Prichard's Fine rum

Prichard's Fine

United States | Aged

Prichardโ€™s Fine rum, a double pot-distilled, Grade A molasses-based rums thatโ€™s aged three to eight years in new, charred white oak barrels. Rums of varying ages are blended and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
6.4/10
25 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
3
11
4
2

Rate Prichard's Fine

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Prichard's Fine ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Jaybird ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 48 ratings

This is the second bottle of Prichard's Fine that I've had. The first was some years ago in the original bottle. This is in the new bottle design. The first thing in the aroma is oaky, solvent-like warm alcohol. Hints of vanilla and some almost Jamaican funkiness.
The flavor is very oak forward with hints of vanilla. You may say bourbon-like. Warming with a slight bitterness but I don't find it hot. Kind of medium bodied with a slightly harsh middle and finish. Definite pot still character. Very dry in the middle and finish with a long bitter character. A bit rough around the edges.
Adding an ice cube softens the rum a bit. A soft natural sweetness peeps out and the rum smooths out. If drinking this neat this rounds it a bit.
I'm a little let down with this bottle as I remember liking the rum much more than I do this time around. No real horrors here, just a bit course and heavy handed. Some will like this and some won't. If you like sweet then don't stop here. If you like Bajan rums you may find this interesting but a bit less refined. Not the first bottle I'd grab but a solid 5 in my book.

Posted over 7 years ago by Chris ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น | 3 ratings

The Pyrat is kind of an intricate treat to enjoy. I opened the bottle, poured it in the tumbler and smelled it. What the....!? What's this tang? Is this alcohol fuel? Nonetheless I sipped it. Ohhhhh dear! How did the cleanser wind up in this awesome rum bottle!? So I left the tumbler alone, read the reviews and couldn't stop wondering about the extremely dissenting opinions. Some say it's god's gift to man, others say they wouldn't feed this dog's piss to their worst enemy.

I'm careful with 1 pointers as there's always the possibility of stumbling across the liquid spawn of hell, but I dead sure was ready to dish out my first 2 point review. On the other hand the very good reviews intrigued me enough to give it time and to let it breathe.

After 30 minutes: 2 out of 10. Very sharp smell, very one-dimensional taste.
After 1 hour: What's this? Is there actual taste under the layer of kerosene? We are getting somewhere: 5/10.
After 2 hours: BAMM! There it is! Cinnamon, vanilla, sherry and of course the dominant flavour of orange. The smell is godly, as is the taste that follows. Rich, mellow, well balanced. I could taste all the flavours I smelled before. This rum is really excellent, as long as you give it time to breath and evolve from terrible to bearable to impeccable. I sipped it as seen on the picture. Straight up, no ice, handwarm. For the price the Pyrat XO is a steal.

Posted 8 years ago by Gerald ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น | 21 ratings

So many people like this one , so i have buyed it.
But i never had a disgusting like this one.
smell : Alcohol , synthetic Orange ,cleanser
No joke , my wife has a Cleanser - itยดs the same smell as the Pyrat XO.
Sorry , I hate it.

Posted almost 8 years ago by Michael ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings

discovered this on Anguilla in 2006 when I also developed a taste for ti punch and real daiquiri... (not those sickly sweetened frozen concoctions that ought to be served from a Mr. Softee!) once back in the states I discovered it could be found at warehouse store for just under $30! wow, this is a fine versatile rum, good enough to sip on the rock but mostly used in honest cocktails. yes, there's some orange flavor but nowhere as cloying as a flavored rum, just a dominant overtone. but that works for me. a damn nice rum for good all around drinking. (no way is this a 6. my 8 is intentionally a bit high just to move the average up a bit closer to the 7.5 I think it should be.)

Posted over 6 years ago by mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings

Fake orange flavor added to cheap, boozy low-end rum. The drink of choice for careless swillers. Drown it with mixers because you must, but don't pretend you're drinking fine rum. It's no better than orange-flavored vodka. Wretched stuff.

Posted over 8 years ago by Arowbal ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 31 ratings

Very very good taste, almost buttery on the tongue, but has a little bit of a bite to it. If it was a little smoother this could be my favorite.

Edit: After drinking this for awhile now it has become my favorite sipping rum. It has just such a good flavor and no after taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Hector ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 62 ratings

There's a reason why this so called rum comes in such a nice bottle and such nice box that looks like a book with all kinds of ribbons and stuff, because if it wasn't for that I don't think anyone would buy this crap. Awful taste. Not good at all in my opinion.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Viktor ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings

I am not sure how this rum is made, but it seems very forced. The aroma is artificial orange, the taste is very orange/chemical. There is some sweetness, maybe trying for some vanilla, but mostly orange followed by a light burn. Not a good sipping drink and I don't know what it would mix in without drowning out the flavors.

Posted 9 years ago by Brandon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings

I hate to be insulting, because truthfully if it makes you happy, who am I to say it's bad. But to me, the false additive flavors of every Pyrat product insults the beauty and good name of Rum.

Posted 7 years ago by Drew Stephens ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings

If you tend a bit towards the sweeter side, but reject things like Zaya or Ron Zacapa, Pyrat XO is for you. It's sweet, but only a bit. What's more striking are the strong vanilla and somewhat less intense orange flavors. Both make for an enjoyable sipping rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings

Love the bottle, the cork, and even the color, makes you feel like a pirate when you open it with your teeth. The problem with this rum is the orange flavor. Almost to much for me giving it a fake-ness that destroys the essence of rum. Trying mixed is no better. Maybe it's me but it tasted as though the orange was added after to try and give it more flavor. The bite is also another issue, not smooth at all, but at least the bottle looks cool...




Brand Details

Name: Fine
Company: Prichard's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2908
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514