Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year rum

Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year

Virgin Islands, British | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Pusser’s British Navy Rum 15-Year is a blend of five rums from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados which are produced in mainly wooden pot stills. The blend is aged for 15 years.

The company derives its name from the British Navy 'Purser' who distributed a daily 'tot' of rum ration to each sailor - a tradition which lasted from 1655 until 1970. In 1979 Charles Tobias obtained the rights to blend the original recipe of the British Navy Rum.

Pusser's British Navy Rum is casually known as “Nelson’s Blood” as a nod to the famous death of Admiral Nelson. After being mortally wounded in a naval battle in 1805, Nelson’s body was preserved in a barrel of rum.

7.9/10
156 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
8
8
24
55
46
12

Rate Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

156 Pusser's British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Alas 🇵🇷 | 161 ratings

Not sure how this is “aged” extremely harsh which is what I’ve found with Navy rums. Dig the tradition and all but hard to just down a drink. If it didn’t title itself “aged” i’d be easier on it but aged usually means smoother and here not so much, I can forgive it from Santa Teresa because it has great flavor but this is gasoline with wood notes

Posted 2 months ago by CaptainMorgan.07 🇵🇱 | 31 ratings

I really like strong rums and this one is my favorite overproof. You won't guess that it is so strong, because it's power is lost in good fruity taste

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings

After more than a year this rum is still available almost everywhere and in Italy it is sometimes offered for 50 €. In many reviews I have already read that the 8 year old thinner brother already brings just as many flavors and the surcharge is not justified here. The when the new LROK with 47% is offered at a price of 125 euros, it is worth to have a look at this outcast Hampden.
It is a blend of OWH / LFCH / DOK that was tropically aged for 8 years. I don't know whether there are several versions of it, as with the younger brother. I have the bottle with 8 years of maturation on the back and on the front too.

Nose: Very sweet and sharp nose that initially reminds me of LFCH. But then leaves an impression of higher marks with more fruitiness. Sweet tropical fruits can be perceived, apples, pineapples, papays, then slightly salty, malty notes. That's when I think of pretzel sticks with beer. I find young bourbon wood deeper in the glass, but be careful when sticking your nose into the glass, it is quite sharp and you can leave it in the glass for an hour.

Taste: It starts off slightly salty with vanilla, then we have the pretzel sticks with a little bourbon wood influence. That's the LFCH influence. Immediately spills over into the fruity aromas, increases in spiciness, becomes malty and salty again. Then again fruity, exploding with the entire fruit palette, there are against apple, pineapple, honey, papaya. Then he goes sharply with salty and malty flavors.
The finish is very long because it is very spicy. The 60% is not a problem for me, but inexperienced rum pirates are easily overwhelmed. It is recommended to enjoy it in small sips.

Aftertaste: Lots of LFCH malt, pretzel sticks, also light fruit aromas

Conclusion: I think he's better than the younger brother. I missed the fruity aromas back then, maybe the dilution was less good for him. It is quite hot and strong, but I could still imagine it to be a bit more fruity to reduce the salty aromas.
Overall a very good and underrated rum, a bargain for me for the price.

Overall rating: 87 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 4/5
Sharpness: 4.5 / 5
Complexity: 3.5 / 5
Value (60 €): 4/5

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 317 ratings

Have had this bottle on my Jamaican shelf for a while.
The launching of this rum, together with its 46% ABV brother, marking an historic moment for all rum enthusiasts loving the 100% funky pot still rum from Jamaica.
It’s very complex, dry and intense. It’s quite hard for me to detect the aromas and flavors because of the complexity and high ABV, but I can recognize cherries, oak and spices. The finish is long, elegant and subtle.
No need for expensive Veliers anymore.
Pictures: My Jamaican shelf & My opened bottle.

Posted almost 2 years ago by kylebrown247 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings

This is my first bottle of self-label Hampden, and it’s excellent. Decently funky, still recognizably Jamaican, but with a lot of fun citrus and mango notes that I have never really had before. The bottle and label are fun, too. Very impressed.

Posted 24 days ago by eddieo 🇺🇸 | 106 ratings

To be fair, though, it’s not the most remarkable offering from Hampden, especially as an overproof with so much competition in this GI. This is comparable to Rum Fire, which is a far better value in versatility and flavor profile.

Posted 2 months ago by Kychy28 🇺🇸 | 24 ratings

9.25/10 I Tried this after a long night if drinking mezcal and was very surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Heavy on that Jamaican banana funk and so full of flavor, my spent tastebuds still picked up on alot going on.

Posted 7 months ago by Majrad (PREMIUM) 🇱🇺 | 29 ratings

The aroma was fantastic. I also very much loved the bottle.

However, it was still a bit too strong for me to drink it straight, and I think this was the reason that I could not appreciate all its flavours. I suppose I am not just there yet, and must work myself through to fully appreciate overproofs.

Posted over 1 year ago by VikingXO 🇩🇰 | 168 ratings

This is really close to the regular 8 y with 46 ABV . This is just a bit more powerfull on nose and taste. Not sure if this is actually better. Really great both of them with a extremely fair price.

Posted over 1 year ago by MaartenVL 🇧🇪 | 33 ratings

Nice natural colour with a great sweet and fruity smell. A lot of esters but not to mutch. The taste of overripe bananas and sweet pineaple does the trick. The taste ends long with a subtile wooden flavor. Great rum for a great price. This rum will get way more expensive in the future.

Posted over 1 year ago by rennerg 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings

This stuff is amazing. It has everything you could ask for in a great rum: high hogo, tropical fruit notes of turned bananas and pineapples, a long burnt sugar finish. It makes a hell of an impression and is worth the price point.




Brand Details

Name: British Navy ”Nelson’s Blood” 15-Year
Company: Pusser's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 15
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2902
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514