Bumbu XO rum

Bumbu XO

Barbados | Aged

Bumbu Rum XO rum is distilled in Panama before spending 18 years in American white oak bourbon barrels, with a further short finish in Andalusian white oak sherry barrels.

7.0/10
188 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
36
76
55
8
2

Rate Bumbu XO

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

188 Bumbu XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings

Completely different than regular Bumbu; solid sipper for the price

Posted over 1 year ago by Jörgen 🇸🇪 | 31 ratings

Really different than Bumbu original, way more deep, balanced and raw.

Posted over 1 year ago by AntonioPatriarca 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings

I have to admit that I am a sucker for unique packaging and this bottle looks exactly like what you think rum should look like. I tried it on the rocks and then with an ounce or two of coke. I liked it both ways. For a mid-priced rum it was quite nice. I have not tried drinking straight from the bottle yet, but today is Talk Like A Pirate Day, so I may have to try that tonight.

Posted at TikiCat almost 2 years ago by NinjaHippo 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings

Bottle looks like a gimmick but delicious rum inside! OK, I still don't like the presentation, but I really enjoyed Bumbu XO and went through this rather quickly both sipping and mixing into cocktails. You can do a little better but you can also do a lot worse at this price point. I haven't yet tried Bumbu original but I will soon...well done!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Guy 🇨🇦 | 9 ratings

When I first tried bumbu xo I was a bit disappointed, as I did not find it tasting all that sweet, but as time goes on I find myself warming up to its unique taste...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paniolopete 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings

Definitely not a flavored rum like the original Bumbu, but more of a real, refined, aged rum meant for sipping or use in your special mixed drinks. Quite a bargain, I feel, for such a barrel-aged sipping rum. plenty of fruitiness, though much more subtle and related to the molasses from which it is fermented, than added flavors or spices like the original. Very nicely done! Bottle says a product of Panama, but other sites list this as of Barbadian molasses origin. Distillation was done in Panama.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 529 ratings

Jeho sladší bratříček mne zaujal mnohém víc... Tak to bylo kdysi, chutě se změnily a musím uznat, že je lepší než sladký bratříček

Posted 3 years ago by Paul B 🇺🇸 | 426 ratings

I saw this new addition from Bumbu on the shelves weeks ago. I had to research it first because it's younger sister with the heavy banana flavoring only rated as a 6 by me. That one is from Barbados and is at 75 proof. This one is from Panama and is at 80 proof. This one at first appeared to be dry, but some legs showed up in the snifter later on. It has nowhere near as much added sugar as it's younger sister, Bumbu Original. There is no burn at all, from the aroma in the beginning to the after taste. At being aged up to 18 years in charred bourbon barrels, one would expect a heavy woody taste. Not so in this case, and I suspect the final aging in Andalusian sherry casks has something to do with smoothing out the oak flavors. This is a very good sipping rum, but it's just that I don't much care for sherry in my rum. The sherry flavor is not overpowering like the Papa's Pilars and Abuelos, but is more subdued like the Brugal 1888. It almost deserves a rating of 8 from me. It is also the best rum from Panama without having to drive 200 miles to get one or spend a lot more.

Update October 30, 2021: I finally got to try their new edition called Bumbu Creme. It is made from this Panamanian rum and adds spices and dairy cream. Since it is only 15% ABV, I would classify it as a liqueur. It is quite tasty and I also like it better than Bailey's Irish Cream. At $32 US, it also costs more than Bailey's. This one would be a great present for your lady friends! It is just too sweet for me.

Posted 3 years ago by Roger Averill 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings

Not near as sweet as the orginal Bumbu. More tradtional XO. Little alcohol heavy start but fairly smooth finish. Worth a try

Posted 2 days ago by Steven 1979 🇧🇪 | 10 ratings

Dit is iets sterker als de orginele maar toch de moeite om een exemplaar in huis te hebben

Posted 10 days ago by Róbert Bezák 🇸🇰 | 61 ratings

It was a surprise for me, but this XO version tasted a little bit worse than the ordinary one. Hm, fortunately I didn't buy the whole bottle, because in general I don't like Bumbu rum. Generally I like sweet rums, but this one tastes a little bit better than sweet water, nothing special for its price.




Brand Details

Name: XO
Company: Bumbu
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2923
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514