Posting your rating...
Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Panama | Aged

A refined and elegant rum, inspired by true character. After 12 years of aging in selected barrels, it boasts luxurious and exceptional. Its well-rounded flavours are only achieved by time and artistry. Drink it by itself, paired with dark chocolate or along with mature tobacco cigars. Character behind every sip.

7.5/10
357 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
12
40
99
145
46
9

Rate Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

357 Abuelo Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 21 ratings

Mooie smaak. Met karakter. Je proeft de barrel en hij heeft een lekkere afdronk.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 218 ratings

Initial astringent alcohol aroma with lots of spice present then settles down after a while in the glass. So much wood then , tobacco and a bit of leather comes through. Almost smells older than its 12 years ? Dry tasting with chocolate and raisin overtones still quite spicy but also sweet. Bit of a burn to the back of the throat , long finish.. Reminds me a bit of ED 15..
I cannot make my mind up if im into this or not , but i've got a litre a get through so hopefully it will grow on me , good value as well.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Travis from United States with 14 ratings

The nose indicates a high alcohol content. The taste is very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

Great color, aroma, but best on ice. Not a sipping rum per say. I really like the central american rums the best.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by solartje from Belgium with 29 ratings

I can't give a 10, because nothing is perfect but this one comes close. Sweet but not overpowering or chemical. Well balanced with an amazing afterburn. Pairs well with a good cigar. Complex but still tastes like a rum. I don't like rums who taste like a whiskey or a sherry. Almost no strong ethanol taste. For it's price obe you can buy with your eyes closed. The bottle could be more beautifull. Pitty it doesn't come in a decanter style bottle

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

A wonderful birthday present after wanting to try for a while. On the nose it is distinctive to any other rum use smelt. It has a nice subtle sweetness to it and every sip seems to bring out more flavours which I find very enjoyable. Nice long finish too allowing you to savour those flavours.

Outperforms it's price point.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Richard Braun from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Best rum as a sipper for me sofar.I like it a lot and will buy it again. Easy to drink, oak, sweet, vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

Lovely sweet flavour and a smooth finish, lots of subtle flavours that develop the more you drink, an easy sipper

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

Good rum selection. a little stronger than most of us normally drink. But drink this bottle down we did.

Good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Stephane from France with 24 ratings

Découvert dans un restaurant puis en masterclass j'ai adoré le côté rond de ce rhum
D'une excellente facture l'alcool n'est pas trop présent en bouche pour laisser place à des arômes de fruits confits et de caramel
À goûter absolument

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Kaw from France with 21 ratings

this is the best rum ever for me!! sweet with vanilla and more....the best of abuelo rums too ...5 stars