Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

Bumbu Rum XO rum is distilled in Panama before spending 18 years in American white oak bourbon barrels, with a further short finish in Andalusian white oak sherry barrels.

7.1/10
194 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
37
79
56
9
2

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

194 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Djgross144 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 56 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Seen this on the shelves in the past, and didn't purchase. Limited selection online so gave it a try. Pretty good, not bad, can't complain. Ok sipper.

EmfiniGee πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 21 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

The Bumbu XO is much more balanced on the palate then the original. Great value for around $40 for an XO, would recommend to anyone looking to get into sipping rums.

Cowboy Neal πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 31 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Completely different than regular Bumbu; solid sipper for the price

Kevin πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 35 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

A lovely deep brown color. Very clean subtle nose. Only the slightest alchol burn at the very end. A very good sipping rum.

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2929 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Enjoyed a bottle of Bumbu XO while in Tucson AZ. Blacked out bottle versus clear bottle with Bumbu Original. XO comes from Panama based rums whereas Original is Barbados based. XO is much more dryer and has zero banana flavor which the Original has in spades. XO is mainly aged in ex bourbon barrels but finished up in white oak sherry casks. It's the sherry flavor which is offputting for me. Otherwise the XO coukd earn an 8, but the sherry just simply does not fit this flavor profile. No burn at all, which is quite surprising how dry this rum really is.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 521 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I almost liked the Original Bumbu rum, but for me it had far too much banana, so I only gave that a 3. It was an otherwise great rum. I had hoped this would be more like the Original Bumbu without the banana flavor, but it's not that at all. :-(

This is not nearly as sweet (I have a sweet tooth), and to me it felt a bit harsh for an XO. Has notes of oak, but I'm barely tasting the bourbon and sherry it was aged in. Usually, that's ok, but this lacks a little in other flavors. Not too bad, but not great either.

Wechillin πŸ‡±πŸ‡» | 1 rating
Posted 10 months ago

The very first drink i tried from ones that's more expensive and original than Bacardi, morgan& other. That drink changed my mind and i started trying smth new. Talking bout this - to me it's absolutely good balance between sweetness and spice. Wonderful aftertaste. Also design of the bottle is pretty nice so it became first piece of my collection. I was feeling good enjoying evenings drinking it, gave me a lot of energy also when i needed. No hangovers. I rate it 8 because i think it's really beautiful drink, but i don't know yet is there something a lot better.

Rhoffer97 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 58 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I think I expected a bit more but none the less it's a very solid rum. Very smooth, very light on the nose, and not much of a lingering after taste. Certainly something I can work into my rotation very easily

Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Sugar: Estimated at 24 GPL. This is a better rum than the original. The original is more like a liqueur than a rum. This one still has a bit of the banana taste and aroma in it but it's in the background. Overall it's a sweet fairly well balanced rum with Banana, oak, a bit of smoke, some caramel and vanilla with a bit of spice. Fairly smooth at first with a bit of a bite on the follow through.

Tyxxy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Very very good! Pares extremely well with vanilla coke!

Blindside6 πŸ‡·πŸ‡΄ | 9 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Definitely an improvement over the original. It's a good sipping rum, with flavors of coffee and oak (none over the top). Overall a good balance between sweetness and spice.




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Bumbu
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading