Velier 2000 Caroni rum

Velier 2000 Caroni

Italy | Aged

9.3/10
10 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
4

Rate Velier 2000 Caroni

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

10 Velier 2000 Caroni ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings

Distilled 2000, bottled 2017. 55% ABV. Nose: boatloads of tire rubber. Something herbal; spearmint? Mouth: huge, explosive flavor. Dry and delicious.

A great big Caroni for all you industrial oil and tire rubber fans out there...

9+

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings

My version is EU with 55%.

Nose: Very leathery and sweet, most likely reminds me of Dicky Employee or the RN 1999.
Lots of leather, behind directly tar can be found. It's very dirty.
Nice wood aroma, with a some vanilla from the bourbon cask, dried fruits and an intense sweetness.
The rum convinces me, I like this sweet and dirty one.

Taste: Dirty start with tar, tannins, leather and barrel aromas. The sharpness increases somewhat, the bourbon barrel takes over the aromas, leather develops strongly. The mouth dries out, the dried fruits are present. Tar in connection with tannins becomes quite dominant towards the finish. Overall, the rum is not very spicy at 55%.
The finish is a bit hot and leathery, tar and dried fruits are also included.
The complexity is limited.

Aftertaste: leather, tar, tannins, dried fruits, bourbon barrel

Conclusion: a good caroni, sweet and dirty. A nice vintage that also reminds me of the RN 1999.
Very consistent, but it lacks the complexity that does not justify the price of around 500-700 euros.
I would go for RN 1999. It has a better value for me.

Overall rating: 91 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 3/5
Sharpness: 3.5 / 5
PL (600 €): 2.5 / 5

Posted over 1 year ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 207 ratings

Zatím neotevren. Je ve sbírce Caroni rumu na policce.

Posted over 2 years ago by Alex 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings

This is a fairly high proof rum, at 55% abv. While I’ve tasted this rum straight, I think the best nose and taste experience comes when you add a drop or two of water to the rum. Seeing as this is my preferred method of drinking Caroni 2000, this review follows my experience drinking this bottle with an added drop of water.

Nose — This is one of the more unique smelling experiences I’ve had with rum. The nose experience, like the tasting notes described below, dramatically shifts over time. When starting this drink, I get pretty strong smells of olives and minerals, as well as a non offensive metallic smell. I also get a background smell of caramel and brown sugar (your more traditional rum smells). As you continue the rum (perhaps due to your nose getting accustomed to the complexities of the smell), the olive scents become more of a background smell, with the sweetness of the rum moving to the foreground. With only a few sips left, the sweetness fully comes out.

Taste — The tasting experience, like the smelling experience, is unique. Again, the taste goes through a pretty dramatic shift throughout the drink. The first third of the drink is dry. The initial taste is sweet, followed quickly by a slight burn and warmth of the mouth. The flavor then moves to a taste of olives and minerals. The tongue linger is moderate — medium length and medium intensity — and has notes of caramel and vanilla. Unlike traditional rums, sweetness does not dominate at this point. As you continue drinking, though, the caramel moves to the forefront. The heat and slight burn reduces throughout the drink. The more you drink, the sweeter it gets; in the end you get a bit if a nutty feeling. You may leave the experience with a slightly tingling tongue from the high abv.

Overall, this is a complex rum. I enjoy sipping and trying to decipher the flavors and experience the shift in nose / taste experience. Again, this rum is unique and is not for everyone, especially if you only like traditional, sweeter rums. But for me, this is a nice and different bottle to pull off the shelf to take a break from the norm. Certainly not a beginner’s introduction to the world of rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alaska Joe 🇺🇸 | 41 ratings

No doubt about it, this is a powerful Caroni. Strong smell of rubber and fruit that is somehow sweet. Bronze color with thick legs as I swirl the glass. The taste is a Mike Tyson left hook to the mouth. An explosion of flavors that can overwhelm your palette at first. Strong diesel, marzipan and bitumen with a fruity sweetness that comes thru on the back end. This baby really shines with an ending that doesn’t want to quit. Small sips are a must. A hearty Caroni that doesn’t let up. I’m in love! Very close to a 10..😍

Posted over 1 year ago by Knievel 🇨🇦 | 8 ratings

Oufff, this one is something! Crazy palate; stewed fruits with some diesel going around... we’re in the jungle now! Finish is nice with molasses and spice.

Posted 2 years ago by django 🇩🇪 | 17 ratings

...i think it will be a better one if it has had cask strengh. find some fruits but not the typical caroni style. but it is drinkable

.

Posted over 2 years ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings

There's a little something for almost everyone here: caramel sweetness, a bit of funk, a bit of grassiness (or perhaps Alex's note of "olive" is better). I've had a number of high-proof spirits, and I felt that the burn wasn't too bad, although there was a bit of gasoline roar that occasionally surfaced. The flavors are strong and complex, and it seemed like different notes came and went with each sip.

Although you are paying in part for rarity, you're also getting a great bottle here. (Unlike say Black Tot, which was good, but I knew full well I was paying more for novelty than quality.) I'm not sure I'd be satisfied if I'd paid the markup on a single small pour, but I managed to nab a full bottle for $200, which made for a more reasonable indulgence (and gives me a chance to more fully explore). There are bottles at half the price which you'll probably like just as much, but if you have the good fortune to be able to afford this, you won't regret it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Achim Emmenegger 🇩🇪 | 72 ratings

anders als in 1996 wo der legendere und wohl beste Caroni aller Zeiten ,der Kirsch Caroni,abgefüllt wurde stand bei den 2000er Abfüllungen nicht immer alles zum Besten.
Stand die Distillery doch kurz vor der Schliessung und die Angestellten kannten iher Schicksal schon...
Diese Abfüllung hier ist jedoch gerade für 2000 herausragend und kann mit den durchweg spitzenmäsiigen 96er Abfüllungen locker mithalten,aber wohlgemerkt nur die Abfüllung für Europa welche aus 2 Fässern nur 582 Flaschen ergab. Die USA Abfüllung bestand aus 7 Fässern und wurde teils reimportiert.Achtung die Flaschen sehen nahezu gleich aus,die USA Abfüllung ist aber meiner Ansicht nach deutlich schlechter.
Man kann es nur an der auf der Rückseite abgedruckten Aufschrift 2 Barrel 582 Flaschen erkennen.
Zur Verkostung dieser (EU) Bombe:
Tiefdunkel und ölig ergiesst sich dieser Tropfen ins Glas, eine angenehme Süsse mit Schokolade,kandierten Früchten,etwas Banane und Vanille,Rosinen und Datteln folgt,das ganze mit den Caroni typischen dreckigen Aromen dezent im Hintergrund
Der Abgang so wie es sich gehört: gaaaaanz laaaang

Posted over 3 years ago by Rumrunner95 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings

Amazing. Full of tropical fruits, raisins, caramel, baking spices, and a little chocolate.




Brand Details

Name: 2000 Caroni
Company: Velier
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Distilled: 2000
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Articles

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2912
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514