Background Image
Preload image
Clairin Communal rum

Clairin Communal

Haiti | Light | 43% ABV

6.8/10
25 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
10
4
3

Rate Clairin Communal

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

25 Clairin Communal Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A bit of grappa and mezcal on the palate, white in colour.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 502 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Banana and funk. A little surprising from a white rum. Smells awful. Tastes decent. More flavor than most white. It will make a nice mixer for certain cocktails. Far superior to anything Hampden produces.

JellyJortikka 🇫🇮 | 74 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Quick sample, more intensive tasting notes will come in a week.
Pot still blend of four different small batch farm distilleries from Haiti.
Wild fermentation from fresh sugar cane juice and some sugar cane syrup wild fermentated rum also in the mix. 43% abv
Nose: Strong bouquet of different herbal and vinegary funk notes to the nose, brine, sea.
Taste: Herbal aromas just explode in your mouth and lots and lots of vinegary esters, agricole sugar cane juice notes, lots of brine with some fruitiness also in the mix. Bit of heat too.
I will update these notes when i get to sample this again in a week but my impression so far is that this is a great pot still product BUT i have to say that even though i love hugely estery rums, this one has huge herbal vinegary esteriness which im personally not a huge fan of, and it tends to be bit challenging to mix this because that but if you know how to use this rum it will lend itself to very interesting cocktails.
Huge thanks for Luca Garganos team for bringing us these authentic unalturated rums that wouldnt otherwise be on the market.

Mr. Rumantic 🇩🇪 | 296 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Clairin Communal is a blend of four Haiti distilleries. Casimir, Vaval, Sajous and Le Rocher. The bottling from Velier is made in the pot style and bottled with a drinking strength of 43% as unstored white rum.

Lots of floral notes on the nose. Hay, Lemongrass and Sugarcane. Plus some fruit. And the rum smells a bit rotten. So far so good. On the palate, the rum falls off significantly for me. The rum here is also very herbal with grass and sugar cane. But here it also tastes a bit like liquor. Some fruit and a light candied sweetness don't help that much. In addition, it seems a bit thin and watery.

I'm honest. I don't really like this rum. Well suited for mixing cocktails and the price is certainly fair. Glad i only hat a 2cl sample. That was for free. Thanks for that.

Der Clairin Communal ist ein ein Blend aus vier Distillerien auf Haiti. Casimir, Vaval, Sajous und Le Rocher. Die Abfüllung aus dem Hause Velier wird im Pott Style hergestellt und mit einer Trinkstärke von 43% ungelagert als weißer Rum abgefüllt.

In der Nase kommen viele florale Noten. Heu, Zitronengras und Zuckerrohr. Dazu etwas Frucht. Und der Rum riecht etwas verrottet. So weit so gut. Am Gaumen fällt der Rum dann doch deutlich ab für mich. Der Rum ist auch hier serh pflanzlich mit Gras und Zuckerrohr. Aber hier schmeckt es auch irgendwie etwas nach Spirituose. Etwas Frucht und eine leichte kandierte Süße helfen da nicht. Dazu wirkt er etwsa dünn und wässrig.

Ich bin ehrlich. Mir schmeckt dieser Rum nicht wirklich gut. Zm Mixen für Cocktails gut geeignet und der Preis ist sicherlich fair.

Neman3 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 286 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Similar delicious profile compared to it's single distillery brothers. Just bit more sweeter, somehow flatter ( - 1 point), but still rich aroma and taste. Absolutely smooth, oily on palate. Warm long aftertaste.

Minus second point due to lack of fine art box )

CigarJoe 🇳🇱 | 3 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

If you want to make an epic Daiquiri use this stuff. Nough said. Gonna try it for other cocktails later. Bit expensive for the mix (in my country) but sometimes you gotta impress the lady, and thoroughly enjoy one yourself.

Pollux 🇨🇦 | 269 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Rhum pour faire de ti-punch comme dans les îles. Pas un rhum de dégustation.

maams 🇨🇿 | 26 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

This is not drinkable without cola or another stuff for mixing.

DB 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This is my first clairin so I didn't know what to expect other than what I had heard about being rather funky. I like it! I think I was expecting something like a cross between a high-ester Jamaican and an agricole rum. Maybe that is what this is, but it is not at all what I had imagined.

Interesting nose - I immediately associate it with Jamaican funk - but it has unique sour note. Another member commented about vinegar - I'm going to agree with that - like a BBQ sauce with vinegar. There is a light agricole-like note present, and something else going on in there that I can't place - but it is pleasant.

On the palate, I get a significant sweetness, some spice and alcohol, and surprisingly no funk. Not overly complex. Agricole-like vegetal notes coming in late. Fairly short finish with a lingering warmth. Rather smooth, very easy to drink. As already stated, I do like this one and I recommend it.

ripperussr 🇨🇿 | 500 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Honey and riped banana in aroma, sweet honey start of the body, spicy and flower. Very decent tail.

SerenityFF 🇺🇸 | 50 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Smells delicious, sweetness and ripe bananas. On the palate it is a little harsh, although the elements of mild sweetness come through. Made a Marlin cocktail (from Beachbum Berry's book, Intoxica) with it and Clement XO, which was delicious.




Brand Details

Type: Light
Company: Clairin
Country: Haiti
Name: Communal
ABV: 43%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No