Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask rum

Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask

Multiple | Aged

7.9/10
17 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
7

Rate Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

17 Plantation 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

donmichelangelo 🇩🇪 | 25 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

First: Why is this rum under "Aged" located?? This is a Rhum Agricole!

Second: A very good sipper, but mainly for me as degistiv - after dinner!

if you leave sweet sipping rums like Zacapa, or Diplomatico behind you and want to sip other good stuff then you may want to try out this Rhum Agricole. This rum is suprising me with it's nose a trace of anis and a wild flower-field in late april. The taste reflects simply the carribbean, notes of juicy apricot along with notes of brown sugar, bitter chocolate and a hint of leather. The aftertaste is longlasting, a bit spicy with a hint of dry fruits.

Olivier Raynaut 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Very interesting Plantation, the only agricole Plantation I know of!
It has an incredible smell, smoked, leather, grassy anise and kind of feel like heavy aromas inside, like metal or fuel, not like a caroni but almost.

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I have been itching to try this rum for some time, but it's difficult to find and expensive. Net: loved it! It's a "ghost agricole", a "faux agricole" or some other adjective that would give agricoles a good name. Indeed this rum is made from 100% pressed Guadelupe sugar cane, distilled in a short-column still, and aged (for 11 years) in French oak barrels just as it needs to be to be called "Rhum Agricole". Differently, though, it gets another year of aging in used cognac barrels at Pierre Ferrand's facility in France. This is Plantation's signature technique that adds so much enjoyment to all their rums (though, in most cases, this secondary aging is for much shorter timeframes).

As you'd expect from a long-aged rum, you'll be tasting a lot of barrel here - hugely aromatic, vanilla and orange in the nose (some say chocolate!), deliciously-deep but not-too-sweet caramel with thick viscosity on the tongue, and a big long finish. And that secondary aging does a great job of balancing the vegetal notes attributable to the agricole style. Though "balanced" does not mean "dominates" - drinkers of high-end agricoles will appreciate this rum for the way it walks that fine line, staying true to the "brand" while strutting its own stuff.

A marvelous rum!

Morten Matthes 🇩🇰 | 74 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This a sweeter type Plantation - but not to sweet and it has the "body", alcohol and deepth that I'm looking for, This is so full of different tastes and certain the best I have tasted from Guadeloupe

Mr. Rumantic 🇩🇪 | 201 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Der Plantation Single Cask Guadeloupe 1998 is a rum produced in Guadeloupe in 1998 by an unnamed distillery. Like all Plantations, the rum was stored in a cognac barrel. It was then bottled with 42% alcohol at drinking strength.

I bought my bottle around 2013. It was my first special bottle, which I wanted to open for a special occasion. Three kids later, it was still in my closet. I was able to try a glass through a friend earlier this year (no photo unfortunately, shame on me). It is actually a special plantation. The cognac influence is evident. He's sweeter than I thought. But also quite earthy and floral. Fruit is noticeable. Wood is clearly visible. Towards the end, however, it becomes weaker and the rum loses some of its strength.

I think I should have opened the bottle right away before i fell in love with cask strength rums. So the rum, although interesting and special for Plantation, was too weak and a bit too watery for me. I've just had better and more exciting Agricoles in the last years. I think it could also be a blend of molasses and sugar cane, since the Agricole isn't that dominant.

So I sold my bottle at a good price to finance new rum projects. If I had ever opened it, the rum would not have lived up to expectations. Now someone else enjoys it and hopefully opens the bottle at a special occasion.

Der Plantation ist ein Rum, welcher 1998 in Guadeloupe von einer nicht benannten Distillerie hergestellt wurde. Der Rum wurde wie alle Plantations in einem Cognac Fass nach gelagert. Anschließend wurde er mit 42% Alkohol in Trinkstärke abgefüllt.

Ich habe meine Flasche ca. 2013 gekauft. Es war meine erste besondere Flasche, welche ich zu einem besonderen Anlass aufmachen wollte. Drei Kinder später stand sie immer noch in meinem Schrank. Ich konnte Anfang des Jahres über einen Freund ein Glas probieren (leider kein Foto, Schande auf mein Haupt). Es ist tatsächlich ein spezieller Plantation. Der Cognac Einfluss ist deutlich. Er ist süßer als gedacht. Aber auch durchaus erdig und floral. Frucht ist wahrnehmbar. Holz is deutlich erkennbar. Zum Abgang wird er aber schwächer und der Rum verliert etwas an kraft.

Ich denke ich hätte die Flasche sofort öffnen sollen, als ich noch keine Fassstärken getrunken habe. So war mir der Rum, obwohl interessant und für Plantation besonders, doch zu schwach und etwas zu wässrig. Ich hab einfach schon bessere und spannendere Agricoles getrunken. Ich denke es könnte auch ein Blend aus Melasse und Zuckerrohr sein, da der Agricole nicht so dominant durch kommt.

Habe meine Flasche daher mit einem guten Profit verkauft um neue Rum Projekte zu finanzieren. Hätte ich sie je aufgemacht, hätte der Rum der Erwartungshaltung nicht stand halten können. Jetzt hat jemand anderes freude damit und macht die Flasche hoffentlich zu einem besonderen Anlass auf.

Wolfe Tone 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Very rare agricole from the Plantation series. Rich, sweet and spicy, with beeswax, sugar cane, cacao, coffee, tobacco leaf, nutmeg, cedar, pepper, cloves, grass, mint, green mango and other tropical fruits. Amazingly complex and rich.

Inshore 🇵🇱 | 51 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

smell so good, taste even better, a lot o vanilla and tabaco, also you can feel specific tase of earth, it is rum not for beginners, i prefer it without ice, or just with water and lime, its worth to try for sure, but not the greatest

Taster 🇨🇭 | 124 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Was part of Rum Calendar 2016, did not like it at all.......

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 500 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Eine Delikatesse und eine Klasse für sich.
Ein ganz spezieller Rum/Rhum, für den Mann sich einen Abend Zeit nehmen muss.
In der der Nase fruchtige Aromen.
Im Gaumen etwas kantig und eckig und nicht süss, aber genau das macht diesen Rum aus.
Er braucht seine Zeit um alle Seine Nuancen zu offenbaren, Früchte, dunkle Schokolade.
Im Abgang etwas "rauchig"
Ein Rum/Rhum für Liebhaber

A delicacy and a class of its own.
A very special Rum / Rhum, for which you have to take a evening time.
In the nose fruity aromas.
On the palate, slightly sharp and angular and not sweet, but that's what makes this rum.
He needs his time to reveal all his nuances, fruits, dark chocolate.
In the finish something "smoky"
A Rum / Rhum for lovers

Jarda 🇨🇿 | 33 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Jemny hodne moc, neco tam je ale nevime co to je...

Makhao 🇹🇭 | 15 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Although this rum gets high ratings from others I am slightly disappointed, maybe my expectations were too high. I like the Guadeloupe more than other Plantations, but it is still not my favourite rum.




Brand Details

Name: 1998 Guadeloupe Single Cask
Company: Plantation
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Distilled: 1998

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading