Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year rum

Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year

France | Aged

7.5/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
4
13
4
2

Rate Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

26 Transcontinental Rum Line 2014 Fiji 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

CSG 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is my first high ester rum and it’s not like anything I’ve tried before. The funk is very strong, and it also exhibits subtle characteristics of traditional molasses rum, some oak, and some dryer sugar cane style. It was like a party in my mouth with popping complexity, but it went down heavily. Definitely only a sipper, just difficult to have a lot in one sitting, and doesn’t pair well with anything besides itself.

kudzey (PREMIUM) 🇵🇱 | 38 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Thanks a lot, Vomi, for sharing a sample with me!

I opened the sample and poured some rum into the glass, then took a photo. Before I even began formal evaluation of this spirit, I've already sensed distinct fruity aromas. The main theme is banana, followed by pineapple and mango. These fruits seem long overripe, the nose is pretty sweet. Then it turns out that, while the sweet aromas are high above the glass, drawing the nose near reveals quite the opposite: grassy and sour notes with nail polish remover and chemical acidity. Ultimately I sensed raisins, as a sort of agreement between these two categories.

This rum is warming up from the first sip. It is naturally sweet with yellow fruits; especially banana and coconut. Then some milky notes appear, which add up to sensations of coconut milk, vanilla, cream and pudding, accompanied by the creamy texture of rum mixed with saliva.

After a transition moment of bitter orange and grapefruit, we smoothly enter the finish composed of dark chocolate, dry cocoa, smoke and wood.

I definitely expected less from this immature rum. It's flavors and tastes tell a consistent tropical story, with moderate complexity and natural sweetness.

MichielV 🇳🇱 | 30 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This Fijian rum is aged quite shortly, about 2 years in the tropics and 1 year in Europe. It is distilled in pot stills from fermented molasses.
This rum is extremely fragrant in the nose. Aromas of freshly mowed grass and blooming flowers. Unlike other rums, it is not sweet at all in the nose, so it definitely stands out in comparison to other rums. Altough this rum contains 48% of alcohol, it doesn't taste like that. The taste start mildly sweet, with some acidity that reminds of grapefruit. After that some dried tropical fruits take over with a punch of herbs and some bitters. It is very complex. The aftertaste is a combination of the bitterness of a good espresso and the herbal touch of South African Rooibos tea. All in all, this rum is completely different than I have ever had before, and that is a compliment.

Skipper Joe 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Fairly pale rum from Fiji, with a short age in the tropics and even shorter age in europe. While not especially high proof, the first sip has a bit of a bite. Leads with “funk” characteristic in typical Jamaican rums, with some pleasing floral notes and dried fruits. Delightful for sipping on it’s own, but I think it makes a great daiquiri; it really elevates a simple drink

5xo (PREMIUM) 🇸🇰 | 294 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Closely resembles Jamaican rums. I am referring to the special funk, probably closest reference is mango.

filipec 🇨🇿 | 250 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

taste - 8.5/10
smell - 8/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10

Starrider 🇸🇬 | 11 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Just started on the TCRL line and have to say this is one of my favourites in the range so far. Rich, mouth coating, high ester, fruity, definitely almost perfect for me. Love it!

Awesomedon 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Funky as hell. One of my new favorites for sure. Just wish it was a bit more affordable

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 127 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Nose: Apples, rubber, lime, bananas foster, sangria, caramel, gorgonzola, rhubarb
Palate: Apples, white oak, champagne, vanilla, bundt cake, butterscotch, very pleasant!
Aftertaste: bundt cake, burnt caramel, vanilla, cream, apples

So this is one of the most fascinating rums I have ever tried, bar none.

This is probably the most interesting mix of aromas I have ever gotten from a rum. A waft brings in apples, rubber, lime, bananas foster, sangria, caramel, gorgonzola, rhubarb, and something else I can't quite place. It also has a very strong alcohol note which makes sense given that it is bottled at 48% ABV. The strongest of the above notes on the nose is apples, rubber, and sangria.

On the palate it gets absolutely wild! Where do I even start? So mirroring the nose it starts with green apples before white oak briefly makes an appearance. The white oak then smoothly morphs into champagne before mellowing out further into vanilla, bundt cake, and butterscotch. This combination and change of flavors is extremely smooth and pleasant though accompanied by a very slight burn. The finish picks up where the palate leaves off and leaves you with a mouth of bundt cake, burnt caramel, and vanilla all with a very creamy taste and mouth sensation. After the putting the glass down a while your mouth tastes like green apples. What is perhaps most impressive is that this whole experience is produced with no sugars or additives. This is all from the esters, dunder, and aging.

In some respects it is slightly reminiscent of a young Jamaican high ester rum...but is far smoother and creamier with essences of bundt cake. Never thought I would ever type those words to describe a rum. This is definitely a keeper and a sipping experience.

*Edit* the more I drink this, the more I absolutely love it. This is the best funky rum I have ever had. The breadth and combination of flavors and aromas on this rum is simply stunning. This is awesome!

Nose: 9
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 9
Price: 9

Total: 9.5

Mastamt 🇳🇱 | 31 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Mooie complexe rum. Krachtige geur met mooie kruidige tinten. Mooie complexe smaak. Kruiden en zilt staan centraal.

Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 207 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Perfektní aroma po ovoci, čokoládě, vanilce. V chuti hodně kořeni, karamel.