Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10
401 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
17
38
73
125
100
34
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

401 Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Jaybird 🇺🇸 | 48 ratings

Smooth and warming. Not at all hot. Molasses and caramel, lightly sweet with a long drying finish. Great aftertaste. Lightly numbing on the mouth. Light oak and some fruity character. This is a great sipping rum and for the money it's hard to beat. ($19 in Ohio 5/19) For this price you can use it generously in any cocktail requiring aged rum too. Highly recommended.

Posted over 6 years ago by Michael Regular 🇨🇦 | 36 ratings

I compare all the rums I drink against Pusser's. I love this rum and it hosts so many memories. Cheers!

Posted 6 years ago by Lonely Coast 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings

On the nose very a strong, dried fruitiness, mainly raisins, with a clean alcohol punch. Once in your mouth, not nearly as harsh as it smells like it might be. While not my preference as a sipper, it's not bad for that. As a mixer it's clean and versatile. While not high on my list, I'd not hesitate to pick up more when I find it at a good price.

Posted over 5 years ago by PTGarcia 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings

Perhaps I am just not a fan of Navy style rums, but I have tried this on more than one occasion and simply can't find many, if any redeeming qualities to it. Lots of folks seem to love it so to each his/her own.

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings

Finally got around to reviewing this excellent, funky pot-still classic. The full-flavored Guyanese component makes this an especially delicious sipping rum, best served neat. Reminds me a lot of single-cask Demeraras, but less intense and much less hot. A very smooth and savory rum, on its own and in cocktails.

Posted 6 years ago by Norup 🇩🇰 | 60 ratings

A smooth, richflavoured rum, with a firm, spicy nose. A great sipper, with a mild spicy burn, filled with oak, caramel, and some baking spices. Surely got some references to "the black tot, the last Consignment", but at a lot more affordable Price, making it hard to choose from 1 bottle black tot or 27 bottles of Pusser's! Or NOT! The Pusser's worth every penny and get an extra bottle in This rating for the affordable price.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Hedonist 🇩🇪 | 59 ratings

Got the 40% version for around 20€ and a good value. Strong but not harsh, surprisingly cheap. Rum how it should be, in my opinion. Makes me want to try the 15yo version later, what is why I give onyl 9/10. The best I got in the 20€ area so far.

Posted over 9 years ago by Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings

One of my absolute favorites. Interesting mingling of wood, brown sugar, funk, and a finish that goes on forever.

Posted over 9 years ago by Da'rum 🇩🇪 | 22 ratings

A piece of history that will always be in my collection.
Ester rich, pungent pot stilled perfection. Stewed fruits, brine and spice.
Brilliant.
The bench mark for Navy rum.

I only left a star off because the overproof is really the authentic deal but it's the same rum just with less water added.

Posted over 1 year ago by AZMark (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings

I'll give it a 6 for a rum with no sugar added. Add 1 for the tradition. Add 0.5 for the sipping. Round up for an even 8 for a rum worthy of the rum shelf.

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 317 ratings

This rum saw the light of day when Pusser's looked over its range in 2014.
Before the Blue Label was available in a version with ABV 54.5%. That one is now relabelled and renamed Gunpowder Proof. The new Blue Label gained a strength of 40%. Around the same time a Blue Label version at 42% showed up in some markets. This latter one is said to be the relabelled Red Label.
The Gunpowder Proof and the two new Blue Label was said to be the same blend, but at different ABV.
The Blue Label has over time been found in various blends initially with rum from Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados. Then with rum from Guyana and Trinidad and finally nowadays it just contains rum from Guyana with distillate from the Port Mourant Double Wooden Pot Still among others. The latter one is the one I review here.
From aroma via mouth and palate to the rather long finish, it’s possible to recognize Demarera sugar, molasses, caramel, spices and fruits.
Overall it’s quite rich and full-bodied and a very good value for money which goes straight away to my shelf for good everyday rum.
Pictures: My opened bottle & My Pusser’s shelf.




Brand Details

Name: British Navy Blue Label 3-Year
Company: Pusser's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 3
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2908
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514