Admiral Rodney HMS Princessa 5-Year rum

Admiral Rodney HMS Princessa 5-Year

Saint Lucia | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.9/10
39 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
6
16
9
3

Rate Admiral Rodney HMS Princessa 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

39 Admiral Rodney HMS Princessa 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mastamt 🇳🇱 | 31 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Mooie geur met hout en kruiden. De smaak is vrij pittig en kruidig. Vrij sterke afdronk. De rum mist een beetje body en iets speciaals

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 344 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Visited Stockholm’s greatest Rum bar, Cane Rum Society. It’s said that they have around 1500 different bottles.
One that I tasted was the Princessa. It’s a aged between 5 and 7 years in American white oak bourbon casks before blended.
In nose it’s possible to detect honey, raisins and a hints of vanilla and tobacco.
On the palate I also feel some sweetness and tastes of oak.
The finish goes on in the same way but I also think that I can recognize hints of caramel and some spiciness.
Overall I think that all of it are there, but everything’s to weak.
Picture: My poured glass and the bottle at the bar.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 510 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Schönes leuchtendes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase zart und luftig leicht. Elegante erdige Noten bieten den lockeren fruchtigen und blumigen Töne halt. Karamell mit Liebstöckel und verbranntes Eichenholz bieten etwas archaisches.
Am Gaumen am Anfang sehr elegant und etwas schüchtern. Ein Hauch von Karamell, Früchte, Holz und Kräuter huschen über die Zunge.
Im Abgang alkoholische Schärfe und weg, etwas Holz bleibt.
Ein anspruchsloser Rum für einen Tag am Meer. Für Alle Prinzessinnen und Prinzen.
- 2 cl Muster -

Beautiful bright amber in the glass.
In the nose delicate and airy light. Elegant earthy notes offer support to the loose fruity and floral tones. Caramel with lovage and burnt oak offer something archaic.
Very elegant and somewhat shy on the palate at first. Hints of caramel, fruit, wood and herbs flit across the tongue.
In the finish alcoholic sharpness and away, some wood remains.
An unpretentious rum for a day at the seaside. For all princesses and princes.
- 2 cl sample -

DejviSs 🇨🇿 | 74 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

For the price, for me this rum is okay. Great simple rum, without any additional sweeteing. Perfect bottlle as always for Armiral Rodney rums !

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 410 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Having several St Lucian rums before on island adventures and back home I knew these were worth a try. Princessa is solid nice scent nice flavor, but a bit dry and short lasting if being brutal. But sitting on a veranda porch in the islands with this with a cube I would likely rate 1 point higher. Sounds like a good plan.

Immiketoo 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Having spent a lot of time with overproof Foursquare products these last few months, I recently decided to give “normal” rum another try, opening some of my older bottles. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy they go down at 40% ABV!

The HMS Princessa is the same. Very drinkable! Nothing offensive about it, lightly sweet with a nice burn, which was surprising to me.

On the nose, brown sugar and vanilla.

On the palate, this is reinforced, with little else to offer except moderate oak.

The finish is strong, with a lingering burn, which I like. I have a brown sugar/molasses after taste with maybe a hint of banana aftertaste.

Generally one dimensional, this is a good all around rum that will please most audiences. Lacking in some complexity, it may disappoint those who can tell the year the barrels it was aged in were made, or can somehow discern fruit flavors of things I’ve never heard of, but a solid example of rum in my book.

Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 207 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Ve vůni je cítit vanilka, med, banán, barva medova. Chuť sladší s tóny dřeva, karamelu a vanilky. Závěr prijemny. Rum na celovečerní pití.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 357 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I broke down and bought a nice array of Admiral Rodney rums. After tasting them all….and their all GREAT. This one has somewhat surprisingly emerged as my favorite. Full and smooth. Fantastically smooth. Nice bite but with sublime balance. Lots of wood, a slash of vanilla, mint and faint notes of honey and maraschino cherry. But it is definitely not sweet. Some complexity but so smooth from start to finish. The finish itself is long and smoldering with oak notes that really hang on. Great rum!

IBO 🇸🇰 | 193 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Je to základná rada Admiralu. Jemný, pekne,aké osobne si myslím,že by mu pristálo viac % alkoholu. Skôr pitie pre princezné ako pre námorníkov😃

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

40% ABV (so we are setting our expectations low). 5–9 years mostly ex-bourbon aged, with some ruby port aging. It is a little fruitier than the others in the lineup. Not super complex, but easy to enjoy. A crowd favorite. 8-

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

The Admiral Rodney rum range from St. Lucia Distillers was inspired by the naval victory of Admiral George Rodney, who ensured British domination of the Caribbean after he defeated the French at Battle of the Saints in 1782. Each rum is named after ships that distinguished themselves in the battle, with this edition being named the 'HMS Princessa'. The HMS Princessa blend contains rums aged for 5 to 9 years which had been made from Coffey still distillates and matured in American white oak Bourbon casks.




Brand Details

Name: HMS Princessa 5-Year
Company: Admiral Rodney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 5

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading