Pyrat XO Reserve rum

Pyrat XO Reserve

Anguilla | Gold | 40.0% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

Pyrat XO Rum is produced from nine different Caribbean rums that are blended and then aged up to 15 years in used American sweet oak barrels.

The squat Pyrat XO rum bottle shape is inspired by the typical design of rum bottles kept by pirates and ship captains in the 19th century.

6.1/10
1101 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
19
22
67
75
137
246
300
174
46
15

Rate Pyrat XO Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

1101 Pyrat XO Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Todd Dunn 🇺🇸 | 45 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Not what I look for in a sipping rum, but wont turn it down.

charbonnet 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Very smooth but with a twist for a finish.

Faulsack 🇩🇪 | 10 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Orange dominiert in Geruch und Geschmack. Leichte hölzerne Note ist wahrnehmbar.
Süß, Likörartig und mild im Abgang.
Sicherlich gibt es bessere aber er hat was.

Case 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is an orange rum through and through - like drinking sweet orange marmalade. While this is fun one has to wonder how they arrived at this when the taste is so close to orange liqueur. Neither a clear age nor contents are stated on the label. The most likely explanation is added orange flavoring.

Raul Bello 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I tried it as a sipping rum and it tasted more like "aguardiente" than rum. Horrible burn. I actually asked the store to trade it out for me. First time in 40 years I have asked to return liquor. I did not try it as a mixer.

OmegaP 🇫🇷 | 12 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Everything is in the title :)
It's not relly a typical rum. It smell orange (or close fruits) it tast orange (with alcool) not too much but enought to have oly that tast (nothing more).

If you want a sugar cane or old cask tast rum, you are wrong with this one but it's really interesting as unique rum style.

Zeck 🇫🇷 | 61 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Ce rhum est très fruité, il déroutera donc les amateurs de rhums vieux traditionnels. L'abricot rôti est très présent dès le nez.

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I have hesitated for some time to write this review. Initially, I was put off by the overly orange-liqueur nose and early palette of this rum (Pyrat XO is aged partly in barrels used for orange liqueur). But it has grown on me, and I've developed an appreciation for a certain complexity of flavors around that orange foundation. However, the XO does make a big flavor statement, and it's gotta be your taste to enjoy it. Try before you buy.

Mitch Gomez 🇨🇦 | 17 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

I find the orange notes to be a little to artificial for my taste

Dadoftwogirls 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 9 years ago

It is hard to explain this rum. People either love it, or hate it. I love it in mixed drinks, but would pass straight up. A little pricey. Overall unique to say the least.

Shawn Lein 🇺🇸 | 34 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Others have noted the orange flavor ruining the rum for them. I just see it as good flavor that's best used with other fruit flavors. Maybe not the best sipper, but the rich, aged flavor makes it a great mixer.




Brand Details

Name: XO Reserve
Company: Pyrat
Type: Gold
Distillation: Pot Still
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading