Posting your rating...
Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

Bumbu Rum XO rum is distilled in Panama before spending 18 years in American white oak bourbon barrels, with a further short finish in Andalusian white oak sherry barrels.

7.1/10
168 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
30
69
51
7
2

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

168 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

Posted 1 year ago by Cowboy Neal from United States with 30 ratings

Completely different than regular Bumbu; solid sipper for the price

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 496 ratings

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had far too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it's not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, as I'm a rum purist, but this lacks a little in flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Posted 1 year ago by Kevin from United States with 35 ratings

A lovely deep brown color. Very clean subtle nose. Only the slightest alchol burn at the very end. A very good sipping rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2842 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bumbu XO while in Tucson AZ. Blacked out bottle versus clear bottle with Bumbu Original. XO comes from Panama based rums whereas Original is Barbados based. XO is much more dryer and has zero banana flavor which the Original has in spades. XO is mainly aged in ex bourbon barrels but finished up in white oak sherry casks. It's the sherry flavor which is offputting for me. Otherwise the XO coukd earn an 8, but the sherry just simply does not fit this flavor profile. No burn at all, which is quite surprising how dry this rum really is.

Posted 3 months ago by Wechillin from Latvia with 1 rating

The very first drink i tried from ones that's more expensive and original than Bacardi, morgan& other. That drink changed my mind and i started trying smth new. Talking bout this - to me it's absolutely good balance between sweetness and spice. Wonderful aftertaste. Also design of the bottle is pretty nice so it became first piece of my collection. I was feeling good enjoying evenings drinking it, gave me a lot of energy also when i needed. No hangovers. I rate it 8 because i think it's really beautiful drink, but i don't know yet is there something a lot better.

Posted 10 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 52 ratings

I think I expected a bit more but none the less it's a very solid rum. Very smooth, very light on the nose, and not much of a lingering after taste. Certainly something I can work into my rotation very easily

Posted 19 days ago by Tyxxy from United States with 2 ratings

Very very good! Pares extremely well with vanilla coke!

Posted 23 days ago by Blindside6 from Romania with 4 ratings

Definitely an improvement over the original. It's a good sipping rum, with flavors of coffee and oak (none over the top). Overall a good balance between sweetness and spice.

Posted 2 months ago by Kevin from United States with 34 ratings

Or, all of the above? Taste like watered down over proof rum. I surely taste water and flavored alcohol here. More so than rum which is what the label says. There are other panama rums w/ the same price range out there that just blow this right overboard. There is banana in there but
the diluting covers it up. XO, seriously, they got some set calling it XO. Nice bottle but Never again!