Posting your rating...
Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year rum

Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year

France | Aged

7.5/10
24 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
12
4
2

Rate Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

24 Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by kudzey (TASTING CLUB) from Poland with 30 ratings

Thanks a lot, Vomi, for sharing a sample with me!

I opened the sample and poured some rum into the glass, then took a photo. Before I even began formal evaluation of this spirit, I've already sensed distinct fruity aromas. The main theme is banana, followed by pineapple and mango. These fruits seem long overripe, the nose is pretty sweet. Then it turns out that, while the sweet aromas are high above the glass, drawing the nose near reveals quite the opposite: grassy and sour notes with nail polish remover and chemical acidity. Ultimately I sensed raisins, as a sort of agreement between these two categories.

This rum is warming up from the first sip. It is naturally sweet with yellow fruits; especially banana and coconut. Then some milky notes appear, which add up to sensations of coconut milk, vanilla, cream and pudding, accompanied by the creamy texture of rum mixed with saliva.

After a transition moment of bitter orange and grapefruit, we smoothly enter the finish composed of dark chocolate, dry cocoa, smoke and wood.

I definitely expected less from this immature rum. It's flavors and tastes tell a consistent tropical story, with moderate complexity and natural sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by MichielV from Netherlands with 28 ratings

This Fijian rum is aged quite shortly, about 2 years in the tropics and 1 year in Europe. It is distilled in pot stills from fermented molasses.
This rum is extremely fragrant in the nose. Aromas of freshly mowed grass and blooming flowers. Unlike other rums, it is not sweet at all in the nose, so it definitely stands out in comparison to other rums. Altough this rum contains 48% of alcohol, it doesn't taste like that. The taste start mildly sweet, with some acidity that reminds of grapefruit. After that some dried tropical fruits take over with a punch of herbs and some bitters. It is very complex. The aftertaste is a combination of the bitterness of a good espresso and the herbal touch of South African Rooibos tea. All in all, this rum is completely different than I have ever had before, and that is a compliment.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 181 ratings

taste - 8.5/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Starrider from Singapore with 6 ratings

Just started on the TCRL line and have to say this is one of my favourites in the range so far. Rich, mouth coating, high ester, fruity, definitely almost perfect for me. Love it!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Awesomedon from United States with 32 ratings

Funky as hell. One of my new favorites for sure. Just wish it was a bit more affordable

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 89 ratings

Nose: Apples, rubber, lime, bananas foster, sangria, caramel, gorgonzola, rhubarb
Palate: Apples, white oak, champagne, vanilla, bundt cake, butterscotch, very pleasant!
Aftertaste: bundt cake, burnt caramel, vanilla, cream, apples

So this is one of the most fascinating rums I have ever tried, bar none.

This is probably the most interesting mix of aromas I have ever gotten from a rum. A waft brings in apples, rubber, lime, bananas foster, sangria, caramel, gorgonzola, rhubarb, and something else I can't quite place. It also has a very strong alcohol note which makes sense given that it is bottled at 48% ABV. The strongest of the above notes on the nose is apples, rubber, and sangria.

On the palate it gets absolutely wild! Where do I even start? So mirroring the nose it starts with green apples before white oak briefly makes an appearance. The white oak then smoothly morphs into champagne before mellowing out further into vanilla, bundt cake, and butterscotch. This combination and change of flavors is extremely smooth and pleasant though accompanied by a very slight burn. The finish picks up where the palate leaves off and leaves you with a mouth of bundt cake, burnt caramel, and vanilla all with a very creamy taste and mouth sensation. After the putting the glass down a while your mouth tastes like green apples. What is perhaps most impressive is that this whole experience is produced with no sugars or additives. This is all from the esters, dunder, and aging.

In some respects it is slightly reminiscent of a young Jamaican high ester rum...but is far smoother and creamier with essences of bundt cake. Never thought I would ever type those words to describe a rum. This is definitely a keeper and a sipping experience.

*Edit* the more I drink this, the more I absolutely love it. This is the best funky rum I have ever had. The breadth and combination of flavors and aromas on this rum is simply stunning. This is awesome!

Nose: 9
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 9
Price: 9

Total: 9.5

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Mastamt from Netherlands with 24 ratings

Mooie complexe rum. Krachtige geur met mooie kruidige tinten. Mooie complexe smaak. Kruiden en zilt staan centraal.

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 11 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 182 ratings

Perfektní aroma po ovoci, čokoládě, vanilce. V chuti hodně kořeni, karamel.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

This rum was not dark or amber color at all. The smell was very different than other rums. The taste was great. Very different kinda funky. Complex but mellows out. Bot rough burn either.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 392 ratings

I was searching for a cheap Fiji pot still rum. And I finally found a perfect one.
Already when I opened the bottle, I already knew that a great rum is waiting for me in this bottle.
You immediately get the typical Fiji pot still aromas in your nose. Pickled tomatoes, plastic, melon, some pepper. Exactly what I expect. Great stuff.

The first sip is also not a disappointment. You get exactly the same aromas on your palet that your nose promised you. This rum is quite young and this fact can not be hidden on your palet. But it's fresh and tasty. I would say it's the best 4y Fiji rum that I can imagine.
There is just a small point of criticism. The dilution to 48% is not bad but I think 51-55% would be better. The taste is a little bit thin, the 19y Fiji TRC is much more complex and smoother, but it's also IMHO the worlds best Fiji pot still rum.
Would give this one 83 points.

Because I read so many reviews where was mentioned that this is a high ester rum. Nope, this has nothing to do with high ester. It's very shy to be a high ester rum.

Nose: Pickled tomatoes, plastic, white fruits (melon/prune), plants, some pepper, some young wood and vanilla.
Taste initial: watery start, pickled tomatoes, salt, plastic
Middle: pepper, melon, some acacia honey (light and fresh honey)
Finish: spice, pepper, wood, dark fruit
Aftertaste: pepper, melon

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 2.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Compexity: 3/5
Expert level: professional
Value: 4.5/5