Posting your rating...

6.1/10
29 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
15
6
3

Rate Roble Extra Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

29 Roble Extra Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 290 ratings

Had just a sample for the tasting so this is just a first impression, but I don’t think that I will dig deeper into it.
The Ron Roble brand hails from Venezuela and is produced by Rones de Caribe in their distillery near Caracas.
Their Master Distiller Giorgio Melis, is heavily experienced with over 50 years in the drinks industry.
It’s produced from molasses from locally grown sugar cane. The molasses is distilled in a 5 Column Still before aged for 8 to 12 years in 220 litre ex-bourbon oak barrels.
The aroma is dominated by vanilla but in the end notes of glue comes through. In mouth and palate there’s also caramel and almonds together with the vanilla but the glue taste has almost fade-away. The rather short finish tastes about the same. Positive is that it’s not overly sweetened, but overall I think it’s too bland.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Posted 5 months ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 496 ratings

I'm a huge fan of Venezuelan rums, but this one is a bit bland in comparison to others.

Smells and tastes of oak, cocoa, almonds, and caramel. A bit on the dry side, and somewhat plain. Could use a little spice or something to add to the flavor. If you don't like additives, I recommend the Santa Teresa 1796 Venezuelan, which is a fantastic rum without a lot of 'extras'.

Posted 1 year ago by hugorollo (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 9 ratings

I just had a sampel of this rum, so this is only my first impression.

Nose: very much glue and some vanilla.
Palate: more vanilla and caramel and a little bit less glue. I can also taste some pepper.
Finish: pretty long aftertaste with taste of nuts.

All in all its a pretty good rum. Nothing wrong with it.

Posted 29 days ago by Wahlman from Sweden with 46 ratings

Trevlig färg. Väldigt spritig smak, påminner om billig tysk sprit. inget för mig.

Posted 2 months ago by Jason from United States with 102 ratings

Very nice light caramel color. Cocoa, oak, and caramel on the nose and the tongue. Smooth finish. It is very sweet and could use something to tone down the sweetness. Pretty solid rum but seems unfinished.

Posted 2 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

The first bite of aroma is right out of the bottle, but it opens up and evens out nicely. I smell light vanilla, caramel/molasses. Taste is fleeting butter & vanilla.

Posted 3 months ago by dhelliwell@comcast.net (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

Another sample in this quarterly batch that is drinkable but nothing memorable. Medium dark color, taste is OK but simple, and a little bit of length on the finish.

Posted 5 months ago by BinoBRUCHHH from Sweden with 31 ratings

Helt OK. Smakar vanilj och fat, doftar detsamma men även en hint av aceton. För mild men bra sötma: inte så överdrivet.

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 346 ratings

I consider this a middle of the road rum better suited as a mixer. Light gold color taste reminiscent of a young 3-5 year aged rum. I’m a big fan of Panamanian rums but not this one. Too much alcohol on the nose and throat like a Puerto Rican rum.

Posted 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 531 ratings

Chocolate , sweetnes and dry .

I wonder with Venezuela if this is sweetened but the lovely notes of typical chocolate dryness are delicious. On reading the fat rum pirates hydrometer test it came in at 19gl wow pure added caramel sugar .

Pecan nuts , cocoa and oak smokiness .