Rhum JM Gold Eleve Sous Bois 1-Year rum

Rhum JM Gold Eleve Sous Bois 1-Year

Martinique | Agricole | 50.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.0/10
36 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
2
13
10
4

Rate Rhum JM Gold Eleve Sous Bois 1-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

36 Rhum JM Gold Eleve Sous Bois 1-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Little 🇧🇪 | 17 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

You can actually feel the good quality of the JM rum but still the 50% are biting it... This is too much for that one. You can only properly taste it at the second glass which might for some be a bit too much already

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

It took me quite a while to obtain a bottle of Rhum JM rum. Hard to come by in this part of Florida. However it proved to be well worth the effort. This rum is helping cement my affection for good agricole rums from Martinique. Don't know why exactly but I know I like Martinique agricole rums thus far.

The color is a beautiful pale amber. The aroma in my snifter is distinctly cane juice but almost like a brandy. Kind of surprising.

The flavor is nice and grassy with distinct sugar cane juice flavor. Can't miss that. Some spiciness to it. At 100 proof (50% ABV) it has a little more of a kick to it than regular rums but it does not make itself known with a heavy burn but instead a strong warmth that lasts longer than most. The finish has some oak to it as well as the spiciness I mentioned earlier. Definitely drier rum. Very good. Delightful, even. Could be used as a sipping rum if one is so inclined but I recommend it be used as a mixer especially in classic tropical drinks. Zombie, anyone?

Pirateforlife 🇬🇧 | 17 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

First they are not easy to get, once we got the bottle down it took about 4 months to replace it with our local international spirit merchant. J.M are quite Rare, but i think that rum is always good to pair with a bit of sugar and lime or some exotic jam or chutney, This is how it seems to be drunk in Martinique.

If you drink it on its own, you will most likely loose the purpose of this rum, which is to be worked on with some basic ingredients according to taste.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Visited the Rhum JM distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Rhum JM Gold was priced at EUR 19 per bottle at the distillery. Pale golden color. Very nice and sturdy bottle design with a great old school label. Traditional super dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with plenty of grass, strong oak and a lot of floral notes to the nose and palate. Surprisingly strong burn at the end since its so dry. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Round, sweet, grassy, tequila-like nose. A friend said "nutty," which I agree with as well. Hugely grassy taste. The strength (100 proof) shows through in astringency. Medium-short finish. Very nice!

In typical JM fashion, this is an archetypal rhum agricole (elevé sous bois). Probably makes a killer Ti Punch. Mellows out nicely a bit after breathing.

7+

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

This cheap (20€) Rhum J.M. Is just aged for one year in re-charred ex-Bourbon barrels.
From nose, via palate to the rather long finish there is delicate grass notes, spices (I think I recognized cinnamon), cream and vanilla together with typical cane juice sugar.
Overall a well-balanced sipping rhum that I think will make great in a drink.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My J.M. Line-up by moment.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 447 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Since I was quite impressed with their 3 year old VO and less impressed with their older VSOP, I dropped down to this 12 month aged agricole from them. I can also thank Rhum Clement for showing me that less aging and cheaper prices make for a better rhum agricole all around. It now looks like 3 years is optimum for aging agricoles.

Well, this gold rum is at 100 proof. The aroma is vegetal and mild wood. The taste is very hot pepper on the tongue with some burn going down if sipped neat. Adding an ice cube tames it, but at $40 US, all I can say for it is that it's bourbon qualities are minimized due to only one year of aging. It goes great with ginger ale. I will take the J M rhums any day over Clement rhums!

Marco Forlani 🇮🇹 | 35 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I’ve tried this rhum for the first in Martinique at the Distillery. At the end of the tour, we tasted several different products of different ageing. This one was excellent served in the Ti Punch. Its taste is pure sugar cane with some scent and note of tropical fruit with a bit of personality given by the ageing. It’s not the rhum you want to drink plain because it’s not very smooth and not enough complex in terms of flavours, but with a slice of lime and a teaspoon of cane sugar it’s just perfect.
I had to raise the rating after finishing 2 bottles in two weeks... Did I say it's good for Ti Punch?

Michael 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Rhum J.M Gold

Quick review:

Another agricole added to the bar after enjoying the JM VSOP. Unlike the later, this bottle was only aged for 12 months in oak barrels making it neither a white rhum nor an aged rhum and at 50% packs a much stronger punch.
On the nose- cane juice, pepper and grass.

First sip- The grass and alcohol smack you in the mouth instantly. Very spicy with notes of cane juice, nuts, pepper and oak. Very intense warmth instantly that mellows just as fast with a long tingly finish. Smoother than I assumed this 100 proof would be but not the biggest fan in the world regardless. Much Earthier than the VSOP. I think this would be great for cocktails, on the rocks or with a splash of water. I'd probably give this a 6 out of 10. Not my favorite dram but not bad at all. If you see a bottle give it a go as it's not very expensive. Enjoy!

Na Zdrowie!! 🥃🍻🤙

Pierzot 🇵🇱 | 8 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Hard to drink straight, not a lot of rummy taste, maybe it is normal for this style...

Skipper Joe 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Gorgeous label, appealing amber color. Burns a bit more than a rhum that sits longer, but not unbearably so. Robust grassy notes, with a bit of the wood and a floral finish. Not quite as rich as a “proper” vieux but less brash than a blanc. Suitable on it’s own (if you’re a Agricole fan) and shows it’s most desirable traits admirably when mixed. Ti’ punch, 1941 Mai Tai, etc