Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged

The Great British Admiralty first served rum daily to its Royal Navy sailors over 300 years ago until the ration was abolished in 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias bought the recipe rights, formed Pusser’s Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, and for the first time made the rum it available for public consumption.

Pusser’s British Navy rum today is the same blend of five West Indian rums as the British Admiralty issued to sailors.

Known as the “single malt of rum” Pusser’s British Navy rum is pot stilled using a similar method as that for single malt scotches, and with no artificial flavors is 100% natural.

6.8/10
409 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
18
39
74
130
100
34
4

Rate Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

409 Pusser's British Navy Blue Label 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Redrum 🇬🇧 | 17 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Aroma reminded me of Xmas smells, raisins, fruitcake, spiced butter

Taste lots of oaky bitterness and has quite the burn. Definitely not a supper but decent in a zombie or painkiller. Not so hot in a daiquri in my opinion too bitter

kudzey (PREMIUM) 🇵🇱 | 38 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

It's my first Navy rum and first time from Guyana.
Cheap-looking bottle contains amber-coloured liquid. The aroma is extraordinarily rich and fresh, it must be the legendary Guyanese molasses. You can smell sour apple, earthy and grassy notes with honey. I also sense nail polish hints and wet wood. After several minutes walnuts joined the aromatic palette.
Taking a sip surprised me with almost no alcohol burn. Sweet honey and sour apple compete in the mouth at the beginning, followed by walnuts and barrel notes, which are present in the aftertaste, together with returning honey. Presently throat-warming and dangerously easy-going. Not to mention it's quite cheap.

I compared two different glasses, the small glencraine revealed more fruity sweet and sour character, while the larger glass allowed me to feel more woody notes coming from the barrel.

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

It's clearly a diluted version of Gunpowder proof.
The nose is still great and intensive. Heavy molasses, coffee and honey are the first flavors in my nose. The smell is dark and oily, great.

The taste is not that rich, it starts with cocoa, molasses and burned sugar. The honey is almost not noticeable, just in the middle taste you get some hints of it.

Still not bad and good navy rum, but Gunpowder is much better for me.

Nose: molasses, coffee, honey, cocoa, papaya, earth, plants (grasy note)
Taste: cocoa, burned sugar, caramel, molasses, tanins
Middle: coffee, tanins, some honey
Finish: spice, tanins, wood, earth, molasses, honey
Aftertaste: molasses, coffee

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 2/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (21€): 4/5
Experience level: amateur

blowpez 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Nabbed this solely to try an authentic painkiller. Its a decent mixing rum but nothing special in my opinion. Wouldn't be upset buying it again but probably wouldn't go out of my way to do so. Its a classic so gotta respect it!

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 119 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is not a terrible rum; nor is it great. Its mostly unremarkable. It has been a while since I last had it so its hard to remember its flavor profile...then again the fact I don't remember the flavor profile means that is was unremarkable. I do remember that it was a little too astringent for my tastes but I did finish the bottle, which is something that I can't say about some other rums (*cough Kraken cough*). If this was this was the only rum at a party, I would drink it but there isn't much more I can say about it that stands out.

Nose: 5
Palate: 5
Aftertaste: 5
Smoothness: 5
Versatility: 8
Price: 6

Total: 5.6

Kevin 🇺🇸 | 50 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

While on vacation in the BVI we landed at Pussers bar in Roadtown, BVI. My first painkiller went down sooo smoove that we had another & another..... We purchased a bottle and back on board we put some rocks in a glass and never looked back. Since then I've been stepping my rum game up. One thing I noticed about this rum is that the country of origin keeps changing on the label. After some investigating it seems they keep moving around in order to keep up with demand. Claiming it's still the same recipe and goes through rigorous inspections. I'm not so sure? My favorite has been from Guyana but lately it seems to all come from Barbados or Trinidad. When you buy a bottle check the label to see where its made. The others are still good but I believe there is a difference. Thanks to Pussers I havent had whiskey in years. It's rum from here on. Bravo Pussers!!! Try the 15yr old ( gives Cognac & Scotch a BIG run for their $$$) . Thats my new favorite but we always wind up with a bottle of the blue label on board at the ready. A great go to rum & the best mixer on the rum planet.
UPDATE;
I've been side by side comparing this with other rums. Wow!!! There definitely is a difference. This rum/rhum speaks pure whether rum or rhum! There is a significant difference when the H is added and this one puts that difference aside and lets you know they both are the same when they are true. It seems to be so on target with what rum/rhum is
really suppose to be but that's only the Guyana produced one. Altough Trini & Barbados still make the cut. Buyer Beware! Also, if your looking for that spice and this fruit flavor stick with cordials cause this stuff is the real deal. Plain and simple like it should be, a sugar cane product. One good question, Why cork a bottle at this price? Answer, Cause it deserves it, period!

boyblueau 🇦🇺 | 51 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

The story behind it is great and to be honest I think I bought it for the romance involved around the rum rations. I wouldn't buy again, for this price there are many better options. It's a strong brew which will evoke the navy well, I wouldn't sip though.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Upon pouring this in my snifter I noticed that it has a pleasing aroma. Somewhat sweet with a bit of an alcohol tickling. This may be explained, in part, by the fact that is a bit higher proof than normal for rum (84 proof). Not a huge difference but enough to give it some bite. It has good legs albeit a bit thin. The flavor is nice with toffee and vanilla undertones and some noticeable pepperiness. Also has a little sweetness to it. Not as smooth as it's 15-year cousin it still has a nice flavor. A bit smooth, too (perhaps aided by a bit of sugaring albeit not too much according to testing).

This a good all-around rum. Good in my Coke Zeroes...well, the "new and improved" sugar-free Coca-Colas (different flavor? Yes. Improved. Definitely not. However no where near as bad as "New Coke". Those old enough remember that debaucle. Those not old enough can Google it.). This would be quite usable in mixed drinks.

Recommended.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2929 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

The difference between the base Pusser's and the 15 year old Pusser's is worlds apart. The base Pusser's is more of a rum-and-coke base than an enjoyable neat sipper. It has some good flavors, but the burn is just too strong. Save your money and go straight to one of my Top 10 rums with the 15 year old.

Robert 🇨🇿 | 10 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Not very sweet but it doesn't bother you after 1 sip, great for cocktails as it's strong even in this non-overproof version. It's not a rum I will have 1 glass and be overwhelmed by the flavor. It's rather that I take 1 and want a second to fully taste everything there. It's dry but it does not have that bothering taste of alcohol

Chommie 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

In my circle not a lot of people know about this product but I have seen a lot of positive reviews online so I finally purchased a bottle and gave it a try. Wow! It has a strong taste without being overbearing, one can taste a lot of different spices with an underlying sweetness like brown sugar & a really long finish that is very similar to a lightly spiced cinnamon roll. It really makes you want to come back for more of that finish, My next priority is to try the Pusser's 15yr, if it's any better than this it is truly exceptional. I mostly drink rum neat & rarely mix so that's how I rate them but for all the mixers out there, I think this rum has the strength to mix well but I would be careful what you mix with, the best part of this for me is the finish so I would avoid coke as it seems to me it would kill the finish.