Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year rum

Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year

Panama | Aged

7.1/10
37 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
15
10
3

Rate Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

37 Origenes Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Mo McGurk πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 215 ratings

Smooth going down. Very nice oaky aftertaste. Would like to try some of their others.

Posted 4 years ago by Paul B πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 426 ratings

These bottles of rum are always placed on the shelves next to other tall bottles of Panamanian rum called Debonaire, so it has been easy for me to overlook for so long. However, after doing some research, I read about the lengthy career of Master Blender Don Pancho who was behind the best Cuban rums from Havana Club. He must have provided the ruling party with some of the finest rum while keeping the masses happy with the cheap rums, and then somehow moved to Panama in the early nineties.

What a truly beautiful bottle this is and in an art-deco style. It is crystal clear to show off the beautiful dark amber color of what is inside. It is aged for eight years in American white oak barrels. They state for tasting notes candied dates, figs, dried plums, and leather, but I never agree with stated ones that seldom have anything to do with the true origins of a spirit. It needs to breathe for at least thirty minutes to remove the mild alcohol vapors, then the palate is greeted by oak, vanilla, and mild sweetness. I would call this one as a semi-dry rum with very little burn going down. This is a really fine authentic Cuban style rum that is not complex enough to compete with it's older siblings, but can still be enjoyed as a sipping rum. At only $32 and readily available where I live, I would have no problems adding ice or using it to make authentic Cuban Daiquiri's or Cuba Libres. I am so glad that I pulled this jewel out from it's hiding place on the shelf of the liquor store.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 18-20 GPL.
Overall this is an okay rum as it does have some of the characteristics of the older 18 year Don Pancho. This rum has the vanilla, wood, caramel, and spices but those flavors can't hide the harshness of the alcohol taste and bite present in the blend.
I would skip this one and go for the 18 year old Don Pancho rum.

Posted 2 months ago by KittieKatt (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 14 ratings

A great rum that is wonderful to sip straight or in a mixed drink! This walks that line of yummy alone, but not so expensive that you feel bad making a cocktail out of it!!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hesel πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 66 ratings

There is a aftertaste that is a bit awful. Many bad bananas? Something from rotten fruits.

Posted 5 years ago by Herman πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 103 ratings

Purchased for $39.99 in Delaware. Very nice bottle with a deep amber yellow color. Very nice nose. Not very leggy. An 8 year rum that tastes like it's older. Quite smooth, very tasty, with a slight burn going down. Very enjoyable.

Posted over 5 years ago by David Bliss πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings

I've done a fair amount of experimenting and so far, this is my favorite rum. Not because it's particularly spectacular when compared to truly spectacular rums, but because it's particularly spectacular for the price. You have to spend $10-15 more on a bottle, to have something noticeably superior. Ratings seem to drop off sharply below this price point, so here's your Goldilocks rum. Not as delicate as a 12 or an 18, but plenty smooth enough. Only slightly warmer when mixed in my punch, but at a significant savings. Still no hangovers, headaches, sleep disturbances or other negative effects. Thank you SeΓ±or Pancho.

Posted 7 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 320 ratings

Great nose. I mean this had my mouth watering. Smokey, oaky deep nose. Then the entrance. Thin, sweet and without bite or intetest. It has the signature Panamanian vanilla note but that is all. Finish is woefully short. Over priced. Over rated. Would make a damn fine room freshener.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 362 ratings

I was quite surprised how nice this rum is after only trying the 18. Nice dark aged rum at a fair priced smooth sweet no funky taste afterwards.

Posted 2 years ago by Midway πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 13 ratings

Bought it after reading about Don pancho, had high expectations. Was ok but there are better ones at this price range. Smell had a bit too much β€œperfume” in it

Posted 2 years ago by Kasper Meijer πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ | 36 ratings

Anything made by Don Pancho is excellent. If you don't know who he is, find out! He makes the best rums in the world! This is so good for an 8 year old rum




Brand Details

Name: Don Pancho Reserva 8-Year
Company: Origenes
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
540
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
513