11 ratings

The tastes are good and there is nothing special to complain about but
I feel there are better options even at more affordable prices.

Posted 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 317 ratings

Tested this long ago and you can definitely taste that it’s a Panamanian Ron. It has it all, but everything is weaker than in the better ones.
β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”-
Tasted it again during Birka’s rumcruise 22/3-2019 at a Master class and this time I had difficulty to distinguish from Havana Club 7yo.
So my rating will not be changed.
Picture: Brands included at the blindtest.

Posted 3 years ago by MartinK πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° | 45 ratings

Vona sladka po melase a hrozienkach, chut plna rumova, primerane sladka, vyvazena sladkost, drevitost aj alkohol. Je to lepsi priemer, stoji za ochutnavku. Pripomina mi trochu El dorado 12y aj vonou aj chutou, je ale menej citit alkohol... A je aj mierne drahsi...




Brand Details

Name: Gran Reserva 12-Year
Company: Abuelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2915
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514